We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite activity in Colorado”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Horse Back Riding at Elk Point Lodge
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite activity in Colorado”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My daughter and I love to go horseback riding at Elk Point Lodge. The trails go through the forest and by Vallecito Lake and are peaceful and absolutely gorgeous. The wranglers at Elk Point (Pete and Beth) are wonderful and we enjoy spending time with them. Horseback riding at Elk Point Lodge is always the highlight of our summer vacation in Colorado.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good calm horses”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

It was a nice 30-45 min ride with friendly guides. The horses were on auto-pilot so you don't have to know how to ride. Some of the trails were steep but no where close to being unsafe or adventure filled.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank welltraveledOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best horseback riding ever!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had the best time horseback riding at Elk Point Lodge. The horses were so sweet and were so gentle with our young children. I highly recommend coming here for horseback riding and cabin rentals also.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cookiem248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Sweet horses, easy to ride-very friendly with children.”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Is there anything better than horseback riding in one of the most beautiful settings?

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Landa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful horseback morning ride and delicious pancake breakfast afterwards!”
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We had a group of six (3 moms, 3 kids 11 years old) who enjoyed a beautiful and relaxing morning horseback trip up the mountain and alongside the lake. The horses were well groomed and behaved. The trail bosses were attentive and friendly. And the mule deer were cooperative, standing still for photo ops along the trail!.
Afterwards the husbands joined us for a delicious and huge pancake, eggs, etc. breakfast lakeside.
We didn't stay at the lodge but recommend the Elk Point Lodge based on our wonderful experience with the horseback ride.

Helpful?
2 Thank balyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse Back Riding at Elk Point Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Horse Back Riding at Elk Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing