We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Charter is a Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charter at Beaver Creek
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“The Charter is a Good Choice”
Reviewed 18 March 2006

We booked at the Charter for three nights over their busiest time of year - Spring Break and were not disappointed. Having stayed at the Hyatt and the Inn at Beaver Creek in the past, I was curious to try the Charter. Though not as close as the previously mentioned hotels to the main lift (Centennial) or the Village, the Charter has it's advantages 1. It's less expensive than the other places; 2. It is sooo close to the Elkhorn Lift, you practically can roll out of bed and be on that lift in minutes (the morning I tried it; I was the ONLY person using the lift!) 3. The restaurant is very good, and there is an on-site ski shop and wonderful spa; 4. The Shuttle runs all the time and takes you right to Centennial or Strawberry Park lifts in minutes. If you skip the shuttle, you can walk to the village in a few minutes.

The disadvantages? We had to report several maintenance issues, a leaky shower head and TV remote with dead batteries, but those were painless issues. The breakfast buffet is mediocre and pricey, but then we found out there are NO breakfast places in the whole village anyway. Even a couple muffins and coffee at the Starbucks in the Village will run you $14, so the cold buffet at $6-7 isn't so bad.

We went over to Bachelor Gulch via the Elkhorn Lift and had lunch at the new RITZ CARLTON and got a taste of what it would be like to stay there at double the price of the Charter. For a really big splurge, book a dinner at Beano's Cabin. It was amazing! We'd go back again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    95
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
177
69
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2006

The Charter at Beaver Creek is a fantastic base to explore the great skiing offered by both Beaver Creek and its sister resort Vail, just 10 miles east. In early april we were able to ski from our lounge door 75yards to the Elkhorn ski lift and then back home again at the end of the day. The accommodation in The Charter is first class and very homely. The fully equipped kitchen allowing us to eat rather cheaply than the over - priced local restaurants. For better value visit either the local town of Avon or better still Edwards where the locals favourite "The Gashouse " is a great and authentic eatery.
The service was at all times impecable and most knowledgeable I would highly recommend it to anyone but particularly families.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank Hollers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2005

We visited Beaver Creek on August 24-26 and found our stay at the Charter to be very enjoyable. We weren't expecting Ritz-Carlton and didn't pay Ritz-Carlton prices either. Our one-bedroom condo was very clean and updated. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. The outdoor pool and spa were excellent, as were the health club facilities. Charter Sports, located within the Charter, provided great advice for hiking, biking, and ATV tours - they made our experience in Beaver Creek all the better. We'll be back and will be staying again at the Charter!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Four_Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2005

We visited Beaver Creek for the first time July 16-24, 2005. The area is beautiful of course and we had a lot of fun! It's pricey, but we expected that. Suggest you don't go unless you are really into outdoor activities. Not much to do otherwise in the summer. Natives are a little snooty, but it kind of comes with the price. You may not like it if you are republican or conservative. Middle aged and older? Take it easy the first few days - you'll be winded due to the altitude (8,000 - 9,000 ft ASL). The restaurants are Ok - but not the caliber we expected - some are closed in the summer. Services in the summer are few and far between and expensive. What you'll pay $50 for in a short supply of groceries at a condo back east, you'll have to pay $100 for in Beaver Creek. 80% of services you'll go to nearby Avon, CO for. The Charter is nice, but is mostly no-frills. They tried to stick us with the condo near the laundry before we complained. Funny - another review on Trip Advisor also warned about this practice and after we had been there a few days, we passed a family who they were trying to stick that condo with ! ;) Finally after many complaints, we were moved to our third condo in the complex that was nice. The place is clean and has good housekeeping, but the condos have many fixutres etc that are broken or have to be fixed, like a running toliet or inoperable ceiling fan. If you are used to Ritz-Carlton or other upscale hotel like us, go there because they are nearby. We had to complain more than we normally would at the Charter. The concierge was likewise, mediocre. We enjoyed the pool and highly recommend Grouse Mountain Grill (Wonderful food, atmosphere and dining experience!!). The Lakota off-road Hummer experience is good and other side trips are pretty readily available, but expensive. Bring your bank and plan ahead! Tennis court facilities were great. Climate superb even though at peak of temperatures period. We'd recommend it, but there's other places to go - might try it in the winter.

Helpful?
8 Thank FussyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2005

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with another couple over this past weekend. The space was very clean and comfortable. You are right next to all of the shopping and restaurants in Beaver Creek, which is quite nice! I would highly recommend to a family, as the kitchen is modern, clean, and spacious! I would definitely stay there again.

The only negative is that the numbering of the rooms and the layout is extremely confusing. I have no idea what the owners were thinking!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisabnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaver Creek hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Beaver Creek
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
2.0 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#5 of 9 in Avon
588 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charter at Beaver Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charter at Beaver Creek

Property: The Charter at Beaver Creek
Address: 120 Offerson Rd., Beaver Creek Resort, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Spa Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charter at Beaver Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A European-style lodge and condominium property in the heart of Beaver Creek with the services of a fine hotel. Ski-in/ski-out or complimentary shuttle to the lifts, Featuring lodge rooms and one to five bedroom condominiums with wood-burning fireplaces, a full service spa, health club, indoor and outdoor pools hot tubs, and two restaurants. Managed by Wyndham Vacation Rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charter at Beaver Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charter At Beaver Creek Hotel Beaver Creek
Charter Beaver Creek
The Charter Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing