We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food…but not memorable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of R+D Kitchen

R+D Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Madison
Description: Local favorite in the heart of Napa Valley. Be sure to try our versions of classic American dishes like the Reubenesque Sandwich, the Chicken and Spinach Salad, and our Three-Layer Carrot Cake with toasted walnuts and mascapone icing. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food…but not memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The lighting was very dark. The service was average. The menu was not very extensive. And even though we had a reservation we had to wait nearly 30 minutes for a table.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank christina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    195
    42
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The "Go to" Resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Really good menu and food. Sushi not main focus but good choices anyway. Best on menu is the chicken sandwich on a bun. Very different and excellent. Great drinks and desserts. I think it is one of the best in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TEX49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful, low carb meal at this excellent Yountville gem. Started with fresh Sashimi and Kale salad- fresh and well made, tastes of mint and lime. Then we shared an order of deviled eggs- great! Finally we each had a protein salad- the Thai Beef Noodle Salad (minus the noodles) and the seasonal Tomato-Peach and feta salad. Each course was fresh and well portioned. The service was excellent and paced well. We will return!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hawk4sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Fantastic setting. Excellent service. Was fun. THe sushi and sashimi was to die for. The Kail and Cashew Nut salad was one of the best salads we have ever eaten. You should have seen our son's face when the most enormous ice-cream sundae was presented to him in an outsized coffee cup. Excellent.
Can't recommend highly enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gbgsypots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic and do check out R & D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Wow
Planning dinner in wine country can be tricky with sooooo many foodie choices and not being sure when your group will be ready to eat depending how tastings (and perhaps pairings) may impact the day/evening events. R&D is spacious with a large number of tables and different types of seating options (indoor, outdoor, patio high-tops, bar, etc) so sliding your reservation is rarely an issue (if you even have/need one).
Food: everything our table ordered was DE-licious!!! Deviled eggs - oh my; meatloaf or freshly ground beef burgers - so different and truly tasty (and the buns too!); carnitas sandwich - among the best ever; Thai tuna roll - wonderful (recommend over the nigiri).
Wine selection is very nice

Definitely recommend!!!
Love this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDM0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed R+D Kitchen also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to R+D Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing