We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa cool”
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Block Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The design of the lobby to the design of the rooms was great. The staff was fun and friendly.
We enjoyed the courtyard fireplace and seating area. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was well sized for a couple. And the location is perfect. The adjoining restaurant was also very good, staff and food.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the ground floor. They all open into the courtyard but no steps are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

If you somehow get the room for less than $300 then it's a great deal for this type of price but if you end up paying $500 or more then no, don't take it and look somewhere else in the vicinity. We just spent 4 nights there. Location is great, walking distance to many wineries and high end restaurants but the room itself has nothing special, no views, not really quite at night, no room service. Don't get me wrong, nothing bad but when you pay >$500/ night you expect much more than what North Block offers. I know location = price but I've stayed in high end hotels in downtown Manhattan and Chicago for less than that and the hotel room was exceptional.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank scubaguyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Amazing, lovely hotel that is in walking distance to beautiful Yountville. It's a great place to stay to visit Napa Valley and the plethora of vineyards! We loved that after driving around Napa Valley all day, we could just walk down the street for dinner (don't have to worry about drinking and driving!!!). If you want to eat at French Laundry, it's a short walk down the street. The hotel has a nice pool and we loved our room with the balcony that caught the afternoon sun. The outdoor fireplace is great to have a glass of wine before or after dinner. There is plenty of parking for your car. Will definately go back here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYZ-LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the North Block earlier this month and I was so taken with Yountville I couldn't think of anything negative. I was charmed when handed a glass of wine as we arrived but it ended there. Looking back I have to say that I agree with some of the negative reviews of the hotel. For $500/night the carpeting in the room was filthy and black; I was appalled that a hotel would allow anyone to live in that. Not once did the staff have a fire in the outdoor fireplace in the evenings - guests shouldn't have to ask for this, especially when a staff member is just sitting at the front desk. And the fireplace was packed full of people drinking from the restaurant and not even staying at the hotel so we couldn't take advantage of an amenity we were paying for. Real boutique hotels are gracious and willing to provide a lovely stay for their guests; we have stayed at many and have had wonderful experiences. It would behoove you to motivate your staff to provide a level service equivalent to the guests expectation. Next time I might as well stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lmfbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

For me, Yountville and the North Block Hotel were both disappointing. That's about as positive as I can be. After travelling north on the 101 for nearly five hours, we were looking forward to a truly superb Hotel and to eating in the highly acclaimed Redd Wood. We checked in on a Saturday afternoon and the receptionist was very pleasant indeed. We were offered a glass of Prosseco when we checked in and the porter who carried the cases up a long flight of stairs was very pleasant and obliging too. Our room was nice but to be frank, at that price, small, and there was no bath, only a shower. In fact, it was all a bit cramped, with a far-too-big dresser taking up much of the floor space. So, after checking in, all we wanted to relax in the sunshine with a nice glass of wine and (for me) a chilled lager, and then dinner in Richard Reddington's Redd Wood Pizzeria. The glass of wine and a bottle of beer arrived eventually, after a prompt (there wasn't a Corona in sight, only some imported beer which in truth was bordering on repulsive) but when we tried to sit in the sun, we were told that we couldn't sit at the tables outside the Restaurant because they were reserved for diners only. This was at half past four in the afternoon! We had to sit in the shade further up the courtyard, beside a fountain which was being used as a fireman's hose by a small, noisy but unidentified child who had clearly been abandoned by her mother. After several sprayings, we moved tables again. When my wife went to reserve a table in Redd Wood, she was told that the Restaurant was fully booked for that evening. Now, call me old-fashioned, but that is just pathetic. The Redd Wood, however you call it, is the Restaurant for the North Block Hotel, and if you've travelled 350 miles and you're paying over $500 for the night (excluding breakfast) then I think that you're entitled to expect to get a seat in the Restaurant for Dinner at the Hotel you're staying in. After much debate, we booked a table for the Sunday evening instead. Yountville boasts several fine restaurants including the world-renowned French Laundry (where it's only $270 per cap for the tasting menu - eh - I think not!) but it, like just about everywhere else, was fully booked or over-flowing. So we got back in the car and drove down the I-29 to the Bistro Don Giovanni, north of Napa town, which was excellent. Breakfast in the Redd Wood was ordinary and don't get caught out with the "Would you like a top up (to your fruit juice) madam?" What you get is a second (small) glass and at $6 a pop, this can become an expensive habit. North Block's swimming pool was lovely, with plenty beds and towels even if the water was the temperature of the North Atlantic. Second night, still unimpressed, we cancelled the Redd Wood reservation and instead ate at the R+D Kitchen. Excellent choice: good food and nice wines. On the plus side - don’t miss the Bouchon Bakery in Yountville: it’s permanently busy, with queues around the block but it’s absolutely fabulous with fresh baking every day. The éclairs are sumptuous. In summary, I'll be the first to admit that whereas I eat to live, my wife lives to eat, so maybe this gourmet-fashionable town isn't for me, but a Hotel is a Hotel and the North Block let us down. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Room was nice and modern. Loved the giant shower and even their special soaps and shampoos.

The bedding was nice and I loved the patio.

Walkable to everything in Yountville, but not too close where it's busy.

Front desk staff was attentive and friendly, they even gave us bottled water when we arrived and when we left.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that is not next to the restaurant as it seems like it could be noisy there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMelMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stopped in Napa during our honeymoon and spent a few nights here. This place is fantastic. After a hellish drive from San Fran, the staff immediately offered us some sparkling wine while checking in - much needed and appreciated. They showed us to our room - all which are accessed through the courtyard - and it was great. It felt like we had our own apartment. A bottle of wine and note offering congrats on the wedding were waiting for us.

The room itself was great. Clean and modern with a cute little balcony. Bathroom was fantastic with a rain shower and separate tub and his and her sinks. Bed was comfy.

The property is really nice. The courtyard has a bunch of places to sit and drink wine or just chill, including a fireplace. The restaurant on site, Reddwood, was delicious - we had breakfast and a few lunches there. The best part of all is the location - it's a short walk from amazing restaurants and fun galleries/shops. The town of Yountville is so picturesque and walking past the gardens of The French Laundry and through the little park were a treat.

The hotel set us up with a great driver from Jarrar Tours, who was so fun and knowledgeable. And the spa treatments were fantastic. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaHorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
941 reviews
8.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Address: 6757 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range: £254 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing