We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villagio Inn and Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 December 2007

don't order room service. Good to the breakfast provided. Very ice grounds and rooms. Perfect location for leaving the hotel and going to great dining or launching to the wineries. Spa could be nicer but the quality of the massage was top notch. Pool area is a little small.

  • Liked — grounds
  • Disliked — not a thing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    233
    74
    33
    18
See reviews for
85
506
8
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

I stayed at the Villagio for a business meeting, and I was very impressed. Their service was top-notch, the food and coffee provided for the meeting was exceptional, and I loved being able to walk to one of Yountville's delicious restaurants for dinner.

The room was very comfortable with lots of space and all the modern conveniences (flat-panel TV, CD player with MP3 adapter).

My only negative was that my little patio overlooked the parking lot and then the highway. There was constant noise from traffic well into the night.

But a bottle or two of local wine will make that all go away... I was pleased with my experience at Villagio and would go back.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DrewV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2007

Stayed here with my husband for my Birthday last month and had a great time. The hotel was a bit pricey for being right off the freeway, but the location makes up for that. Most of the hotels that are hidden and private have nothing around for miles. We walked to lunch and dinner both days we stayed. The room was great, beds were very confertable. The bathroom was beautiful. Loved the huge tub. I did not hear the construction once on our stay. However we did hear every person that walked by our room. The walls were obviously not that well insulated. I heard every step and word that went by our room. Luckliy it was a slow time and their were not many guests. Didn't bother us since it was seldom we heard them. We ended up paying more for a room than we had anticipated, but we enjoyed our stay. Great hotel, only draw back is that it is over priced.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank jewelzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

I just returned from my 5th (or is that 6th) stay at the Villagio, and, as always, we loved it. We checked in early, about noon, and was able to get a room immediately. It had a welcome bottle of champagne, a working fireplace, comfy bed, plenty of lights (a pet peeve of mine is not enough lights). The sink area had a large double sink and a separate room with the toilet and bath/shower (always a plus).

The staff was incredibly helpful in arranging last minute dinner reservations and finding us a florist to use. In addition, after a fax I was supposed to receive never arrived, they opened up the business center late at night (around midnight) so I could get what I needed).

Included in the price of the rooms was a buffet breakfast (with a decent -- but not a large -- selection of food. There was also high tea from 3-5 (while we did not go, when we the bellperson mentioned tea and scones and my wife said she really anted a scone, he arranged for 6 scones to be in our room when we arrived). And, as if you might not have had enough wine, there is an evening complimentary wine tasting.

The facilities are very nice, with a warm pool and plenty of chairs for the sun. We have never used the spa (so we cannot comment) and the business centere is good (2 computers and a printer).

I have stayed at both ends of the valley (both in downtown Napa and Calistoga) and prefer the Villagio's central location, making it not too far from any wineries. Plus, there are a number of very good restaurant in walking distance for the last few bottles of wine at dinner (on a related note, get the Strawberry shortcake at Hurley's on Younville during Strawberry season (March-October). We missed it this trip, but it is incredible.

To comment on a review about being close to the highway, I have had rooms in the past that face the highway and sometimes you can hear the cars. However, this trip we had an inner courtyard and could not hear anything.

Also, a note of caution, they are currently doing construction (I think to expand the spa). We were there on a weekend, so there was no construction going on. As a result, I cannot comment on what time the noise begins and how loud it is.

We reservation note, you should call even if the website says they are booked. I checked on-line and got no availability. My wife called later the same day and got a reservation.

We will return to Napa Valley and the Villagio Inn will be our first choice for the return

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sm122097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We had booked 3 nights at the Yountville Inn across the street. I figured a room for $425 would be nice. The second we walked in, we knew we had been duped. I called the Villagio, hoping they might of had a cancellation. Yup, so we checked out of the Inn and moved across the street the next day. For about the same money, the Villagio is so much more of an experience. Rooms are very nice, the breakfasts were great, the spa was perfect. Highly recommend. If the Yountville Inn cut their prices by 50%, I might recommend.

  • Liked — staff and the spa
  • Disliked — road noise
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bacigalupiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Right on the main road, the hotel is noisy, the rooms crowded together. It has a freeway motel feel.
The room was so bad, the noise so discouraging, The food in the event room was rubbery and of poor quality. I left early. The pool, though warm, is small. Altogether a very bad deal for the Napa Valley which abounds with lovely places to stay.

  • Disliked — noise, perfumed room, overcrowded rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank annee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walnut creek, ca
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

We were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary and decided to come to the beautiful Napa Valley. We chose Yountville because of its great location and world class food and wine. We chose the Villagio because of a high Trip Advisor score. We booked 2 nights through the hotel where the operator assured us that our room would be quiet, and that by paying more, we would also get a premium view of the hills (about $435 a night). She also directed us to view the website and see the beautiful rooms and vaulted ceilings of the top floor rooms. Imagine our surprise when the bellmen led us to our room on the edge of a major construction site! The view from ALL three sides of our room was of construction! In addition the room was just so "marginal" in its look and style. It wasn't romantic, it wasn't hip or cool and it certainly wasn't elegant. In fact it even lacked any good function or flow. We asked to be moved and were told they had no more rooms. I spoke with the manager and he offered to move us the next day. Needless to say, we were extremely disappointed that no one told us about construction when we booked the room. And that the picture of the room on the website was not our (get this) newly redecorated room. The bed was marginal, the furnishings were low-end looking although new, and the wall decor was done in an odd way. The feeling is low-end hotel that tries unsuccessfully to do Pottery Barn and fails. The next morning we were woken at 7:30 AM by construction workers hammering. By 7:45 there were numerous large dump trucks with their motors running and skill saws cutting. Don't you just love the sound of a truck backing up outside on the morning of your anniversary? It's just so romantic! I called the manager and complained about the early construction start, the loud noise, and again that we were not informed about construction when we made reservations. He offered us a free nights lodging. We declined and of course we checked out. He adjusted the bill by 50% but keep in mind this room was almost $450 to start. At $225 it was still not worth it, even without construction. Just go across the street to the Yountville Inn to get a better rate and a better room. We know because my wife has stayed there in the last year.
Even without the construction, the setting of Villagio is like that of a former low-end apartment building converted into a hotel. There is nothing special or charming about it except the reception area. No one at any time ever disagreed with us about any of our complaints.
If you are coming to the Villagio for a company conference and used to a basic business hotel room, this is going to be fine. If you are with a budget tour group it will be fine. But if you think you are going to get a Napa Valley Spa and Resort experience, you need to go somewhere else. And, don't pay the high rates. This is not a true spa experience. Even without construction there is a great deal of noise from the highway next to the property. The rooms and the setting reflect a conversion and not an luxury master plan. There are too many good options in the valley. Don't be fooled by their advertising. It is not accurate.
Trip Advisor did save the day with a number of high ranked B&B 's in Healdsburg. We found the Belle de Jour in Yountville that had a very charming cottage for us for only $275. The setting was beautiful, the owners couldn't be nicer and there are an amazing number of great places to eat in the area and a 4 star Le Mars Hotel that is AMAZING! Maybe the best luxury in the Sonoma Valley.

  • Liked — Yountville
  • Disliked — The construction
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank amp94596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.3 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
0.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villagio Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Inn and Spa

Property: Villagio Inn and Spa
Address: 6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#5 Family Hotel in Yountville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villagio Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villagio Inn & Spa named to Travel+Leisure Magazine's 2012 "500 Best Hotels in the World", as well as T+L's 2011 Top 50 Hotels in the United States. An AAA Four Diamond Award Property, it blends the active, contemporary flavors of California's Napa Valley wine country with the warmth and charm of a countryside village in Tuscany. Villagio's 112 guest rooms, Spa Villagio and executive conference center are situated in a lush garden setting and just walking distance to the Town of Yountville's michelin star restaurants and celebrity chefs. Every guest room features oversize sunken bathtub, fireplace, robes, a complimentary bottle of wine upon check-in, flat screen television and in-room coffee and tea. A daily champagne breakfast buffet and afternoon tea service is included with every stay. Villagio Inn & Spa has recently been recognized as a winner of TripAdvisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Villagio Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Yountville
Villagio Inn And Spa Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing