We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot”
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bardessono
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed in Yountville for the first time and enjoyed 3 nights at Bardessono.

First, the location in Yountville is perfect central location for going to Sonoma, St Helena and Napa. It is an easy drive for winery hopping or bike riding.

Second, for great dinners, it is a short 2 minute walk to all the outstanding Yountville restaurants. We hit Redd, Bottega and Ad Hoc. All were outstanding. For breakfast we did Bouchon Bakery. The peanut butter and jelly doughnuts are awesome. They have these only on weekends.

The hotel was perfect. Clean, friendly staff, great pool, awesome spa services in your room and a great steam shower or outdoor shower. The property has a nice relaxing zen feel. Can't wait to go back and worth the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaldinho22771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff was attentive but not irritating catering to what we needed. The property is green and designed with attention to the best way to build and utilize the sun to heat the property. Shades are on the outside of the windows so they keep the glass from heating up. Rooms had lots of windows but were open but shielded from the other units with well-placed dividers.

The bathtub was near a window and under a skylight.

My biggest complaint was that there was a detector of some sort with a small light over the bath that fliashed. Really not much of a concern while watching the stars from the super-deep tub.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llamaeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The hotel is stunning. The grounds are simply amazing - my wife is a garden designer and she fell in love with the landscaping. And the room was incredibly comfortable and elegant. Loved the concrete and hardwood floors - everything clean, modern without being cold in the slightest. The bed and linens were luxurious and the pillow (unlike most hotel pillows) was as comfortable as home. Fantastic room! The breakfast was terrific, the bar was great, and the pool and hot tub are perfect. In short, we loved our stay and will return as soon as possible. If I had any complaint - and it's a minor quibble - the room could have been a bit quieter as there was a small amount of ambient noise (other guests etc) from outside. But it was really minor and I'm usually very bothered by noise. In fact I usually bring a white noise machine with me and forgot it on this trip - if we'd had it I wouldn't have noticed any noise at all, I'm sure.

Furthermore, the fantastic concierge staff did a wonderful job booking us into restaurants, private wine tastings and anything else we could think of. They were so helpful and indicative of the general quality of the staff. This is a truly stunning hotel - honestly one of the nicest at which I've ever stayed. And that's not even getting into how cool it is that it's totally green and LEED certified. Amazing place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAT4839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We spent 3 nights at Bardessono in September. On the positive side the hotel is located right in the middle of Yountville so you can walk to all of the restaurants, however you get no view whatsoever of any vineyards. Also I appreciate their LEED effort, which they have done quite well, but feel they need to put more effort into actual guest services. I have to agree with many of the comments posted by the Sydney couple. The concierge staff is not so much rude as totally incompetent and just not very knowledgeable or helpful, especially concerning vineyards. We asked about a vineyard designed by the Swiss architects Herzog & de Meuron and they made us reservations at a vineyard they thought was called Coyote (it was actually called Quixote, like Don Quixote) and was designed by the Vienesse artist Hundertwasser, which couldn't be more different than what we were looking for. When you are paying $825.00 a night you expect the concierge to be a valuable source of information and to be able to get you into restaurants and vineyards and have some inside connections. Not only were there no connections the concierge were fairly clueless, we had better restaurant recommendations from the bartender at the hotel.
The rooms have absolutely no view as said in previous posted comments, so one would never use the balconies- they face parking lots and solar panels and the backs of other rooms. Since the fronts of the rooms are glass walls, there is little privacy unless you have the shutters down, thus eliminating any natural light. A bottle of complimentary wine was left in our room but the dirty glasses from the first day just sat for 2 days until I wrote a note asking them to bring clean ones. The maid service was really not up to par, especially for this expensive a hotel. Also breakfast was not included. At that price that also seemed quite outrageous. The great bakery Bouchon is across the street, they could have offered complimentary coffee, tea and croissants from them at the very least.
There seemed to be many other places in Yountville itself and around the area that offered far greater value for the price. I would never consider staying there again nor recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kaolock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This is a very late review for a stay we had at Bardessono in May. We stayed for 3 nights and I have to say I wasn’t that impressed and wouldn’t come back. The hotel feels sterile – lacks atmosphere somehow. Our room whilst nicely appointed with all the mod cons just felt utilitarian and cold. Our balcony looked out over the solar panels of the adjacent building and the car park and we were never once tempted to use it.

Apart from one staff member at breakfast and the valet staff I found the service to be inexperienced and at times down right rude. It was raining heavily one evening as we were heading out to dinner and as there was only one umbrella in our room we asked at reception for another - we were walking to dinner and the umbrellas are fairly small. The answer was an abrupt no because only one umbrella is allocated to every room – at $700 + a night not acceptable!! In general the staff tended to have a “too cool for school” attitude and we even found this to be the case with the guests which added to the overall lack of warmth and atmosphere. The concierge was snooty and unhelpful. We’d been a bit slack in planning some winery visits and some of the places we wanted to visit were by appointment only. When we asked about these wineries she literally rolled her eyes and said it would be impossible to get into them at this late stage. Never offered to call and try. We went back to our room and called them ourselves and sure enough were able to get in. I don’t care how eco friendly this hotel is it needs to get the basics of customer service right first.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Oceans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psposare, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2010

This is in response to Oceans1, a woman, who, with her husband stayed with us in May of this year, and on 9/15/10, posted a negative review of bardessono. Her review described us as sterile, lacking in warmth and atmosphere, with a staff attitude of ...too cool for school, and unhelpfulness with respect to our concierge services and umbrella availability. Her final comment was excellent, and one with which we totally agree…… no matter how eco-friendly this hotel is, it needs to get the basics of customer service right first.

Our staff is a group of people carefully selected for their hearts, characters, and personalities. Most are very experienced, but not all. Good training makes up for lack of experience. Nothing can make up for people who are not pleasant, service-oriented, or loving. We are humans and therefore not perfect. But we all delight in serving our guests well and being recognized for it. When we learn that we might not have, it hurts…..deeply.

There is no doubt in my mind that Oceans1 and her husband did not have a good experience here, and for that we are all sincerely apologetic. We will use this review as a training and learning opportunity for us. But if you read our other reviews and pay attention to ratings such as Andrew Harper’s Top 20 Hideaways, hopefully you’ll appreciate that we are a very good luxury hotel with very good people and service, first and foremost. The fact that we are one of only two LEED Platinum hotels in the U.S. is a big plus for us, but, frankly, it is secondary to the quality of guest experience we try day in and day out to deliver here through our people.

Oceans1, if you’re reading this, please contact me at your convenience. Jim Treadway, general manager, bardessono. Jim.treadway@bardessono.com, 707.204.6001. Would very much appreciate the opportunity to communicate directly with you, instead of through TripAdvisor. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I can not say enough great things about Bardessono. The hotel staff is incredibly nice and accommodating. The location is fanstasic -- Yountville is our favorite town in Napa since it is off the highway and has restaurants, shops, a market and a great bakery all within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel grounds are immaculate and intimate. The rooms are huge and clean. The bikes are fun and definitely worth going for a ride around the area and through the vineyards. The rooftop pool is relaxing, refreshing and clean. The pool chairs are comfortable and there are many options whether you want to read, eat at a table or take a nap in a cabana. Their commitment to being environmentally friendly is important to us and we appreciated all the small details. Overall, it was a fabulous hotel and we cant wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCVACAGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Great place to splash out. Great town to splash out in given the number of stunning restaurants!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_and_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
760 reviews
6.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#4 of 6 in Yountville
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599-1270
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range: £422 - £899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bardessono 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green, luxurious and peaceful, Bardessono is a Napa Valley hotel and spa experience unlike any other. Nestled in the heart of Yountville, California our hotel is exceptional by nature. We offer a mindful approach to living the good life and provide a meaningful exchange between the traveler and the host. Our pledge is to care for an uncommon set of priorities in order to create a connected and insightful experience of our guests. Our menu at Lucy Restaurant and Bar offers "field-to-fork" garden-inspired cuisine and spirited libations. Our spa treatments are designed around the needs of the season. Let your story unfold, one indulgence at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing