We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find in Basalt”
Review of Tempranillo

Tempranillo
Reserve with OpenTable
Tempranillo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Basalt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Two Rivers Road
Transit: RFTA bus stop from Aspen, Snowmass and Glenwood Springs is located less than 1 block from Tempranillo Restaurant. From the bus stop, follow Midland ave 1 block and Tempranillo Restaurant will be on the right hand side in the big yellow building.
NoVA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice find in Basalt”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stopped in Basalt for lunch on our drive from Aspen to Denver. The kids wanted to have a decent lunch instead of fast food. We just drove into town and saw this place. We all like tapas and were not disappointed. We tried the meatballs, calimari, goat cheese with carmelized onions on toast, and fried potatos. The food was good and the service efficient. Compared to the restaurant prices in Aspen this was a bargain. After a quick lunch we were back on the road.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoVAFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    44
    15
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We ate at this restaurant several times and were very impressed before. The first time we came for dinner and the food along with the service were excellent. Then we came just for tapas and were extremely impressed with the quality and service. The food came out fast and delicious! Yesterday we went there for dinner again and had a different experience. Only one waitress serving the entire restaurant was definitely not sufficient, so the service was not up to par. The food was also unimpressive. Fish was cold, chicken over-salted. We ordered 5 tapas as appetizers and 3 of them were awesome, while the other 2 were just ok. We will try this place again, to give it another shot...but that last time did not leave us wanting to come back for more

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stilwell, Kansas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What do you get when you combine great food, great wine, great atmosphere with dining outdoors and special friends? A very wonderful evening! We travel a lot and eat out often (if you follow any my reviews). Tempranillo is now in our top 10. My wife has several food allergies and they created special offerings just for her. All of the Tapas and entrees we ordered were excellent. Service was very good. The restaurant is very nicely designed and on mountain summer evenings you want sit outside overlooking their "yard". Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amfpvks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too coy with their promotions!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

so they have a 2 for one appetizer deal from 3:30 to 5 pm but what they don't tell you tilll you sit down is each individual must buy the two appetizers (pay 1 , get one free per person)...no sharing! also they have a ladies night on wednesday but it's only for single ladies sitting at the bar. i think the guest experience would be enhanced if their pricing were more transparent! like it is, i feel kind of that they are squeezing me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food, horrible service”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A friend and I had dinner at Tempranillo on a Sunday evening. We were seated on the covered patio, so I don't know how busy the restaurant was inside. We were seated immediately, and given food menus, but no wine list. Twenty minutes later, a waitress came by to take our drink order, and my friend asked for a wine list. Again, we waited. After ordering drinks and roasted almond tapas, we sat for about 45 minutes. We asked the hostess and a waiter if they knew when our almonds would arrive as we wanted them before our entrees were served. They didn't know what the holdup was. When our waitress came to the table next to ours, we asked her. She said something to the effect that the almonds were cooked to order, and we shouldn't complain because the table next to us had been waiting 45 minutes for their entrees and still didn't have them. The almonds finally arrived, and our entrees appeared shortly thereafter, before we had time to eat them. My friend had the Chicken Marsala and I had a salad. Portions were small for the price, but the food was tasty. Then our server disappeared, and we had to ask someone to find her so we could get our check. All in all, we were there for more than two hours, and it was quite late by the time we left. I felt sorry for the families who were there with small children, long past their bedtime.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tempranillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing