We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Napa Valley Railway Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Yountville B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 18 September 2005

The Railway Inn was a great place to stay, would highly recommend it. Lovely clean rooms and in a perfect location right in the centre of Yountville.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    60
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
12
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2005

Excellent value in this typically overpriced region. Rooms were clean and large and conveniently located. The resturant next door was good for breakfast and for dinner. Watching the baloons take off on saturday morning was exciting (some may not be keen on the bustle and commotion of a balloon liftoff, but it only lasts a half an hour or less and I thought it was great and have great pics). The exercise facility is also a plus. My test is always "Would I stay there again or did I see something else in town that looked like a better deal?" My answer is I'd stay there again for convenience, cleanliness and price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank YooperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 August 2005

My husband and I have been staying in the Napa Valley for years and have always been intrigued by the Railway Inn. We finally decided to try it a couple of weeks ago. Cute rooms, nice toiletries and most of all the location can't be beat. Yountville is one of the most charming little towns in the Valley, and the RI is in the heart of it - literally walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping you could want. AND the price is insanely good. You can't touch other accomodations in Yountville and surrounding areas for less than $200/night. We stayed in a caboose - clean, comfortable - for $140/night. And this is during the busiest season! True, if you're a high-maintenance guest, you will not be happy with the lack of staff available to you. But if you're like us (getting up early, out all day drinking wine and eating in amazing restaurants, just to come home to comfy surroundings to rest up for the next day of eating and drinking...) you'll be very pleased. One suggestion: you may want to request cars on the east side of the hotel - where you're less likely to hear the hot-air balloons in the morning. We didn't hear them at all and we were in room #8. Also - we were there during a heat wave (100 degrees each day) and though there's AC in the rooms, they are window units and had a tough time keeping the place cool. Other than that - Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 July 2005

We stayed at the Napa Railway Inn and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are tastefully appointed and very clean. Yountville is one of the best towns in Napa Valley and the Railway Inn is in the heart of it all, within walking distance to shops and incredible restaurants and bakeries. You can even use the quaint gym adjacent to the railcars (which is quite private, "member-only"). The value cannot be beat either. Mediocre chain hotel rooms in the area go for twice as much per night and aren't nearly as charming. If you have a side of adventure and don't mind a minimal staff (there are only 15 or so rooms), I highly recommend the Napa Railway Inn. It is an experience to happily remember. And the wine helps, too.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2005

My husband is a train buff, so I booked a night at the NVRI. We were upgraded to a caboose, because the car I booked had "shower issues." Yes, it is a series of train cars, but inside they look like a shabby Motel 6. "Satellite tv" didn't work, and shower was HOT only - and the "emergency" number posted was specifically if you locked your key in your room, no staff on site at all (we were checked in by a 15-year-old girl). And yes, for 2 hours in the early morning you get to listen to them filling up the hot air balloons - VERY NOISY. It is in a great location, but I'd spend the extra $10 per night and stay right down the street at the Napa Valley Lodge. There are also 2-3 other boutique hotels within a couple blocks that looked much nicer too.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Island_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 March 2005

I enjoyed my visit here in the converted train car. The room is narrow but big. The room pleasingly decorated - nice color choices. The shower controls were too hot or or too cold. Also the showerhead itself was not working properly. Left a note since no one on site. No response. Could have used more channels and a refrigerator. Great location. Property well maintained. A hot-air balloon took off in the parking lot behind the hotel. Fans and propane created unwelcomed noise at 630 in the morning. Will definitely recommend to a friend to try ar least once. Access to nice work out facility next door a big plus

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 March 2005

this is the place to stay if you don't want/need alot of attention. It's in the middle of the Napa Valley, great spot to stay and go north or south for wine tasting. I stayed in one of the caboose's, and I'm planning to return to the Napa area soon and hopefully stay there again.... an Okie

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yountville hotels
0.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Railway Inn

Property: Napa Valley Railway Inn
Address: 6523 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Valley Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wine Country in the center of the sophisticated town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Railway Inn provides the perfect Napa Valley getaway. Let the Railway Inn's converted 100-year old train cars provide you with memorable accommodations walking distance to Thomas Keller's 'The French Laundry,' 'Bouchon,' and 'Ad-Hoc,' as well as Michael Chiarello's 'Bottega,' and 'Napa Style.' Comfortable, contemporary and convenient, relax outside your room in the evening on our patio with a glass of wine or in the morning enjoy a specialty coffee and fresh pastry from the Java Hut Too located right at the hotel. Outside your doorstep stroll to any of the 11 wine tasting rooms, boutique shopping or world-class dining located just steps away. A mix of history with all the modern conveniences for today's traveler, make the hotel an ideal destination when visiting the Napa Valley. In room amenities include complimentary WiFi, flat screen TV's, inviting luxurious linens and refrigerators for that just purchased bottle of Chardonnay. Hotel guest rooms consist of eight steam-era railcars permanently parked in the center of downtown Yountville in the heart of the Napa Valley. Each of the guest cars offers few hints of their former function: you'd never guess that No. 4 used to carry cattle or that the skylight in No.9 was once a hatch for ice-block deliveries. Providing the best location for your wine country escape, the hotel offers the convenience of not having to get into your car to enjoy an evening out in the best restaurants in the Napa Valley as well as great views of the surrounding mountains and adjacent vineyards during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Napa Valley Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Railway Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Railway Inn Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing