We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Charter at Beaver Creek
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaver Creek Village(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beaver Creek Lodge(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bachelor Gulch Condos(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
229
102
33
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
102
33
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom condoblack diamond bistroshort walkwood burning fireplacedecorated differentlyindoor poolski clubfull kitchenwedding partywasher and dryerelkhorn liftgreat spadaily maid servicebell staffshuttle bussmall balconyking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2007

This is a quality resort! Clean, helpful staff, great location with great views. NO problems with getting used to hotel layout I've read about in other reviews. You can self park in underground parking garage at no cost. Outdoor pool is great, indoor pool is poor, but they are renovating both this fall. Did not eat at restaurants as we had condo with full kitchen amenities. I suggest buying food for lunches and going to Avon, Vail or Edwards for great restaurants. Very luxurious area, so expect to pay alot in Beaver Creek stores/restaurants. Avon and Edwards are cheaper.

For summertime activities, I recommned the Lakota whiteater rafting trip, and the bike trip down Vail mountain through Charter Sports. Also, check out the Glernwood Hot Springs.

I recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grozgroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2007

We just returned from a week at the Charter and it was a wonderful place for a vacation. There were four couples and we all had a great experience there. The check in was smooth, valet parking or self parking was easy and ski rental was smooth. The lack of snow and warm weather were the only negatives. Our condo and lockoff had been updated and was very comfortable. The place is large and it does help to make sure you pay attention to where you are going or you will get lost. We ate the breakfast in the restaurant one morning and it had a good selection but it was much less expensive to eat in our rooms. We all loved the Spa Struck and enjoyed the amenities there. All in all, a great vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jessie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2007

We would absolutely recommend the Charter whether you are travelling as a couple, group, and particularly if you are with kids (young to teenage). Our group of five (incl three 17 year olds) loved #1440 at The Charter. The best part of this top-floor condo was the GORGEOUS, INCREDIBLE morning-noon-night views of the slopes and the natural beauty of this area from the cathedral sized window in the living room. While there were three tvs and dvd set up -- I preferred to just turn off the lights and look at the awesome view. The Charter has great proximity (but then our impression is that most all Beaver Creek lodging is as convenient). While the Charter has a chairlift within a short walk out the back, we much preferred going out the lobby, picking up our skis at the front door ski valet (this was a first for us on any ski trip), and hopping into the Charter's small bus. The friendly driver would take your skis, mount them on the outside of the bus, and all you had to do was to hop on. In less than five minutes you were at the main high-speed chairlift, the Centennial. There is always easy transportation to the condo for midday breaks...but we loved staying up on the mountain to enjoy the mid-mountain Saddle Lodge's hot chocolate and great cheeseburgers. At the end of a full day of skiing, we loved coming back to our cozy condo (with fireplace). The kitchen is extremely well-equipped -- each day we had a big morning breakfast in the condo (saved money). At the end of the ski day we were all hungry so that's where the snack food (and the Charter's nice complimentary bottle of Chardonnay) comes in. As a heads up you'll probably be too tired to start cooking dinner, I was. The beds were all very comfortable with nice linens. The master (smaller room but has a king) had a three-door leaded, beveled glass entrance onto a small balcony. I have to say that the view from bed in the early morning was so beautiful. One other really neat aspect of this #1440 at the Charter was that it was at the "village end" of this long Charter multi-building complex which meant that it was a very short walk to the village where we'd recommend eating at the BLUE MOOSE and/or the DUSTY BOOT. Both locations are casual and have great food, cold beers, and nice choices of wine. Don't leave Beaver Creek without purchasing your Blue Moose t-shirt as our teens have enjoyed wearing them here in Houston. We had a fun evening of dinner & a movie in Edwards just a 20-minute drive away--quaint area full of shops and a tiny old-fashioned movie theater showing current movies. Another night we drove into Avon less than five minutes away to enjoy a good Chinese meal at Panda Garden or Panda City (close to the Outback Steakhouse). On our final day, we drove to Vail to walk around, ate at the Red Lion Inn (awesome burgers and chili), and had fun checking out the shopes in Vail. Our impression was that Beaver Creek's ski layout was more beautiful, less crowded, less shops, and had a "kinder" approach down to the main chairlift. If you are looking for a winter wonderland, gorgeous alpine village, and comfortable condo accomodations --- you must go to the Charter (ask for #1440 -- or at least get a top floor unit facing slope-side). We had tons of snow, no lift lines, and no accidents for our skiiers and snowboarder! This is the perfect ski destination and The Charter is a good value for this premium location.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MakingMoreMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2006

We went there to ski early in the season and got a good deal here. It's hard to go wrong in Beaver Creek, all the places I've stayed were pretty nice.

We stayed in the hotel part, but they have condos as well. We were greeted upon arrival by 3 different people as we went to check in, check in was quick and easy. We self parked in the gargage, but I imagine most peope use the valet. The room was nice, like a typical hotel room but with a refrigerator, maybe a little bigger, old tv, nice bed, Aveda products in the bathroom. Also, a complementary bottle of wine and wine charms were left in the room for us, nice touch.

The pool in the spa area was nice and clean with plenty of towels, we had the outside hottub to ourselves b/c we went around 9pm. We tried to go after skiing and it was really crowded with couples and families and lots of kids, but it cleared out pretty early. Inside pool and hottub seemed nicer for families, bigger. The room comes with robes and tumblers for bringing a beverage to the pool.

When the elkhorn lift is running this is technically ski in-ski out but the building is very large and depending on what side you are on it may be easier to take the shuttle. Shuttle ran a lot, we never waited more than 5 minutes. At night we walked to the village in about 5 minutes, but you could also take the shuttle. I will go back to the charter this season.

The only downside is the building is very confusing with floors and elevators that never made sense to me. Somehow we had to go up in the elevator to get to our car in the parking garage and the lobby even though we seemed to be on the 3rd floor from looking out our window, I guess b/c the whole place is on the side of a mountian. All of the floors were labeled with letter instead of numbers, so it was hard to figure out whether you needed to go up or down.

For lunch while skiing on a sunny day, sit outside at the Chophouse at the base of the mountian. Very good food for lunch at the same prices as lunch on the mountain, but really good food. The restaurants at Beaver Creek were pricey, I think even more than Vail. It is worth it to go to the better (fancier and pricier) restaurants because you will get better food without paying much more, the more causual places were not that good and almost as expensive. The Coyote was good for a quick casual dinner or lunch though.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

We stayed here during March of 2006 for about a week.

Check-in was smooth but the building is like a maze with lots (and I mean lots, inside and outside!) of stairs and a few elevators. It took us a little while to understand where we were going. The only elevator going to our floor was broken down that day so the porter and my husband had to carry the bags all the way up. This elevator broke down a few times during our stay which was a little annoying because we had to carry our son up and down the stairs. Having said so, our room was closest to the slopes, making it very convenient so we didn't complain much.

Our room was a little dark, positioned on a side that doesn't get much sunlight but the interior was very clean and decent. There was a fireplace but we didn't use it. Still, the place was very warm and comfy. Since we have a toddler who drinks milk on demand, we needed a hotel with at least a fridge and preferably a microwave. This hotel had a full sized kitchen with dishwasher, all the necessary equipments, plates, cups and cutlery. Even a washer/dryer.

By the way, their shampoos and soaps are from Aveda, and the rosemary shampoo was one of the most refreshing things we ever tried after a long tiresome day on the slopes.

I had altitude sickness that lingered on so I ended up not skiing much. Still there was a lot to do with a child since there was a playground in the back (don't know if it belongs to The Charter) and a tiny slope where the kids can just roll around in the snow. They also have an indoor pool and 2 Jacuzzis (1 indoor and 1 outdoor) where I spent most of my time. They had spaghetti floats the kids could play with. Unfortunately, since there is no lifeguard, some teenagers were running wild without supervision.

The town center is less than 5 minutes away by foot. The hotel does have a courtesy shuttle bus but unless you have skis that you don't want to carry around, walking is much quicker since the bus never seems to come.

Both the DVD player and the CD player were broken down in our room so we asked to have them fixed. Someone came and looked and said he was going to have someone else come over because his shift was over. Nobody came. We asked the hotel repeatedly to fix or exchange them but it didn't happen during our stay. We made our complaint upon check out when the receptionist asked how we liked our stay, and the receptionist was very courteous, apologized and took a few dollars off our bill.

Most of the guests there seemed to be families which made total sense since there are rooms with 2 -3 bedrooms (ours was a 1 bedroom). They didn't have any kids' events but the do have a game room and 3 or 4 courtesy computers with internet access that the kids were infatuated with.

The spa here was nothing to write home about. I liked the spa at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa far better with its range of offerings and beautiful facility.

Overall we had a very pleasant experience at this hotel. There were a few glitches, but it was something that we could overlook. My son loved the freebie breakfast granola bar that was offered near the entrance. I am embarrassed to say I think we took an obscene amount of them.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rosanjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews