We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Block Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent destination”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a very pleasant 2 nights here and dined at the Redd Wood restaurant- both were excellent. The hotel staff was pleasant and the room and bath room were delightful to spend time in- very clean and comfortable. Easy walk to town. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Courtyard room is most charming but possibly noisier depending on events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAB3ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    57
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
233
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staying at the North Block is reminiscent to staying in a little village in Italy. The rooms here are beautiful, elegant, pristine, and charming. The beds are very, very comfortable. It won't be long before you feel as if you are visiting old friends.

The courtyard is quaint and landscaped beautifully to create a welcoming area. One of the nicest things about North Block Hotel is that you always feel welcomed and at 'home'. I love the staff that checks you in; they are welcoming, polite, knowledgeable, accommodating and delightful. The restaurant staff was also well trained. Housekeeping would also have our kudos, except that my husbands cufflinks 'disappeared'. We had 'fallen in love' with Napa, North Block and the staff and it was a moment of feeling too comfortable and safe. Fortunately, everything else of value was in the safe. We are seasoned travelers. We should know better. It wasn't as if it was left out on top of the dresser, but we failed to put it in the safe.

So go to Napa and really, we recommend that you stay at the North Block Hotel, but don't get so swept off your feet that you let your travel guard down.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a 'bad' room at the North Block Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us & so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
My staff was devastated when they heard about the missing cufflinks - hopefully they have turned up. Would you please call me at your convenience so I can get a bit more information?
My best,
Ty Accornero
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

If you're traveling to the Napa area, you will not find a better place to stay. We loved the feel of North Block as soon as we arrived. This small intimate boutique hotel comes with excellent customer service and lots of amenities. The staff was very helpful with bookings restaurants and wine tastings. Our room had a private fireplace, private balcony and large modern bathroom.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

North Block's old world charm is comforting and creates a cozy feeling in the nicely appointed outdoor areas while offering modern amenities. They attend to every detail, the staff is knowledgeable and helpful. I loved the courtyard area with beautiful succulent gardens and enjoyed sipping wine by the pool. I certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forloveofthevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed there for 6 days and this place is amazing. They treat you like family. The front desk was very helpful with setting up tours and pickups from airport using Jarrar Tours while also making sure the trolley was waiting for us. The hotel is right in town. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The spa in the hotel was great. This botique hotel has all the ammenities of a large hotel chain but service is much better.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joepa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This charming hotel is quite a find. Our room was lovely - gas fireplace, large modern bathroom with shower and great tub - comfy bed and a little balcony overlooking the pool. The staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful with suggestions of things to see and places to dine. The courtyard was well landscaped with small trees, flowers and a old world looking fountain. The best part was that if we didn't want to drive anywhere the in house restaurant was wonderful. I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are much quieter. Our friends were downstairs from us and said they could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littletexasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the North Block for 2 nights on early June. We were in an upstairs deluxe king room with a fireplace- unnecessary at that time of year. While the room was not huge it was very nice. Rooms are off of a central courtyard with fountain, trees and succulent gardens..very nice landscaping. Our room was on the second floor and was quite quiet. There was a small balcony with just enough room for two chairs and a small table. Bathroom was large enough and very nice. Staff was great- very accommodating. There us a lovely pool on site that did not seem to get much use as everyone heads out for wine tasting. Minimal room service available and no easy poolside service. Minor issues. The location in Yountville is excellent. Any number of restaurants and cafés are within easy walking distance. Free newspapers and excellent coffee available in lobby in the morning. Overall a very nice unpretentious smaller hotel. We were very pleased and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
696 reviews
8.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Property: North Block Hotel
Address: 6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing