We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something is Off”
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Block Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Marina del Rey, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something is Off”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel is in a nice location, close to The French Laundry (AMAZING!). We have stayed in the past, but sadly this time was different. The beds are still very comfortable and the room appeared to be very clean. Our dissatisfaction was with the hotel staff. They felt cold and distant and seemed to only want our money. They kept pushing me to have a spa treatment. We had to ask for the fire in the patio to be started as well. Past visits, someone assisted us with luggage and we received fresh towels in the evening automatically. Something just seemed different and out of place and we couldn't quite figure it out. Pizza at Redwood was good. We will just try a different spot next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Allison u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Allison,
Thank you so much for your recent visit and review.
At North Block, our mission is for my team and I to provide North Block guests with the highest service levels and that each guest leave feeling that we are an exceptional value. Clearly we did not accomplish this during your stay.
If you are willing to give us another try, I'm convinced you'll have a much better experience.
Please reach out to me directly and I'll personally handle all the arrangements.
Many thanks & best regards,
Ty Accornero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    60
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
255
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our recent stay was remarkable both in terms of the facility and service excellence. From the time we arrived until our all too soon departure, our expectation were not only met but exceeded. We have stayed at most of the other fine hotels in Yountville but North Block is a cut above because of its old world elegance and new world hip; delightful is an understatement. We have found other boutique personal service hotels in our many travels, but to find this in the heart of Napa was truly amazing. We would encourage you to check this out on your next trip to the Napa Valley; don't forget to enjoy the room and facilities especially the relaxing pool area, fire place at night and the Redwood restaurant on premise. For us this has been a 2nd, 3rd, 4th honeymoon: Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for Ty and tell him and tell him his biggest fan is Bob.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Bob,
Thank you for the kind words.
We look forward to seeing you again next year for your 5th honeymoon!
Cheers from Yountville,
Ty, Pismo & the entire NB team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here a little over a month ago and looking forward to going back. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. From the soft sheets and thick mattress to the large bathroom with heated floor, everything was luxurious. As noted in a previous review, the bathroom lighting was a bit dim, however that was the only issue we encountered. Didn't have the opportunity to enjoy the large tub although the shower was fantastic... and there was ample room for two. The courtyard during the day was quiet while in the evening was vibrant and later that night, quiet and intimate. Didn't enjoy the spa but took a walk around the common areas to what it was like and will book a massage next time. Breakfast at the restaurant attached to the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Jason,
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at North Block.
On your next visit, you'll find we've added therapeutic bath salts to our collection of bath amenities - hopefully an enticement for you to try the big tub!
We appreciate your kind comments regarding your visit & we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Ty Accornero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My in laws were in town and we wanted to take them somewhere nice and so we went back to the North Block because we loved it so much the first time we went. It was even better the second time and my in laws loved it!!! The staff is just the best. S helpful and professional without being in your face or pretentious. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are beautiful. Go to the restaurant, Redwood that is at the hotel. It was one of our most favorite meals in the area. Treat yourself and stay at this hotel!!, you will be happy that you did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Babs,
Thank you for the review.
I know entertaining the in-laws sometimes comes with a lot of pressure - I am glad to hear they (and you) enjoyed your visit.
Hopefully we'll have an opportunity to welcome you for a third time.
Please feel free to reach out to me when you're ready to make your plans.
Many thanks & best regards,
Ty Accornero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Because of Tripadvisor's ratings, we stayed at this hotel for three nights recently. The hotel is located in a good area for wineries and restaurants. We always had a hard time parking.The room was filthy, shower had mold in it. The carpet was dirty. Our white socks were brown after walking around in the room. The price is outrageous for this hotel, for this price you can find a much nicer hotel or resort.
Except for one of the bellmen, the staff was not friendly or welcoming.
We did not feel special, valued or appreciated during our stay. There was a note in the room when we arrived directed to other people that were not us. We tried to get assistance from staff to book a massage but the gal was on the phone or too busy each time we went to the lobby. We ended up getting massages elsewhere. Our visit did not offer the luxury or comfort one would expect from this category of hotel. As a result of my disappointment with this hotel, we spent most of our time traveling around to wineries and staying away. It goes without saying that I would encourage you to look elsewhere if you are seeking a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Pat,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
I sincerely apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your stay.
Our housekeeping team now includes a top-notch supervisor and I am pleased to report the concerns you noted have been rectified.
Again, I thank you for the review and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Ty Accornero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our stay was wonderful. A very charming room and a great location to everything in Napa. Not just your typical hotel room. Wonderful "extras." Take my word for it and stay at the North Block.

Our sons had given us this stay for our 40th wedding anniversary. I would definately go back. The restaurant connected to the hotel was just as satisfying.

Room Tip: Request an inner room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 412buckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was our second time visiting Yountville and our first visit to North Block Hotel. We had a great holiday experience from start to finish. The concierge was very accomodating when we showed up many hours before check in time, and called us when our room was available. I thought the room was very contemporary and relaxing, with a large bathroom (and lovely ameneties) which is always nice when away on a holiday. They also have some of the most comfortable beds and bedding Ive come across while traveling. While we were there the weather was unseasonally hot and we were able to take advantage of their nice pool after a day of wine tasting. Redwood is the restaurant connected to the hotel and we thought it was a perfect place to enjoy some of our more casual meals. North Block is a very short walk to all of Yountvilles top restaurants. All in all I had a great experience and would reccomend the hotel, and would visit it again whenever I returned to Yountville!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoChica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
8.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
7.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Property: North Block Hotel
Address: 6757 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing