We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here when in Napa.”
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bardessono
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stay here when in Napa.”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This should be your first and only consideration when staying in the area. From the moment we drove in and were welcomed by Arran to the moment we checked out we were treated like royalty. The majority of the staff were excellent and the standard of the rooms and amenities are first class. Attention to detail and extras surprise and delight throughout your stay. The restaurant is excellent as is the food and wine. We ate at the French Laundry (they drive you there and back as part of the service!) but we preferred the hotels food! The pool area is amazing and Robbie couldn't have been more attentive. WiFi was superb as was room service, housekeeping and all areas of service. The General Manager should be very proud of his team and hotel.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerMoth1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear TigerMoth 1969,

This is high praise, indeed. For our food to be compared favorably to the venerable and outstanding French Laundry's food is a wonderful compliment. And your kind words about Aaron and Robbie are deeply appreciated. They are wonderful employees.

Hotels can't be great without fanatical attention to detail. We're no exception. It's in our DNA.

Thank you for staying with us and posting this great review.

We look forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    120
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
95
945
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanFrancisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Loved, loved, loved our stay at Bardessono. The hotel has a soft spoken elegance about it that draws you in from the moment you arrive. It's a very peaceful place... loved star gazing at night from the hammock! It is extremely well situated to all the mouth-watering eateries in town... we walked to all the restaurants in town, even though the hotel would graciously retrieve you at any time. Used their bikes to go for a spin to some wineries.... lots of fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passportcarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear passportcarrier,

Your review above is wonderful. Thank you so much. Our... "soft spoken elegance that draws you in from the moment you arrive" ....looks like advertising copy, but it's not. It's who we are and what we do, which you so graciously pointed out.

We're glad you enjoyed our hotel and the convenience of our location. And we all look forward to your return. Our hammock awaits.

Warm regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed in a Spa Steam Suite in February. Room was perfect ... and outdoor shower ... ummm ... interesting! Staff was great. Nice bar. Great meal in the restaurant. Bike ride into the vineyards was fun. A very well-run property and quite enjoyable stay. But one does have to pay for this. Did I mention the outdoor shower?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazeracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear sazeracker,

We really appreciate you staying with us in February and posting this nice review. We're delighted you enjoyed both our service and our facilities.

As a "heads up" to all readers of this review, the four or five top tier luxury hotels in Napa Valley are all expensive.... and we are in that group. We rank among the top hotels in the U.S. Further, Napa Valley hotel price points are similar to New York City's. The cost of doing business here is high, as it is in NY.

I'm glad you raised this issue. It comes up in other reviews, as well.

All best wishes from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Bardessono and it couldn't have been better. The trip that I thought was just for relaxation turned out to be an engagement trip! The hotel staff is knowledgeable, professional, and will go out of their way to make sure all your needs are satisfied. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. After we had initially turned down a glass of wine at check in the attendant later caught us at the concierge and served us a glass there. During check out your folio is emailed to you immediately, and its very nice that the paper isn't wasted. The spacious rooms are extremely clean, modern, and efficient. The bathroom is massive! The spa tub is unlike any other I've used, the shower is oversized and there are his/hers vanities. The spa service we had in our room was very relaxing. The large balconies are very appreciated. The pool on top of the roof is very nice and the pool attendants are extremely attentive. The entire property is just so fantastic and Yountville is just a fantastic city. The entire city is just pristine! Just walking around in the evening is lovely, although I wish local shops were open later in the day (most closed ~5). We'll definitely be back, 3 nights were not enough! It is a wonderfully relaxing and romantic getaway in wine country!

Just a couple negatives for some: Our room was next to the street so street noise could be a bother, but I'm a light sleeper and it didn't bother me. The black out shades didn't black out enough light for me, but I didn't miss out on any sleep because of them.

Green Features: Extremely green hotel, filtered water in recyclable glass containers delivered to your room everyday, energy saving lighting that is motion sensored... its nice to see their environmentally friendly efforts.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMuedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear JMuedog,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this detailed and thoughtful review. We're glad you enjoyed our facilities and appreciated our staff.

With respect to street noise, there is some from time-to-time, due to our location right in the middle of the Town of Yountville. But for an in-town retreat, it is remarkably quiet and peaceful here....as others have described us....Zen-like.

Our blinds are on the outside of the windows, which is a better way of keeping the room temperature at the desired setting. Very little light gets through when they are down and shut, but there is a gap between them and the exterior siding.

Please return. Soon and often. It was our pleasure to serve you.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We got into Bardessono around 11:30pm after a 6 hour flight and 1.5 hour drive. From the minute we drove up to the lobby we were in a permanent state of relaxation. They poured us a very good wine and walked us around the Zen inspired property. The rooms are a great mixture of technical innovation and minimalist/zen design. They have everything you need but look like a spa room.

We ate breakfast at Lucy's on-site almost every day and they made one of the best eggs benedict we have eaten.

We had spa treatments as well, and it is a nice touch for them to show up and turn your own room into a day at the spa.

They are located in Yountville which is a great little town in Napa. If you are a foodie, you are at home base for the best restaurants in the country. It is only 30 minutes all the way to the top of Napa so it is also a great starting point for any wine tours or site seeing.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms are the same. The entire property was quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: They put a huge effort into a small footprint. I think we were told they produce a lot of their own electricity, they filter their own water, and they really make an effort to keep the property running smoothly with as little impact as possible.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear aroe,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this great review above. We're delighted you enjoyed yourselves, and took advantage of our in-room spa services. Your kind words about our facilities, amenities, and location are deeply appreciated.

Yountville is the epicenter of the Valley (and epicurean center....). We are 30 minutes from Calistoga at the north end of the Valley, and 15 minutes from the city of Napa at the south end. Great location from which to headquarter, when visiting Napa Valley.

We hope you'll return....soon and often. It was our pleasure to have served you.

Best wishes from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had an absolutely fabulous three nights at Bardessono to celebrate our anniversary and my husband's birthday. We were completely pleased with every part of our experience. Our room was beautiful and completely quiet and the public areas and artwork were fabulous. We enjoyed the rooftop pool and South Beach-style cabanas so much that we didn't even bother to try spa treatments. The location is excellent for its proximity to local (and totally fabulous) restaurants. Since we live in EST, we were awake early and took the hotel's bikes out for ten-mile rides when traffic was minimal and the air was cool. The concierge staff was very helpful in making recommendations and building a wine-tasting itinerary. While not inexpensive, we felt Bardessono was very much worth the splurge. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernExposure2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear SouthernExposure,

Thanks so much for staying with us a posting this wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves and a planning a return trip. We have a little internal mantra....in the form of an acronym....IGTR. Inspire guests to return. We're pleased to know we did.

When you do, return, promise us one thing.....that you will have a spa treatment or two. We have great therapists and they do really good work. (Sorry for this commercial....)

We look forward to serving you again.

All the best from all of us.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just want to say to everybody who is planning to visit napa valley California. First of all it is amazing place peaceful, beautiful and charming. If someone looking to complete and true joy from the say in Napa valley simply book with Bardessono Hotel it is true gem. place has incredible ambiance, great amenities, great food, settings is impeccable. Rooms are nice modern clean comfortable. The stuff of this hotel is just simply put one of the best I have ever seen. Concierge service is outstanding just ask and they arrange it no worries. They done every possible request from us from restaurant booking that was impossible to book otherwise to veranda sits at the restaurants that weren't available at that time, people truly great. Just example hotel has its own car crevice for driving guest to the local destination that are fairly close, it is free for guests, by the way the park of cars consists of brand new latest and fully loaded Lexus cars. Anyway we call for local car service and ask for the ride to the Napa downtown it was far and we suppose to use local car service cause hotel offers only as I have mentioned close proximity rides and down town Napa is around 25-30 minutes ride we called and request a van cause it were five of us so in fifteen minutes regular town car sedan arrived and offers us to ride so we refuse cause car has 4 people capacity. The next minute we asked front desk of the hotel to call car service again and send a van for us. Hotel concierge people said "Look we see that local car service giving you a problems with car., let us drive you to the napa down town" that was nice they offered us two lexuses and drove us there free of charge (we tipped guys) but that was a great move from their side. The people at the hotel were as our true friends that always helped us and guided us big thanks they done a great job i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be treated right who wants to stay at right place in perfect comfort .

Room Tip: I would recommend the room in which we stayed first floor with back yard perfect and comfortable but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolas888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Nikolas888,

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a glowing review. We're so glad you liked our hotel and enjoyed the services we offered.

We're fortunate to have been selected by Lexus to be one of their seven hotel partners worldwide. They were attracted to us by our quality and commitment to the environment.

The high-end Lexus hybrid SUVs and Sedans are a great way for us to shuttle our guests in and around Yountville. We also make them available for our guests to "test drive" for up to four hours at a time.

We do hope you'll return....soon and often.

All best wishes from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,055 reviews
6.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#4 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
735 reviews
8.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
14.8 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Property: Bardessono
Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1270
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bardessono 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green, luxurious and peaceful, Bardessono is a Napa Valley hotel and spa experience unlike any other. Nestled in the heart of Yountville, California our hotel is exceptional by nature. We offer a mindful approach to living the good life and provide a meaningful exchange between the traveler and the host. Our pledge is to care for an uncommon set of priorities in order to create a connected and insightful experience of our guests. Our menu at Lucy Restaurant and Bar offers "field-to-fork" garden-inspired cuisine and spirited libations. Our spa treatments are designed around the needs of the season. Let your story unfold, one indulgence at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing