We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Napa Valley Railway Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bardessono(Yountville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vintage House(Yountville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yountville(Yountville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Block Hotel(Yountville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napa Valley Lodge(Yountville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Caymus Inn(Rutherford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napa Winery Inn(Napa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
46
61
14
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
61
14
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain cargreat locationbouchon bakerycovered deckhot air balloonsliterally stepsfrench laundryother hotels in the areacouple of nightsnapa valleyyountville locationrooms are largea great place to stayeach morningcabooserailcarheidi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great location.

Really more like a motel than an inn: outdoor entrances and few services or amenities.

Water pressure in shower was pitiful.

Good value compared with some of the pricier Yountville places.

Mattress in our unit seemed old and about at the end of it's life cycle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed here for one night without a reservation, stumbled upon it and liked the idea of the carriage. Very expensive for what it was, Room was freezing as we were very unlucky as it was lashing rain the whole time which made it noisy throughout the night. Also no curtins on the top windows meant that you were up early with the light.

Bed was nice and soft. TV very small.

no one on reception when we arrived at 3pm had to call and then go to the fitness centre to get keys and pay etc.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AW11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Great carriages,great location,but.Woken up at 6.30am by what sounded like someone jetwashing the door,upon having to get up(it was that loud,similar to a jet engine!) it turned out 4 hot air balloons were being blown up 50 feet away on carpark directly behind carriages,and went on for 30 mins.
When this was mentioned to girl on reception at 10.00am,all I got was "it is kinda cute for photos though",NOT AT 6.30 AM IT ISN'T!
Perhaps a bit of warning next time please.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dylwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The Railway Inn is certainly very reasonable and has a great location. It's difficult to find places in Yountville where a two night minimum isn't required. However, I think part of the cost savings is due to the lack of staff and antiquated water heating system. Someone called to confirm our reservation, which I appreciated, and they certainly have a lot of signage directing you to pick up your key from the fitness center, so checking in wasn't a problem. The railcar itself was fairly clean, but I felt pretty cold most of the time. We turned on the heat immediately (the air conditoning was on...in February?), and it did an okay job of heating up the room, but didn't quite make it into the bathroom. The real issue I had with was with the dangerously spotty water temperature and pressure. When you're cold to begin with, there's nothing worse than stepping into a warm shower and having the water pressure drop and turn frigid. My husband was shrieking while trying to avoid getting scalded or turning to ice. I got to the point where I wondered if I should take a shower at an off time.

Due to the inconsistent (and sometimes non-existent) water pressure and temperature, I woudn't stay here again. There didn't seem to be any point reporting this to anyone, as the front desk was closed when we left, as well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InTheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

CHARMING! This was a real find. In the heart of Yountville. Steps from terrific restaurants, art and shops. The caboose was so cute and comfortable that we didn't want to leave our room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews