We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best...”
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bardessono
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bardessono back in March 2013. Having loved our stay so much back then, we decided to come back to the Bardessono in December to celebrate our wedding anniversary. And our stay both times was nothing short of absolute perfection. Yes, the Bardessono has all of the basics – clean, spacious rooms coupled with their courteous and friendly staff (a special thanks to their Concierge team, who were consistently willing to go above and beyond with any requests that we had). With that said though, there are other things that make the Bardessono a wonderful and unique place to stay.

Nestled in the heart of Yountville, the hotel is located right across from Bouchon, which made it super easy for me to roll out of bed first thing in the morning and walk over to Bouchon to grab an assortment of pastries without having to deal with waiting in line. Also, if you plan on having lunch/dinner in Yountville, the Bardessono offers a Lexus complimentary service to escort you to and from the hotel.

Regarding the room itself, our Spa Suite had everything that we needed to relax – a jacuzzi, a sauna and a warm fireplace, which we found to be a very nice touch considering the outside temperature was down in the 20s. In addition, our room was used to do our in-room massages, which my wife and I both concur that the massages were some of the best that we’ve ever had (many thanks to Malissa who was fantastic in helping coordinate our spa/massage requests).

All in all, we had a fantastic experience staying at the Bardessono. Tripadvisor rated the Bardessono as one of the most romantic hotels in the nation for 2013 and for me, it’s quite obvious why that is the case. I’ve had the opportunity to stay at various Ritz Carltons, Fairmonts, Shangri-La’s around the world, and based upon what I’ve experienced thus far, they all come at a distant second compared to the Bardessono. Granted, the Bardessono is not cheap by any means; however, I’m a firm believer that you should get what you pay for and in my opinion, the Bardessono has set the bar at a level where all of the other hotels have yet to reach.

My wife and I plan to return many more times in the future and we hope the Bardessono continues to provide what we experienced – privacy, comfort, luxury and most importantly, peacefulness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Andrew Y,

Thank you for staying with us...not once, but twice this year. Your review above is so detailed, articulate, and thoughtful. You touch on all of which we are proud - locations, staff, spa services, our Lexuses for shuttling guests in and around Yountville, our physical features, and our value proposition.

We hope you will make more trips here. It's such a pleasure serving you both.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    115
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
93
932
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We visited Bardessono in July with our two kids (age 8 and 9). This is a fantastic place – great food, fantastic service, beautiful large rooms with private verandas. The hotel had a really luxurious feeling overall with a very nice roof top pool. The hotel also provided bikes, which was great for making trips in the village.

Yountville is a very nice village, which many top notch restaurants like the French Laundry (not recommended for kids though) and Redd (highly recommended, relaxed atmosphere and great food).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Bjorkfamily,

What a nice review. Thank you so much.

We really enjoy serving our international visitors, and we're pleased you enjoyed our town and hotel. As you said, our bikes are a great way to get around Yountville and the rest of the Valley.

We hope you'll make an annual trip to the U.S. and include Napa Valley in it from time-to-time.

Warmest regards from your friends at Bardessono and tusen takk skal du ha pa Norsk. (Takk samicka pa Svenska?)

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We arrive to the beautiful property and were greeted so warmly and were escorted to our room. We walked through the beautiful grounds and you feel that you are the only one staying on the property. the privacy is amazing. The room felt very modern, but at the same time very cozy. When we settled in, we noticed a bottle of champagne and chocolates with a hand written card, wishing us a Happy Anniversary. We took the bottle outside to the private patio and all you can hear are the water features and was so soothing. We walked the property and can see why this property is LEED Platinum Certified. We loved Camille's customer service throughout our stay and especially for getting us reservations to Redd for our Anniverary dinner. There was a day where we spent around 3 hours lounging by the pool and the only issue we had with that was that I needed to go down 3 times to get us drinks. I explained to the bartender if they had anyone serving upstairs and they indicated that they would send someone up, which never happened. That was the only issue during the stay. The highlight of the entire stay was meeting Brett Fallows. I don't where to begin, he was so friendly and non pretentious. He made our dinner at Lucy such a memorable evening that we cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear mondo30,

Thank you for staying with us last February and posting this wonderful review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and that Camille and Brett to good care of you while you were here.

I'm sorry about the poor drinks service at the pool, though. No excuses. At our price points, service should be impeccable always.

We do hope you'll return soon and often. It was our pleasure to serve you.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Style defined is relative, the formula often dependent on one's perspective like an Einstein theory. I prefer 2013 subtle as opposed to "power 80s," merlot over Cabernet. Bardessono delivers a quiet class from its roots in family farm history to its environmental and service friendly property. Expect: quiet, friendly, genuine unrushed service, well appointed technology friendly rooms, staff that is natural, happy, helpful, right there but not right in one's face. One will want for nothing here and find a quiet peace of mind knowing that everything necessary is provided or taken care of with a minimum of effort.

Room Tip: Ensure reservations for Dinner @ Lucy's just in case there is a run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beagle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear beagle47,

What a thoughtful and articulate review. Thank you so much.

You capture the essence of Bardessono beautifully - Earth and service friendly, contemporary, understated. Caring, anticipatory, and warm service, neither over-the-top nor in--your-face.

I so appreciate you recognizing our staff in such a wonderful way, as well as our design and overall ambience.

I hope you'll return. It would be nice to meet you and thank you personally.

All the best from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGH Metro
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I recently stayed at Bardessono in early December with my husband and in-laws for three nights. We were really looking forward to this stay and our trip in the Napa Valley. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we knew our expectations were met and exceeded in some areas. Our room was not quite ready so we joined my in-laws on a guided tour of their room, just next door. The accommodations are great, everything is automatic, lights, shades, fireplace, even the do not disturb button by the front door. We received upgraded rooms which is a great surprise and we had nice large bathrooms and a sitting area by the fireplace.

We had an appointment at Maisonry late in the afternoon after our arrival with dinner reservations later. When we were finished at Maisonry, I called the hotel to find out if they would pick the four of us up to take us back to the hotel. Everyone is so accommodating and the wait for pickup is so little. We enjoyed our rides to and from the hotel for dinners and talking with the drivers. Any request we had (not too many) was met without delay and the staff felt genuine at each interaction, especially the morning we had to leave when the hot water was not working. We managed fine without, but the staff were super apologetic. Not their fault whatsoever, but their sentiment was very nice.

The location is great, practically smack in the middle of Yountville. Easy walk to restaurants and shops. We also ate breakfast at Lucy two of the three mornings and it's good, but nothing stood out as exceptional. Lastly, we had wine that needed to be shipped home and the staff were quick to mention they could ship it back to home right after check out. We arrived home late on a Wednesday and by that following Monday, our Napa Valley souvenirs were back in our possession. That's a nice perk!

For a future visit back to Napa Valley, I would not hesitate to consider staying at Bardessono again. It was a great stay for all of us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMedoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear MrsMedoes,

Thank you so much for staying with us and posting this thoughtful and detailed review. We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us and in Yountville. I am sorry, though, that we lost hot water on the morning of your departure rare glitch in our facility and infrastructure. We were beautifully designed and constructed, and it disappoints us all when something doesn't work perfectly here.

We hope you'll return. And I promise hot water throughout your stay.

Warmest regards from all of us.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This trip included ages ranging from 21 to 56.
Our rooms were extraordinary. This resort is extremely well planned.
Not one single staff member was anything but nice. They are what is best described as understated elegance & class.
Sandy in the spa is the GO TO person for any/all questions & the front desk, valet guys...do their best to accommodate.
My daughter had her puppy in a pet friendly room...puppy was on patio while we were having breakfast.
My cell phone rang & the front person called to tell us to enjoy our breakfast but they had my daughters puppy at front desk...perfectly content...and not barking.
The food at Lucy's was delicious... But like all else in Yountville, very expensive.
I would definitely return to this establishment.
My 21 year old wasn't particularly excited about this trip as all there was to do was eat & drink.
After two days..we were ready to move on.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skcesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dar skcesm,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this thoughtful review. We appreciate your kind comments about our rooms, staff, food, and our pet friendliness.

Napa Valley is all about wine and food, as you know. But we also have a number of other fun and interesting things to do - ballooning, great golf, shopping, hiking, biking, tennis, sightseeing and a great art scene.

We do hope you'll return...soon and often.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have stayed in some great hotels in the Napa Valley, but I think I might have found the best. Bardessono is a wonderful hotel located in Yountville. The service is excellent at every level. From the moment you walk in, the staff makes you feel like you are at home. This is a very upscale hotel, but it is not "stuffy". The rooms are well appointed and will please anyone seeking luxury accommodations. Each suite has outdoor space, indoor fireplaces, and spacious bathrooms. Free wireless and their own filtered water are a nice touch (no "nickel and diming" here). The hotel design is beautiful and their LEED certification commitment is amazing. The food at the Lucy (restaurant on-site) and the bar is very good. The bartenders are well-trained and make wonderful cocktails. The Yountville location is also a plus - close to everything and lots of dining options are in walking distance. Finally, this hotel understands that your dog is part of your family and cater to her needs just as much as your own. I look forward to my return visit!

Green Features: Just amazing, the thought and care they take to respect the environment is wonderful to witness.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinH_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear MartinH_NY,

Thanks for staying with us and posting this great review. "Perfection" is high praise, indeed.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with, particularly our location, rooms, food and drink, and service. We trying to be luxurious, but warm, friendly, and inviting...not pretentious or stuffy. We tend to be a little less formal than our competitors.

We do hope you'll return....soon and often.

All best wishes from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
6.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
716 reviews
8.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Property: Bardessono
Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1270
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bardessono 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green, luxurious and peaceful, Bardessono is a Napa Valley hotel and spa experience unlike any other. Nestled in the heart of Yountville, California our hotel is exceptional by nature. We offer a mindful approach to living the good life and provide a meaningful exchange between the traveler and the host. Our pledge is to care for an uncommon set of priorities in order to create a connected and insightful experience of our guests. Our menu at Lucy Restaurant and Bar offers "field-to-fork" garden-inspired cuisine and spirited libations. Our spa treatments are designed around the needs of the season. Let your story unfold, one indulgence at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing