We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok, but not like pictures”
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ok, but not like pictures”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

First, it's a perfectly fine hotel, but nothing luxurious.
Located at the north end of yountville, you can easily walk to antyping in town.
The rooms were nice with average furnishings.
Service was very good - both friendly and helpful.
The downside is that the room we booked was advertised as having a view of the vineyard. The view did have a vineyard, but it was 4 rows (maybe 5 or 6) and then the main road with heavy traffic. Not very relaxing to use the deck.
Outdoor seating area was decent with a fire pit, but limited seating.

I would say good for the price in yountville, depending on how much time you plan to be in your room relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    277
    66
    19
    3
See reviews for
152
756
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I arrived early for a wedding weekend and was not surprised my room was not ready. I was granted access an hour before the guarantee. In all honesty the two rooms in my party did not check out until the last minute! The staff in all areas were friendly and eager to help. The breakfast was very good - terming it European continental was modest. Cleanliness of room and pool area good but carpets due soon. Excellent location to walk into Yountville or walks in the vineyards. Would consider this hotel again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank alwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Napa Valley Lodge for two nights during a California road trip and it was definitely the best hotel we stayed at. It's situated at the top end of Yountville within easy walkig distance of the many fantastic wine bars and restaurants.

When we arrived our room wasn't quite ready, but the staff were so welcoming (particularly the lovely manageress whose name I didn't catch) that we didn't mind. We came back an hour later, having enjoyed a glass of the local white, to find that we'd been upgraded to a room with a vineyard view and a log fire.

The hotel itself is spotless. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the pool area, with cosy firepit for a late night tipple, was fantastic, whilst the champagne breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

Whilst the hotel itself was worth a five star review it was the level of service (particularly from the aforementioned manageress - a slightly older lady with blonde hair) which blew us away. From offering to book wine tasting sessions for us and making excellent restaurant commendations to securing us discounts and even offering to post our postcards, nothing was too much trouble - and all done with a wonderful personal touch and warmth that is so lacking in so many hotels.

In short, if you're planning a trip to Napa, you must check this place out. It's not the cheapest but it offers amazing value.

...and I didn't even mention that delicious home made chocolate chip cookies on offer every afternoon!

Room Tip: Ask for a vineyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underwood IA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in August and the Napa Valley Lodge had everything we wanted. I'll keep it short:

Pros
Reasonably priced -- our 3 nights cost less than 1 night at Bardessono which is Trip Advisor's #1 rated Yountville hotel with The Lodge being #2. Not apples for apples I know, but regardless!
Clean
Very comfortable beds with soft linens
Within walking distance to awesome restaurants and shops
Their "Continental Breakfast" is more like a hot breakfast buffet -- eggs, sausage, yogurt, fruit, waffles, mimosas!
Relaxing pool, Jacuzzi, and fire pit area
Great service -- offers to deliver our luggage, champagne and fruit on arrival, poolside service, complimentary assistance in getting our wine shipped home. I called for additional towels and the front desk called me just to confirm they had been delivered.

Pros
The only thing I can think of is I wished we hadn't spent the extra $20/night for a fireplace and garden view. The fireplace wasn't natural gas and instead came with a starter log for your use. Also, since our stay was so short, we were hardly in our room to enjoy the deck and garden view.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keilyn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we stayed on this hotel for our wedding anniversary. the main reason we made the choice to stay in the hotel was the vineyard view. we stayed for two nights. We had the vineyard view and fireplace room. it was very romantic. the hotel is beautiful and the service was very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ileana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Menlo Park, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Three old friends decided on a last minute overnight trip. We were not disappointed. The location was perfect (near wineries, restaurants, etc) and an easy stroll to town and the best Yountville had to offer. Another plus is you are close to sf and avoid most of the valley traffic! A leisurely brunch, great staff relaxing pool added to our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A wonderful stay. Helpful and welcoming staff. Ample parking. Quiet. Great morning buffet with fresh fruit, excellent pastry, waffles, eggs ect. Easy walking distance to downtown Yountville.
Close to all the wonderful wine tasting in Napa valley. A short walk to the French Laundry garden.

Room Tip: Request rm 15. Nice patio and fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
10.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Property: Napa Valley Lodge
Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing