We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic setting for excellent eco cuisine”

Lucy Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Lucy Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located at Bardessono in Yountville, Napa Valley. We offer fresh, innovative garden-inspired cuisine that embodies the Bardessono modern aesthetic and eco-spirit. Executive Chef Victor Scargle and our team, offer fresh, innovative garden-inspired cuisine that embodies the bardessono modern aesthetic and eco-spirit. Executive Chef Victor Scargle We use sustainable, organic and biodynamic products whenever possible.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Impressive hidden quiet restaurant in a vineyard-olive tree landscaped setting. It has both patio and indoor dining and has an extensive garden which provides vegetables for the excellent cuisine.

We chose the menu of the day ($45) which included 4 course - starting with a delicious gazpacho soup made with their garden produce, followed with an excellent halibut served on a bed of wild mushrooms, peans, and string beans from their garden. It was followed with a strip steak which we asked for a vegetarian option and the chef produced a delicious quinoa and vegetable entree from their garden . The dessert was a tempting banana bread pudding with carmel sauce and a scoop of banana ice cream on top.

Service was attentive, but there was a wait for food to arrive from the kitchen. The indoor dining had some good partitions for better privacy and there is a long common table in the middle
with no privacy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 764pwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross W, General Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear 764pwa,

Thank you for your kind and warm words regarding on your recent dinner experience this past Sunday. We are pleased you enjoyed the special menu that evening as well as the service and ambiance.

Our apologies for the delay in the food arriving to your table, we will work on those timing issues with our culinary team, thank you for the feedback.

It was our pleasure in taking care of you and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Lucy. Thank you for the local support.

Regards,

Ross Wheatley
Director of F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 307 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We visited Lucy for a romantic night out. Our waiter was very helpful with menu selections. The half-portions make it easier for you to experience more of the menu. The striploin steak was OUT OF THIS WORLD delicious! The lobster risotto was a treat as well.

The heirloom tomato salad with apple balsamic vinaigrette was not great -- the dressing was overpowering to everything else.

Service and attentiveness was GREAT. Would visit again and recommend to others.

Thank StephKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross W, General Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear StephKD,

We here at Lucy wanted to send you a quick email thanking you for your kind and warm words about on your recent dinner experience. We are pleased you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. The half plates has been a huge hit; we are so glad you enjoyed them.

Great to hear you enjoyed the beef strip loin, our apologies for the tomato salad, traditionally a crowd pleaser, we will pass on the comments to the Chef and his team.

It was our pleasure in taking care of you and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Lucy.

Regards,
Ross Wheatley
Director F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Unexpected in a place like this..... The service was non-existent, so I'm not sure if it was good or bad, there was simply no one waiting on us. And to have to actually wave someone down was pretty embarrasing, but they still ignored us. The food was okay, but the service really crushed this experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Freshie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross W, General Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Freshie8,

Your review was very disappointing for all of us here at Lucy to read, it's clear we failed you in a large way on your dinner experience. We apologize for the poor service or non existent service you received was clearly unacceptable and there are simply no excuses on our part.
If you have a moment please do contact me via email or my direct number below; I would like to determine the date of your dinner so we may investigate further as well as discuss the details and specific's of your experience.
As you can see from the majority of our reviews, the feedback is generally positive regarding food and service which is why your comments are particularly disappointing to myself and all of the team here.
I understand you are based in LA and therefore a repeat visit would be challenging but if you are ever back in the area, we would very much like the opportunity to make it up to you.

I look forward to hearing from you shortly,

Regards,

Ross Wheatley
Director of F&B
707.204.6037
ross.wheatley@bardessono.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A group of 6 of us were seated right away outside for our reservation. The outside area was very nice and the heat lamps kept is warm. We ordered several items to share since we all work in restaurants. The food was good, but not wow and there were a few issues with the execution of the dishes. Service was also mediocre and not as attentive as it could have been. For the price point and prestige of its location we expected more. I do have to say my favorite part was the sorbet which we finished our meal, but I would not return to Lucy's. There are much better restaurants in the area.

Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross W, General Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Christina B,

First and foremost please accept our apologies for the poor experience you encountered here recently, we are disappointed to hear the lapses in food quality and in your service. At our price point we should be superb across the board, it's clear we failed you on these respects. These are excellent points for our team to work on and improve on.
Any further details would be greatly appreciated, please do not hesitate to contact me on the email address below.
If you do decide to visit from Virgina again please do let me know; I would like to take the opportunity to redeem ourselves. I actually spent 5 years in Northern Virgina after moving from the UK and have fond memories of the area.
I look forward to your reply

Regards
Ross Wheatley
Director of F&B
ross.wheatley@bardessono.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Was in Yountville for a friend's wedding and also first time in Napa Valley. Had to make quick reservation; and not luck on a Friday night. Read reviews for Lucy Restaurant and Bar and it sounded really promising. I was dining with three other wedding guests that I did not know; dinner was recommended as a get-to-know evening. As others have noted; this restaurant is a little difficult to find; sort of behind a resort or spa or something like it, had to drive around the block to find it before I realized I had to drive somewhere in the back to find it. Once there, the outdoor seating was wonderful; so modern and beautiful. The Bradysonno speciality cocktail with the chilis was an experience, wow!!!! The wait staff were so friendly, attentive and had great recommendations; the lobster risotto was probably one of the best dishes I've ever had, tender lobster, perfectly cooked risotto (can be tricky); and amazing Baby Beet Salad and carmalized carrots were perfect accompaniments to the meal. Would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross W, General Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Jorge G,

It was wonderful to read your recent comments, it was a pleasure to see you enjoyed the service, atmosphere and the differing dishes; the lobster risotto is one of our crowd favorites.
We can be a little difficult to find but are certainly worth the wait once we are found.
We hope your wedding weekend was a success and it was a pleasure having you here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Ross Wheatley
Director of F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucy Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Lucy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing