We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bravo Beave!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charter at Beaver Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charter at Beaver Creek
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bravo Beave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

Our family of three stayed in a one bedroom condo in the Charter in early December, 2007. We found the place exceptional and Beaver Creek just the best ski resort we've ever been to.

The condo was very well appointed, clean, comfortable, spacious and had a view across the valley and into the Rockies to die for (see picture). The staff were courteous and helpful and the daily maid service was discreet and efficient. The Charter is exteremely well situated and while we could have skied in/out we chose to take the shuttle to/from the village and lift bottom station. We never waited more than a few minutes for the shuttle. There is convenient parking provided under the hotel.

Having the Charter Sports ski rental shop on the premises was a bonus, we found the staff there very professional and helpful too (hi Patrick!). We were very satisfied with the gear (skis/poles/boots) we rented.

We could write a book about the Beaver Creek village/lifts/terrain etc etc, suffice to say with a 4000 ft vertical drop from top station and perfectly groomed slopes it was just excellent. No waiting in lines! Great food and drink around bottom station and on the mountain. Lovely alpine village 'feel' you don't get in many resorts.

Finally, the dollars. Our condo was a reasonable price being early in the season, this was not the case a few weeks later when it became VERY expensive. We ate in the traMonti Restaurant just once, it was quite pricey but worth the experience, they have a quite incredible (award winning) wine list. There are many reasonably priced restaurants within ten minutes of the hotel, we went out every night in our 4WD rental in some horrendous weather, however the roads were kept clear.

We'll go back to the Charter at Beaver Creek!

  • Liked — comfort levels, cleanliness, staff, position, position, position
  • Disliked — price later in the season(but not while we were there!)
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Cornucopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    95
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
176
69
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somewhere far from tahoe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2007

First of all when we arrived they had no reservations in our` name. However they did accomadate us in our lodge room with 2 beds --did not look anything like the rooms in any pictures. It was very out of date with tacky posters on the walls. Although it was very clean. We could view the condos which were very nice granite t\\ but I could not say that about our room. If you want to stay in the condos then I would say go for it however if you get stuck in the lodge room then good luck, very cramped and also service is not that great in the lodge rooms. Never got extra soap and maid services arrives about the time you get off the mountain. But you may have a great experices I beleive this place has great potential if you book a condo. Always we were there at a busy time right before Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

We just stayed at The Charter for 4 nights and would highly recommend. It is just beautiful....very well appointed, super clean even by my standards. AAA rates this a 3-diamond facility...they have never been more wrong. A few reviews said it was difficult to navigate the hotel, but we didn't find that at all. There are signs on walls and in the elevator so everything is easy to find. Very nice staff, everything was excellent!!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank sandytampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2007

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Charter. Though we considered some of the "fancier" hotels in the area, it was much cheaper to stay in a 1BR condo here and we did not regret our decision one bit. The condo we stayed in was very nicely decorated, kitchen and bathrooms were up to date with robes, coffee maker, microwave, w/d, dishwasher. There was a small balcony and not much of a view but we traded that in order to not be in the hot sun during the day (no AC at this resort -- though it was definitely cool enough at night, at least in august). The resort is really not that confusing, though it is big with different attached buildings. The pool area was nice as well. Everyone -- including the free and very prompt valet service! -- was very nice.

The one low point for us was the spa -- very average experience there and a bit pricey for what it was...the spa at the Ritz was only slightly more pricey and looked amazing and well worth an extra drive over there. Or the Park Hyatt spa is also supposed to be good and may be worth the brief walk.

Recommended during your stay: Vail Pass bike ride (goes all downhill/flat for 25+ miles and beautiful the whole way), Shrine Ridge trail, Sweet Basil in Vail for dinner. There is a City Market in Avon to get groceries, etc.

  • Liked — quality of condo and furnishings, great staff
  • Disliked — spa was sort of a rip-off in the end
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank otraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2007

Our family of four just got back from the Charter at Beaver Creek two days ago. I can't find one negative thing to say about this resort. It was perfect. Very clean and well taken care of overall. It is within a 5 minute walk to the center of the village. A little confusing finding your way at first, but after a day we had it down to a science. We were travelling with our two children (ages 8 and 11) and stayed in a one bedroom/2 bath condo. We were on the ground floor which turned out to be a perfect place for us because we just walked out our back door and walked directly out to the pool and walking paths. There was also the creek running right past our room so we heard this wonderful sound everyday and just sat outside and listened while our kids played football in the grass. Every condo is decorated differently b/c they are privately owned. Ours has granite in the kitchen, new carpeting, a stone gas fireplace and very nice bathrooms. It had a king bed in the master and a queen pull-out sofa in the den area. We had two TV's so there was never a problem with the kids. It was decorated very nicely. Our condo number was 5010. The only thing I would tell people staying at the Charter is that they do not have air conditioning in the condos. Not a problem in the winter, but if it is hot in the summer, you might want to know that. The weather for us was nice at night, so this wasn't a problem and we were never around during the day. Down the path was a playground for little ones and a BBQ you can use. There is a small game room at the resort as well. You can park underground at no charge which is so unusual and they have free internet access at no charge as well.

Everyone who worked at The Charter was very friendly and helpful as well. Renee at the concierge's desk was also really knowledgeable. We went on a whitewater rafting trip that was amazing (Nova Tours). We went on the Vail Pass Bike Tour which was also amazing and we went on a Jeep tour with Wolf Jeep Tours. Wolf was a really nice guy and was so knowledgeable about the surroundings. I would recommend the Vail Farmer's Market and the Alpine Slide in Breckenridge.

As far as restaurants go, we didn't really go out to any fancy places with the kids, but we loved the Gore Range Brewery in Edwards.

We can't wait to go back and I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone I know!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BZSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, illinois (Chicago area)
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

This is a quality resort! Clean, helpful staff, great location with great views. NO problems with getting used to hotel layout I've read about in other reviews. You can self park in underground parking garage at no cost. Outdoor pool is great, indoor pool is poor, but they are renovating both this fall. Did not eat at restaurants as we had condo with full kitchen amenities. I suggest buying food for lunches and going to Avon, Vail or Edwards for great restaurants. Very luxurious area, so expect to pay alot in Beaver Creek stores/restaurants. Avon and Edwards are cheaper.

For summertime activities, I recommned the Lakota whiteater rafting trip, and the bike trip down Vail mountain through Charter Sports. Also, check out the Glernwood Hot Springs.

I recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grozgroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2007

We just returned from a week at the Charter and it was a wonderful place for a vacation. There were four couples and we all had a great experience there. The check in was smooth, valet parking or self parking was easy and ski rental was smooth. The lack of snow and warm weather were the only negatives. Our condo and lockoff had been updated and was very comfortable. The place is large and it does help to make sure you pay attention to where you are going or you will get lost. We ate the breakfast in the restaurant one morning and it had a good selection but it was much less expensive to eat in our rooms. We all loved the Spa Struck and enjoyed the amenities there. All in all, a great vacation.

  • Liked — Rooms and amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
0.2 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#6 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 7 in Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
7.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charter at Beaver Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charter at Beaver Creek

Property: The Charter at Beaver Creek
Address: 120 Offerson Rd., Beaver Creek Resort, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Spa Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charter at Beaver Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A European-style lodge and condominium property in the heart of Beaver Creek with the services of a fine hotel. Ski-in/ski-out or complimentary shuttle to the lifts, Featuring lodge rooms and one to five bedroom condominiums with wood-burning fireplaces, a full service spa, health club, indoor and outdoor pools hot tubs, and two restaurants. Managed by Wyndham Vacation Rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Charter at Beaver Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charter At Beaver Creek Hotel Beaver Creek
Charter Beaver Creek
The Charter Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing