We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cabin--needs some maintenance”
Review of Pine River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine River Lodge
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for a 4 day weekend. The cabins are nice, but in need of some maintenance. The bathroom was tiny--I could brush my teeth while sitting in there or while showering. The bathroom flooring needed to be torn out and replaced--the toilet leaked onto the floor from the seal plate and coupled with the shower spray that the tiny shower curtain couldn't curtail; it made for a gross floor. The shower towels were small and threadbare besides the fact that there weren't enough of them. They do not supply you with any soap in the shower so make sure you bring your own. The kitchen is equipped with all the pots and pans you could ever use and the fireplace is wonderful! The bed was comfortable and I loved having the fireplace right there. If the bathroom got an overhaul this would be a really nice cabin! The owners are really sweet--an older lady and her daughters--they just need a handyman and a really good maid! This area is really nice, but it is remote and there isn't really much for a family to do here--vey few restaurants, no shops, no entertainment, no wireless phone service--it's suited more for a secluded weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at one of the cabins right on the lake - quiet, secluded, glorious!! Not the best choice for families with younger children (there are other cabins up near the pool and play area, and this cabin is very remote from those), but wonderful for adults. Owners were extremely friendly. Be aware, however, that the entire lake and area were ravaged by a fire (caused by a car backfire) a decade ago, and the skeletons of the pines are all around the lake. It's SO much better than it was 5 years ago, tho - aspens are growing up where the pines were, so there are signs of new life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in the The Hamilton cabin and it was perfect. It has the most amazing and comfortable wrap around porch. The views were great. The cabin accomodated all 7 of us without feeling crowded. We viewed the property online and the pictures looked nice but they are nothing compared to the reality of the cabin and lake area. This cabin exceeded all expectations. The family that owns the properties are very friendly and helpful. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The perfect place for a true vacation, peaceful, beautiful and the most wonderful hosts you will ever find ! The 1 bedroom cabin we stayed in was exactly as advertised and the views of the lake and surrounding forest were amazing. Will go back again and again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturesbest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Our family, 4 generations, has been staying at Pine River lodge since long before I was born 43 years ago. I have stayed in almost every cabin and many of them 3 or 4 times over the years. The cabins are true cabins not Vacation Homes. They are built into the mountains overlooking one of the most beautifull lakes in the United States.

The Atkinson Family that owns and runs Pine River Lodge have always treated us as family and works hard to make thier guests happy. Over the years they have added a park/playground, a pool and some new cabins.

Our most recent stay was in June of last year with the 7 members of my imediate family. We stayed in cabin #26 for the 1st time. It is set in the Pine Trees with a great view of the lake from the deck. The bedrooms are big and comfortable.

We did not fish this trip but we did horseback, ride the Durango to Silverton Train, rafted the Animas River, enjoyed the Bar D Chuckwagon and hiked 6 miles into the Weminuche Wilderness. All highly recomended

We will be back again this July with 4 generations of family. This year we plan to fish the lake, go to Mesa Verde and have a great family vacation.

This is a Gods country and everyone should go at least once.

Room Tip: Call them and let them know what you are looking for. The Atkinson's will get you in the best a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

There are three words to describe this lodge: "dirty", "rundown" and "overpriced". Please be aware of the bugs/ants in the cabins also.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sam557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We have stayed here at least three times in the past. Not only is the family EXTREMELY friendly, but they have multiple types of cabins. No matter what you are looking for, they have it! And if they don't, they are friendly enough to help you find it.

I can't say enough nice things about this Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksanchezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pine River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine River Lodge

Address: 14443 County Road 501, Bayfield, CO 81122-8709
Region: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit our family friendly lodge located outside of Durango overlooking beautiful Vallecito Lake. All of our cabins have full kitchens, air conditioning, basic satellite TV, outdoor patio furniture and fire pits. The kids will enjoy our large playground and heated indoor pool. At the Lake enjoy fishing, boat rentals, horse back riding, ATV rentals, 4 wheeling & hiking. With four restaurants available for dining you won't have to cook unless you want too! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing