We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to enjoy friends, the river and very excellent food for the price”
Review of Riverside Grill

Riverside Grill
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Basalt
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
All over the US
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy friends, the river and very excellent food for the price”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We dined at the Riverside almost exactly a year ago and enjoyed the deck beside the river, the food and service. I did not appreciate the condition of the restroom. A group of friends invited us to join them there this year. We were a party of 12. Everyone agreed that the deck and river, food, service and prices are as excellent as before. The other good news is the restroom has been remodeled and this time was CLEAN! As you might expect, we have been back again and plan on doing so throughout the balance of the summer. A special comment concerning the service - in spite of our tying up a table for hours, there was never any hint that the servers wanted us to move on - they seemed to enjoy our group and gave us attentive service throughout our stay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyAllovertheUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    56
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Colorado doesn't have enough places like this! Great food....my wife had a delicious chicken penne pasta and I had a great gyro. But even better, it's along the riverside...so sit on the deck among the trees right along the river. If the weather's nice, it's an unbeatable location. Our lunchtime visit in June was perfect. If you're heading to or from Aspen or Glenwood Springs, this is the place to stop!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“True Colorado Experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This has to be one of the loveliest places to eat in the world. I love sitting on the wooden deck listening to the river rush by. Riverside Grill provides loner blankets in a basket if you are chilly during your meal. The food is good and plentiful, I had the sliders, yummy and plenty of food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, good value & riverside seating!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have had lunch at the Riverside Grill numerous times. Their outdoor seating along the Fryingpan River can't be beat when the weather is nice.

Like fries? Try their new truffle fries. The sweet potato fries are also delicious.
As a pescatarian - I have always enjoyed the mahi mahi sliders. I am also a fan of their veggie burger.

The food is consistently fresh, the portions are large, and the service is great.

While their wine selection won't WOW you - the pours are large!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoBlueinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Meal!! Great Atmosphere!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were in Basalt for a week of skiing and chose Riverside for our last night out. We were a little nervous after reading the last review, but our meal, service, and the atmosphere were fantastic! We sat by the fireplace in the front of the restaurant and it was very cozy. The place has a very rustic feel, not pretentious and perfect with kids. I had the grilled trout and my wife had the quinoa spinach salad. The kids had pizza and noodles with butter off the kids menu. The price was very reasonable. My trout was grilled to perfection and the sides were great. My wife's salad was cold and delicious. The kids pizza was great even though it was just cheese. Our waiter was very friendly and the service was prompt. We ate on a Tuesday night at 8:00 so it wasn't all that crowded, probably 25 people. I would recommend this place as a good all around meal and value. Similar to Outback or Longhorn but with a better view. I wish we could have sat outside, but it was cold and dark. I bet in the summer the place is awesome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rich911s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverside Grill also viewed

 

Been to Riverside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing