We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectular Tuna Tartare”
Review of R+D Kitchen

R+D Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Madison
Description: Local favorite in the heart of Napa Valley. Be sure to try our versions of classic American dishes like the Reubenesque Sandwich, the Chicken and Spinach Salad, and our Three-Layer Carrot Cake with toasted walnuts and mascapone icing. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spectular Tuna Tartare”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Was in Napa Valley, Yountville for a friend's wedding to be held at Vintage Inn. After an awesome wedding pre-party at Silverado Winery, several of us headed to R+D for dinner. Read some of the reviews and was optimistic. Wow! The Tuna Tartare was incredible! First, visually it was stunning to look at; second the Tuna was top sushi grade Tuna, so fresh and incredibly well prepared. Everyone had a great dinner, and the drinks were generous. The atmosphere was cool, the wait staff first rate. Would definitely go again, just for the Tuna Tartare, a must have.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    199
    51
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
217 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't know what to say... ”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We choose this place by the reviwes at TripAdvisor, but we're surprised (not so good).

Ok, the place is Beautifull, had outdoor fireplaces (which is very charming), the food is quite good (had a pasta that was too Spice but didn't say anything at the menu)... But what surprised us was the terrible service! Besides the waiters was all very polite, they forgot to assist us so many times that i don't know what grade should i give here...

Seriosly! Was excpecting so much about the place... Very disapointed!!! :(

Helpful?
2 Thank amelofilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious... go!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Someone from Cornerstone up the road recommended we have dinner here after our tasting for good food that was reasonably priced. Its a short walk down the main street. So happy we went, it was one of the best decisions we made during our trip! Get the tuna tartare and the chicken sandwich... delicious!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a good price.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We had to wait for a table for about 15mins but had a drink to wile away the time in the courtyard. The food menu was quite short but a nice selection, and not very pricy either. The food was delicious when it arrived promptly, and good service too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Having just opened a few weeks before we visited I could not believe how amazing the food and service was. The patio is gorgeous and the carnitas sandwich was to die for!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank erika383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed R+D Kitchen also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to R+D Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing