We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around”
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bardessono
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our second stay at Bardessono. The service was wonderful and the staff most helpful and friendly. The only glitch I experienced was we were unable to get a dinner reservation (Lucy) from the dining area reception. My friends who stayed at another hotel were able to get a reservation immediately from open table. I was told by the attendant that the only reservations available were at 5:45 and 8:45 pm..My friends saw reservations on open table from 7pm on with 15 minute intervals up until 9pm. We choose an 7:45 pm reservation from open table. We almost missed an amazing dinner experience because of the limits of the computer program used to book dining reservations at Lucy.
Has the problem been resolved to your satisfaction?
Yes
Please comment about the resolution of the problem:
Sentiment: 1.75
I explained my frustration to the desk manager Jon, who took my complaint graciously and told me not to worry. He introduced me to the Food and Beverage Manager (Guy). Guy apologized for the confusion and told me not to worry, my friends and I were in good hands. He was right. Guy and the entire staff took care wonderful care of us. We we equally impressed by the Sommelier Anani. The food, wine and service were awesome, one of the best meals we had in the area.

Room Tip: I have only stayed on the first level of the hotel. Even though our courtyard faced the driveway an...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steadyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Steadyg,

Thank you for staying with us for a second time. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, but apologize for the Lucy reservation glitch. I'm glad Jon, Guy, and Anani were able to salvage the situation and you ultimately had a great dinner experience in Lucy.

You were really nice to post this detailed review.

We hope you'll be back soon for a third stay.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
There are newer reviews for Bardessono
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I travel all over the world and there is no service like this plce. From the time you get out of the rental car, in your and off to Lucy for Dinner this place is hands down pampering. The grounds are beyond beautiful and staff is just amayzing. The rooms are quiet and I feel like I am on onther planet while taking an outdoor shower in the garden. Thank you for making it an amayzing experience.

Room Tip: Choose the spa steam suite
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Branden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Branden M,

What a great review. Thank you. We so appreciate you staying here and "writing us up". Your comments about our staff and service are the most rewarding for us. We've assembled a great team here and it's so nice to see them so positively recognized.

We hope you'll be back soon.

All the best from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The bardessono is a wonderful property in downtown Yountville. The staff are well-trained and very friendly. You get a tour of the property; use of bicycles if you are so inclined and taxi service around Yountville from their 2 Lexus hybrids. The pool is wonderful with free cabana's and a full time bar keep / waiter for food.

In the rooms you have luxurious (who knows how high thread count) sheets that I wanted to take home. You also have a very nice patio for your breakfast nosh from the near-by Bouchon bakery.

We tried the Lucy restaurant and it is very good for an on-site restaurant. Drinks in the bar are right-on with a good selection of wines.

The killer key for us was the concierge service which scored a very hard to get reservation at you-know-where.

The only small negative is that you don't have a picturesque view, but you decided you preferred the access to lovely Yountville didn't you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costaricagregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Costaricagregg,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this detailed and thoughtful review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and took advantage of so much of what we have to offer. And thank you for your very kind words about our Concierge team and the rest of our staff.

Your review was "right on" in every respect, and I appreciate you alerting readers that if they're looking for expansive Valley views, we're probably going to disappoint in that area.

We hope we'll see you back soon and often. It's an easy trip from San Francisco, as you know.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a nice property with beautiful outdoor spaces and comfortable rooms. We experienced a number of service lapses over our two night stay, however. The manager was very nice and personally gave us a tour and showed us to our room. We made a couple of small requests (extra pillows and water) at check-in that didn't show up until the second day. We also reserved a romance package that included a special turn down (champagne, etc.) which we requested for the first night, but it was not delivered until the second night. Dinner in the restaurant was a disaster (VERY slow service even though there were only six occupied tables, mediocre food and glasses of wine that never arrived).

Then came check out. The valet pulled the car up within sight of the front door while we went in to check out. We stopped off to talk to the concierge, so we were inside for about 20 minutes. When we came outside, it had begun to rain very hard. The doorman pointed to our car (no offer of an umbrella or to pull the car up closer for us). We ran out to the car and found that the valet had left the windows down and the seats were completely soaked. To top it all off, I had asked the bellman to put a small bag in the back seat for easy access. We didn't realize until after we drove off that it had been packed at the back of the trunk so that the large suitcases had to be removed (jn the rain) to access the bag we needed.

To sum up, the facility is nice and most of the staff were personable but attention to detail was sorely lacking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jada19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear jada19,

I am so sorry your stay with us was such a disaster. We rarely get reviews like yours, but when we do, it's a great reminder to us, that despite trying to be perfect for every guest all the time, we are not. Clearly, we failed you miserably in so many areas of your stay. It should not have been difficult for us to fulfill all your requests and arrangements seamlessly. We do routinely day in and day out. Please accept our apologies.

Your dinner experience, too, was inexcusable. Apologies again.

But worst of all, was your very unsatisfactory departure experience. When it rains here, which is a rare occurrence, we have plenty of umbrellas and staff to hold them for our guests, or at the very least, offer them. And the small package that got placed in the back of the trunk, despite you request otherwise, was another mistake by our team. Lastly, we are all trained to never leave windows down for security reasons, in addition to weather.

I hope you read this response and contact me at 707.604.6001 or jim.treadway@bardessono.com. I'd very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience here in more detail, to learn from it, and to try to make amends to you.

Kindest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday in February this year. It was beautiful. We were greeted by a friendly staff member who offered us wine and gave us a tour of the property. The room was large and gorgeous and tastefully decorated. The room also has technologically updated features such as control of the shades with a button and control of the fireplace with a button. Modern, sleek, and cozy, this place is only steps away from all the great restaurants in the area. We spent the weekend eating and relaxing and it was perfect here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennfromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jennfromcali,

Thanks to you and your boyfriend for staying with us in February and posting this great review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated our staff, location, and our rooms.

San Francisco is only a little over an hour away, so I hope we'll see you back here soon.

All the best from your new friends at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Welcoming glass of white or red wine at check-in, property and then room tour with Alexi (effervescent personality!) and a split of champagne and chocolates waiting for us (I had noted it was our anniversary). High tech blinds auto open when you enter the room - which was kind of funny the first morning when hubby went to grab complimentary coffee (along with little croissants and mini muffins which were not advertised as cont bkft, but so nice to include!) to bring back. Our room faced east and it was a sunny, so "Good Morning!!" I'm sure there was a way to keep them closed, but we did not try to figure it out and it was not a problem.

Roasted almonds using bardesonno's grown lemon thyme and rosemary - yum. They were in a little burlap pouch in our room as a welcome. Another posting complained that it was tiny - it was perfect as a sample. Coming to such an exclusive (and yes, expensive) place, we were not looking for handouts.

We had a steam shower suite which had an outdoor shower as well. Someone earlier mentioned the outside shower was visible from an upstairs suite, but there is a privacy curtain that can be drawn while in use. We were located right under the pool - yes, its upstairs! and we heard minimal noise. Housekeeping was great - twice a day and at any time you can push the housekeeping/maintenance button next to the door. The "Shhh" button on the panel was a nice touch - it turns the doorbell red so staff know not to disturb.

Hubby said the restroom off the Lucy restaurant lobby was unique. Apparently one does not need to touch anything but the multitude of buttons... much more advanced than a bidet ;D

Lucy restaurant was nice - we only had breakfast. The juices were good - tropical was better tasting that chlorophyll... of course! The restaurant used many organically grown items from its own garden on property - amazing. Alexi encouraged us to go ahead and pick food (fruits?) if we saw something we wanted to try. That was a nice touch. Not an outstanding meal for all, but mine was good (spinach omelet).

Pool was great! Cabanas are plentiful and first-come, first-serve. There are suntan lotion dispensers (SPF 15 and 30) available with little cups. Also, infused water is available. The young man who took our lunch order was very polite and prompt. Cobb salad with Ahi tuna and Hummus plates were very good.

Every staff member we came in touch with was smiling and helpful. We really enjoyed our time. Lastly, when we were leaving, we were sent off with cute little branded water bottles.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonN8V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear BostonN8V,

Wow. This is perhaps the most thoughtful and detailed review we have ever received. We can't thank you enough.

It looks like you read a lot of previous reviews and compared your experience with previous guests - very helpful to all readers contemplating staying with us.

You talked about our wine greeting, Alexi (who's wonderful), our blinds (and the inadvertent sunshine wake-up call), our outdoor showers, electronic do-not-disturb buttons, our garden, restaurant, pool, cabanas, and farewell, biodegradable water bottles - pretty much everything here except for our spa and bikes. And although I'm delighted you enjoyed your spinach omelet, it looks like others in your party were not as thrilled with their breakfasts. I'm sorry.

We hope it won't be too long before you return. We enjoy serving all our guests, but especially such thoughtful and appreciative ones.

Warmest regards from your new friends at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed two wonderful nights and regretfully had to leave. Staff is very friendly and over the top to please. Facilities excellent and the food was fantastic. Fresh vegetables and the salad with vinegarate dressing and avocados was thw best. Highly recommend if you're heading to Napa and can splurge a bit. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Gotgold,

Your review is "gold" to us. Thank you so much. It was really nice of you to recognize our staff so positively. And we're delighted you enjoyed our fresh-from-our-garden food.

We're fiercely proud of our hotel, restaurant, spa, and, most of all, our employees. They and I really appreciate your kind and gracious words of praise.

We look forward to serving you again here soon.

All the best from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
6.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
232.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#4 of 6 in Yountville
744 reviews
8.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,040 reviews
8.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1270
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range: £439 - £1,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bardessono 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green, luxurious and peaceful, Bardessono is a Napa Valley hotel and spa experience unlike any other. Nestled in the heart of Yountville, California our hotel is exceptional by nature. We offer a mindful approach to living the good life and provide a meaningful exchange between the traveler and the host. Our pledge is to care for an uncommon set of priorities in order to create a connected and insightful experience of our guests. Our menu at Lucy Restaurant and Bar offers "field-to-fork" garden-inspired cuisine and spirited libations. Our spa treatments are designed around the needs of the season. Let your story unfold, one indulgence at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing