We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast for Dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of R+D Kitchen

R+D Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Madison
Description: Local favorite in the heart of Napa Valley. Be sure to try our versions of classic American dishes like the Reubenesque Sandwich, the Chicken and Spinach Salad, and our Three-Layer Carrot Cake with toasted walnuts and mascapone icing. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast for Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were just married in Napa in May and our first night in town wanted to go out to dinner with my parents. We were at Elizabeth Spencer Winery and asked for a recommendation and they unanimously recommended R+D Kitchen.
We were able to get a reservation using OpenTable and were immediately greeted with a smile from the hostess at the door. The decor is gorgeous and we couldn't take our eyes off of the beautiful bar.
Service was great, but hands down my favorite part of the evening was the omelet I ordered for dinner. I was hesitant to order it because I had traveled to Belgium months earlier and one of my favorite memories of that trip were the omelets I had for dinner! I was afraid I wold be disappointed and it wouldn't measure up to my perfect french omelet I had in Chimay.
Luckily I was not disappointed and I was immediately transported back to my happy memories of Belgium. The omelet was served with really thick, fried toast. Toast will never be the same again for me...
My parents liked the restaurant so much they went back for lunch a few days later.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    195
    42
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch...but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to lunch at R&D in Yountville. It has a wonderful menu, a very nice ambiance....and no corkage! My only "But"......it was a beautiful day and when we asked to eat outside....and there were lots of empty tables. Our hostess said "the outside tables are for drinks only...no food allowed". I thought that was strange, so I asked why? Her reply, "I don't know, that what they told me".

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainStevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Didn't need reservations. Promptly shown to a large booth for our party of three. NO corkage fee!!! The food was outstanding and cooked to perfection. I think i was beside myself with the dessert though. Very trendy little place but not overbearing nor stuffy. Matt was very attentive. Very nice facility. Fire pits outside a nice touch. I'd go again and again. Why can't we have a place like this in Charlotte?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guamgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Wonderful Servers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

You are acknowledged the minute you walk in and you are in for a treat as the food is great. Atmosphere very nice. I had the most delicious piece of carrot cake for dessert that I am still thinking about. Good restaurant for a big feed as the portions are big!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Family_o_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
360 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lunch with Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We enjoyed an amazing lunch with friends of 25 years in Yountville. They recommended this restaurant to us. We enjoyed together a bottle of Schramsberg sparkling rose. Didn't disappoint. We also shared a dip duo. Terrific. Two of us enjoyed the Mediterranean Tuna salad with ahi tuna, mixed greens, goat cheese and cucumber. The guys had a rainbow roll and Loup de Mer. Time with friends and amazing food, made this a memorable occasion in Yountville. Rebecca, 135 our server did a great job.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shayne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed R+D Kitchen also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to R+D Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing