We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best avoided!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Yreka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I stayed just one night at this hotel on our journey from California to Washington, which is just as well given our experience.
The hotel is quite new in appearance, in fact the carpet outside our room hand not been quite finished leaving a gap. The room itself was clean and the beds were reasonably comfortable. The real issue we had was the windows, obviously cheaply made because even though they were "closed" the cold wind blew right through them as if they were open. We called the front desk to complain, they said we couldn't be moved because the hotel was full (I very much doubt this because there were hardly any cars in the parking lot). The front desk said that they would give us a %15 discount because of our inconvenience, we were both tired after our long journey so rather than try to fight we stuffed all the towels around the window (which didn't help much) and hunkered down under the covers taking some comfort in the fact we would get a small refund.
After a mediocre breakfast we went to check out and inquired about our %15 discount, the receptionist said, "because you pre paid, there was nothing we can do by way of a discount, you should have been moved last night when you complained".
Clearly we were given the "run around" and judging by other reviews here, we were not the first. Perhaps if everyone reads this review, we might be the last?
We do not recommend this hotel and will not be staying at any Holiday Inn Express Hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aguamairna4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear aguamairna4u,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a short overnight family stay during spring break and were impressed with the property and service. The night manager was very helpful when we arrived @ 1:30am. The property was clean and well maintained. Rooms were very up to date with nicely appointed bathrooms and beds with a choice of pillows
Breakfasts are very good. Lots of choices including the pancake machine that I love @ Holiday Inn express
We will be back if we stay in Yreka again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXcoffeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This location told us we could use our reward points, just bring out card number when we arrive. Well, we got there and what do you know,couldn't use the points and we didn't get a top floor room as promised. The lady at the front desk was very unhelpful. The prices are outrageous, don't stay here, they don't care about the customers.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murdertrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Murdertrain,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel completely fulfills your expectations for a HIE. Newer property so very nice rooms for this type of hotel, good breakfast, helpful service, convenient location. Right off of I-5, so very easy to get too, although the entrance is from the back an perhaps could be signed a little better. Very clean, everywhere we were. We paid $129 for 2 queens and a pull out, so not cheapest option in all likelihood, but we generally prefer to pay a little more to get newer properties. We have stayed here twice now, and each time it was exactly what we had expected. And for this type of hotel, that is what I think most people are looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunFunFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. New, spacious rooms with comfortabl beds and great covers. Comes with precooked breakfast. Walls were a little thin (but I knew that from previous experiences). Sits up on a hill with a nice view of the city. Little store near entrance with snacks. My only complaint was the Internet (free) was spotty.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattienns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Hey, it's a Holiday Inn. No surprises, just clean spacious accomodations, a pool, workout room, and a very decent breakfast in the lobby. I'm guessing it's a a couple of cuts above most of the alternatives and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joekoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This location is just about half way between San Francisco and Eugene and is convenient to the freeway for a quick stop. The hotel is clean and the staff is always friendly. They also have a satisfactory breakfast buffet that includes an automatic pancake machine (my kids love it and the cakes are pretty good). They do not allow pets, but if you have a dog travelling in the car there is a big field next to the hotel where you can walk them and let them run.

Room Tip: Get a room on East side away from the freeway. Rooms on the first floor are very convenient. The ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simpkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yreka hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Miner's Inn
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yreka
Comfort Inn Yreka
#8 of 12 in Yreka
168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Yreka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Yreka
Rodeway Inn Yreka
#6 of 12 in Yreka
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Yreka
Econo Lodge Yreka
#7 of 12 in Yreka
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Yreka
Super 8 Yreka
#2 of 12 in Yreka
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area

Address: 707 Montague Rd, Yreka, CA 96097-9415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yreka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Yreka
Price Range: £93 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Yreka - Shasta Area Hotel Our Yreka, California hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 5 in the northeastern corner of the picturesque Shasta Valley. Breathtaking views and historic sites abound in this Northern California city.Families can enjoy staying at our Yreka hotel while they explore everything the Shasta Valley has to offer. You can chose to stay close by and visit the Yreka Historic District with shops, restaurants, statues and museums. Then, you can learn about local history at the Siskiyou County Courthouse or take a scenic drive to Mt. Ashland, Mt. Shasta and the Klamath River. You are sure to find something you love during your Yreka vacation.Business travelers who stay at our Yreka, California hotel will have convenient access to companies such as Timber Products, Etna Breweries, Siskiyou County Offices and Siskiyou County Behavioral Health Services. Our Business Center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access make our Shasta Valley hotel the perfect place for business travelers staying in the Shasta area.During your stay, enjoy a swim in the heated, indoor pool or a workout in the Fitness Center at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Yreka. You can start your day right every morning with the free hot breakfast bar featuring 100% Arabica Smart Roast coffee and our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Yreka hotel deals, and book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Yreka-Shasta Area Hotel Yreka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing