We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Great Atmosphere - Good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villagio Inn and Spa
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent - Great Atmosphere - Good staff”
Reviewed 12 April 2006

Me and my wife stayed at this fine inn for one evening. Not sure what the last couple were complaining about but our stay was excellent. We had a upstairs room facing the pool. We had no problem with room noise but I could see someone in a room close to the highway would be annoyed. Other then that everything was excellent. Staff was very friendly and greeted quickly. They were all eager to please. Room decor was good but not excellent. If you stay try PJ's Steak for dinner. It is one of the best meals we have had in the valley in a long time. Overall way above average and we plan on taking the family back this summer.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    225
    72
    33
    18
See reviews for
84
492
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 March 2006

Pay attention to the reviewers who complained about the road noise at the Villagio - they're right! The highway noise competes with passing trains, upstairs guests' footsteps, running water, a cheap heating system, and croaking frogs for your attention all night long. The overall decor scheme of the place is Rome meets Las Vegas - an eclectic mix of styles with some fountains and cheesy statues thrown in - it would impress someone who doesn't get out much. The room/suite was large and neat, but not especially clean (the carpet and soft furnishings all had stains on them), and the front desk staff was surly. The service otherwise was very good, although I felt sorry for them trudging from room to room and building to building in the rain (very Motel 6 architecture!). The food was wonderful (buffet and room service), but I'd expect a restaurant on the premises at a resort hotel in this price range. All in all, it wasn't a dreadful stay, but I expected more and was disappointed with the generally artificial, hokey feeling of the place. I wouldn't stay there again unless I was assured of an upstairs unit away from the highway and someone else was paying for it.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 March 2006

Bad experience - poor service - location on the highway - too much highway noise - much better choices than this.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2006

My wife and spent three days/two nights at the Villagio for a Napa get-away before a business conference in San Francisco. What a great place! We tend to stay at smaller European style hotels, with character, and I was afraid the Villagio would be too big and excessive for our tastes. I was wrong. It is new, but very tastefully done. The landscaping and layout of the complex is exceptional. My wife very much liked the spa, and I swam daily in their lovely heated pool. All of the facilities were first rate, and the room quite large and exceptional. Everything from the large bathroom area and dressing room, to the refrigerator and complementary bottle of wine, to the fireplace and balcony, were perfect. We did get a complementary upgrade to a courtyard, upstairs room, so did not experience any of the noise problems written about in other reviews- all we heard at night was the bubbling of the fountain/stream below our window, which was quite soothing. The included breakfast was really excellent, even indulgent, and of course you are within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in the country. The concierge was very helpful in working with us to negotiate the hundreds of choices of vineyards/tasting rooms to visit. It was a perfect stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank LansdowneTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2006

I can't say enough about the Villagio! My boyfriend and I just spent an evening at the Villagio for a romantic getaway and we had a wonderful time! We had booked and outside courtyard room at $225 and upon arrival they had upgraded us to an inside courtyard room. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous from the moment we arrived everything was taken care of. Check in was a breeze, we were given a great recomendation for an early Dinner at Hurleys except after sitting down to eat the power went out due to a downed telephone pole. The staff lit candles (we were the only two in the restaurant) and we had a few drinks before going back to our room and ordering room service. He had some kind of beef with mashed potatoes and baby vegetables and I being the vegetarian had the pear salad with some kind of cheese and a fantastic balsamic dressing. Are room was quite large and very plush. And the bed was very comfortable. In the evening we opened a bottle of sparkling wine that we had brought with us and moved our two ottomans in front of the fireplace. We sat in front of the fire for a few hours until it started to die out and then we called down for another log which arrived promptly. At around 10pm that evening the front desk called to say that the bellman had a special delivery, I figured they had the wrong room. My sweetie had mentioned it was my birthday on making our reservations and they had sent up a bottle of sparkling wine and two flutes with a birthday card! I thought that was a wonderful touch. The vanity area was very large and the robes were very comfortable. Late that night we decided to try out the tub and ran a bubble bath, with two people in the tub it was pergect with a little room to spare. Instead of going down to the free breakfast in the morning we opted for room service breakfast in bed. I had the seasonal fruit and berries with mint honey sauce and he had the egg and cheese croissant with breakfast potatoes and we both had the fresh squeezed oj. It truly was a memorable romantic evening. And we can't wait to go back! For anyone thinking of choosing this property, don't hesitate to book, it will be an evening you'll never forget.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2006

My husband and friends and I checked into the Villagio on Thursday, December 29th. It was lightly drizzling, but the fireplace in the reception area was warm and inviting.
In the morning, the rain continued, but the beautiful champagne breakfast by the fireplace warmed our spirits and encouraged us to go tasting. More rain and our friends had a massage scheduled, so my husband and I dropped them back at the Villagio after just one winery. We decided to try our appointment in Calistoga, and as we pulled into Chateau Montelena, we heard a flood warning on the news. Not knowing exactly where we were in relation to the water, we pushed on. We weathered a 2 hour tour that took us outdoors through ankle deep flood water, but had a great adventure. Of course our trip back to the Villagio was worse, as the rain was coming down so hard that it was nearly impossible to see the flood barriers.
We made it back and woke up New Years Eve to find out that some eight inches of rain had fallen overnight. We kept hearing and seeing fire trucks that were going out to rescue people trapped in their homes or cars stuck in the water. No one was sure which roads were open, so after another fabulous breakfast, we ventured out to our appointment at Niebaum-Coppola. It was like Chevy Chase pulling up to Wally World in "Vacation." The gates were locked and no one was answering the phones there.
We decided to drive on and nearly got trapped in St. Helena by the flash flood that ensued. We went south of Yountville, thinking the roads would be better. Instead we got about 3 minutes down Route 29 to find the highway under several feet of water. A few cars had been caught in the water and even a bus was floating across Route 29! We went back to the Villagio to find the other guests of the sold out hotel wandering around. We decided to suck it up and head to the awesome outdoor hot tub and heated pool. The staff gave us a bottle of champagne from the brunch, and eventually bent the rules for us to have champagne and food in the hot tub/pool area. If you didn't know that there was a natural disaster going on outside the walls of the hotel, the staff would never have given it away. I have to give Colby the concierge the highest marks, as she not only calmly dealt with the stranded guests, but when our New Years Eve dinner reservations at Domaine Chandon were cancelled (a lot of restaurants didn't have staff to open)she busted her butt to find us another place to celebrate on such a crazy night.
Despite the rain, the service was impeccable and we enjoyed our stay at the Villagio Inn and Spa. We would love to come back when the weather is better.
I can't wait!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank set2sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2005

All right... Loved this location..... All those that have stated Sonoma is better... I disagree..
I LOVE everything about Napa and Yountville is the perfect central location as well as the VILLAGIO being the best place to stay.
Grounds are beautiful
Town has everything
Rooms and especially bathrooms are very nice
and they go way above in terms of breakfast that is included.
Had a facial at the spa and would recommend the spa too.. They had a lot of products in the bathrooms at the spa that made it like a separate treatment on its own.

We stayed on the first floor by the pool in a suite with a fireplace. Basically a extra large hotel room, nothing over the top but traveling with kids nice to have a little extra space. We stayed our last two nights of our vacation here and it was the perfect end to a wonderful holiday.

One side note to mention...If we are able to go back I would request a 2nd floor room. All of the post are correct in saying you can hear every step upstair from down below.. It didn't really bother us we were so tired and were still able to enjoy the room and sleep but given the choice request a second floor room.
Kinda strange side note.. Try the fresh lemonade at night..The lemons are grown right on property. In the mornining they had the best egg salad we have ever had..Never a big egg salad fan but are now..

Wonderful pool area love the queen size chaise lounges and love the view of the fountians down the entire inside corridor on the property.

Some ofthe guest are ridiculous... Each morning we were entertained by loud obnoxious showy people. One party were gushing how every bit of the 2,000 dollar dinner was worth it the night before and then the next morning an engaged couple talked way too loud about if they made more money than the people they had asked to be in their wedding. Can we say money doesn't buy happiness or class, but it sure is nice when it helps you stay in nice places as the Villagio.

I was comfortable paying the 250.00 a night receiving an upgrade and a bottle of wine as well as champagne. With all the other things included, well worth it.

We look forward to returning to the Villagio one day....

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank work2travel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,282 reviews
8.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,944 reviews
0.5 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villagio Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Inn and Spa

Property: Villagio Inn and Spa
Address: 6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
#5 Family Hotel in Yountville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villagio Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villagio Inn & Spa named to Travel+Leisure Magazine's 2012 "500 Best Hotels in the World", as well as T+L's 2011 Top 50 Hotels in the United States. An AAA Four Diamond Award Property, it blends the active, contemporary flavors of California's Napa Valley wine country with the warmth and charm of a countryside village in Tuscany. Villagio's 112 guest rooms, Spa Villagio and executive conference center are situated in a lush garden setting and just walking distance to the Town of Yountville's michelin star restaurants and celebrity chefs. Every guest room features oversize sunken bathtub, fireplace, robes, a complimentary bottle of wine upon check-in, flat screen television and in-room coffee and tea. A daily champagne breakfast buffet and afternoon tea service is included with every stay. Villagio Inn & Spa has recently been recognized as a winner of TripAdvisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villagio Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Yountville
Villagio Inn And Spa Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing