We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Block Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Napa Valley Lodge(Yountville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vintage House(Yountville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bardessono(Yountville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yountville(Yountville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Caymus Inn(Rutherford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napa Winery Inn(Napa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
309
65
12
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
65
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsredd woodheated floorsrainfall shower headboutique hotelnapa valleyfrench laundrybeautiful courtyardglass of winerestoration hardwarebathroom floorrooms facewine countrycomfortable beddouble sinkssmall hotelwalking distancehotel guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First, as a bit of general advice, if planning a Napa trip, you cannot pick a better location than Yountville. Aside from the superb North Block, there are several great places to stay and they are all stumbling distance from some of the best restaurants in the valley and close to many can't miss wineries. Yountville Chamber of Commerce pitch aside, on to North Block...

A quick view of the web site shows the beatiful rooms and lay out of this intimate property. The property is small (30 units?), but has very nice amenities you'd find at a larger luxury property. There is an attractive, mellow pool area, which is great for post tasting rejuvination. There is a fitness room to help a bit with the big wine/food consumption guilt, but don't expect much beyond a few dumbells and treadmills. Aside from the lovely rooms, the unique feature of the property is the interior courtyard, containing a pleasant amount of activity, fountains, and the patio area for the connected Redd Wood bar/restaurant. Definitely make time to dine, snack, or just have a coctail at Redd Wood. There are separate reviews of the restaurant, so I'll simply say their pizzas are amazing and, for a perfect pre wine tasting base, you'll love their breakfast sandwich and ricotta pancakes.

The rooms at NB are very nice and befitting the price. We stayed in one of their more basic rooms, which was perfect for us. The furnishing are attractive, the bed is super comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious with a huge tub, dual sinks, rain shower, and excellent amenities. We had limited interaction with the service personnel, but it was all friendly and professional. The only mild drawback of our room was that it was somewhat smaller than other Youtville properties. The balcony was also too small for much use. It wasn't a problem for us and didn't detract from a making NB a great choice.

In truth, there are several great choices in Yountville, including Hotel Yountville, Bardessano, Villagio, Harvest Inn, and certainly North Block. They all have unique features, and none are inexpensive, but they all serve as superb, splurge worthy places to stay in the best food and winery launching spot in the valley. North Block is a great addition fo the scene and holds up well to the best of them. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want a more quite room, ask for one further from the restaurant.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSBJGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The North Block Hotel Spa in Yountville is one of my all-time favorite boutique spas in the Napa Valley.
This hidden gem satisfies all my needs for an elegant spa experience that is an inspiring place without all the trappings and confusion of a larger spa.
From the moment you arrive you sink into relaxation, from the hotel bellman opening the entry door, to the gracious smile from the receptionist who escorts you to the spa, you are transcended into a place of sheer comfort and luxury with an attention to detail that only an intimate boutique spa can offer.
The type of therapists are of an exceptional quality which sets this place apart.
I appreciate the luxurious, yet smaller intimate environment of this spa. The décor is gorgeous and inviting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank karenjenanyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at North Block with my husband in July 2013 for 3 nights. We had just come up from a business trip in San Francisco and were meeting friends in Napa for a little wine/food adventure. Booked North Block on Jetsetter.com because they were having a sale on California hotels. I'm so glad we did because this hotel was AWESOME. The spanish villa vibe was very cool, the rooms were very clean. The courtyard was pretty, with outdoor seating and a fire pit to have some drinks next to. The pool was REALLY nice and comfortable to lounge around. The soap and body wash they had in all of the rooms from the spa smelled so good that we bought a bottle to take home (and I even reordered a bottle as a stocking stuffer for my husband). Within a short walking distance to everything in Yountville. Didn't have any meals at the hotel restaurants but we made the 10-15 minute walk to Bouchon for breakfast, and walked to Ad Hoc and French Laundry for dinner. Stopped into Girard Winery next door to do a quick tasting to kill some time one afternoon after hanging out by the pool. Great location and great hotel.

Room Tip: If you're not good with stairs, ask for a downstairs room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at North Block, Sunday through Thursday, so the rates were fairly reasonable based on the high cost of staying in Napa. The service in this hotel is excellent. Like Ritz Carlton excellent. From the champagne and apple moonshine cordials we were offered upon check in, to helping us with every need enthusiastically. Jackie, helped put together a very comprehensive 3 day wine tasting tour schedule complete with private tours, walk in tastings, lunch and dinner restaurant recommendations. She did all the work and we had 3 spectacular days in Napa. I cannot thank Jackie and the rest of the team for making our stay at North Block a 5 star experience. The only thing about our experience that was not 5 Star was the price and the snooty hotel guests you see at 5 star resorts.

The hotel has a beautiful courtyard with very new and modern rooms. The beds are so comfortable with top of the line linens. Ask for a room upstairs and a balcony facing the courtyard.

The town of Yountville is extremely charming. The hotel is within walking distance of so many restaurants, tasting rooms and shops. I cannot imagine anyone having a bad review of this hotel. I based my decision on Trip Advisor review and photos. This hotel exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with balcony facing the courtyard.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had a very peaceful and relaxing trip. The location in downtown Yountville is perfect for walking to shops, restaurants and tasting rooms in this beautiful town. The service was friendly and helpful and the pool is great too

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhunt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews