We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Borders Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Borders Lodge
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Borders Lodge this past weekend. I have to say the Borders Lodge was a terrific place to stay. The manager, Ryan, went out of way to accommodate us and was excellent to deal with. The unit itself was great, and the location with the easy ski in and out access was perfect. There is a ski locker room where you can leave your equipment and change into your boots, then head right out the door, and onto the lift just yards away. When you return, just ski right up to the door. Nice, warm pool and hot tub, and they provide bath robes which are a nice touch. Our last day even though we checked out and skied only a half day, we were able to change and take a shower in the locker room. On top of that, the staff at the Lodge, particularly Brian, could not have been more helpful and friendly. Overall, it was really a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyhl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Me: Avid traveler. Avid Skier. Discriminating taste. First time visiting Beaver Creek.

Although the condos were all sold out, we were able to check in early (like 4 hours early). The staff was exceptionally helpful over the duration of our stay. We did our research and, honestly, were a bit worried about the type of condo we would wind up with for a 5 night vacation. Upon entering the condo we were blown away at the level of polish, cozy but high end finishes, the level of furnishings (including cookware, plates, variety of glasses, LCD TVs, etc.), and, of course, the view.

I understand that these are individually owned condos and others may have had worse luck then we but the niceness of the suite really made our trip. You could tell that this was a place where a family spends their time and enjoys their own vacations when not renting out to others. There were a few board games and even a book or two in the TV console.

Squashing a few rumors, the location of The Borders Lodge relative to BC Village is not too far of a walk. My fiancé and I are in our early thirties as were the other couple accompanying us on this trip. Although a slight uphill grade when walking from the lodge to Village for breakfast (none onsite) or lift tickets, it was not enough to make us think twice about taking the shuttle. We did see several people waiting for the shuttle so it does come by regularly but we never used it and found the walk pleasant.

The location of The Borders Lodge for skiing purposes was fantastic. Walk down the hall to the ski lockers holding all of your gear, strap in, and cruise 20 yards to the Elkhorn Lift. Tip: Lift tickets are not checked here (ever) so you can then ride over to either Bachelor's Gulch or Beaver Creek base to purchase lift tickets. I would suggest Bachelor's Gulch for a drink at the Ritz Carlton and a quick jaunt inside instead of having to unbuckle all of your gear and take an escalator down to the purchase counter in Beaver Creek Village. At the end of the day you can either follow the Elkhorn Lift down or, if you are enjoying après ski drinks at The Chop House, you can traverse over (most of it is downhill) and wind up right by the ski lockers. Likewise, you can ski through town and end up directly across the street (i.e., across Village Road) from the Borders and simply walk up the driveway. We found any of these solutions extremely convenient.

Master Bedroom. King bed. LCD TV with DVD player and Cable. Large closet with additional blankets. Direct access to outdoor balcony. Ample storage area and coat hangers. Working lamps and large wall mirror. Perfect.

Second Bedroom. I would have posted pictures of this but was not allowed enough slots by Trip Advisor! When booking via Hotels.com I requested the 2 bedroom with a king bed and then a queen bed but, when checking in, we received the suite with a king bed and two twin beds pushed together to make a king. Upon inquiry I was informed that the suite we wound up in was finished out much nicer with better views. Additionally, just about 100% of the condos have the two twin bed set-up to increase the heads accommodated and pushing them together is very common when 2 couples are traveling. Our counterparts had no complaints on this arrangement. They had their own full bathroom which was also accessible from the main living area. The closet space here was diminished by a stackable washer/ dryer combo, which was not used but nice to have onsite. This room also housed an LCD TV with DVD player and cable.

Positives: Free coffee, tea, and water with paper to-go cups and lids available in the lobby throughout the day along with snack bars to take on the mountain with you. There is always a fire in the fireplace in the lobby to provide a warm feel. The hot tub and pool were both very warm and the walkways to them were heated so you don't have to worry about running through snow to get to the tub. There is free garage parking onsite with elevator access free wireless internet which was a tad but slow. No major complaints though. Any of the front desk agents also served as concierges and ready, willing, and able to answer all of our questions and make appropriate suggestions. The gas fireplace in the living room got a workout over our stay and was a very nice touch. Also, small details like a sock/ shoe warmer in the closet were nice.

Negatives: none of the dehumidifiers worked and, although management was happy to bring us new ones, it was unfortunate that not one out of 6 worked. Management was happy to replace a light bulb when informed one was out.

Beaver Creek Tips: If renting, head to Sports Authority down the hill for $20/ day rentals ($40/ day if demos) and usually whatever you left at home is on sale. Christy's Sports is usually overpriced. There is an in-town (BC Village) liquor store and small grocery located around the ice rink if you want to stock the condo up with necessities. Although no breakfast served onsite, there are several great spots around the base you can quickly grab something for a quick bite or a nice breakfast if you prefer.

Everything in my rating received a rating of Excellent except for the following and here's why: Value: It is very good for Beaver Creek but, as mentioned by others, Beaver Creek is expensive. I've skied Aspen and think I prefer Beaver Creek for the money.
Sleep Quality: The beds were very comfortable and there were no sound issues but this section receives a less than perfect score due to the humidifiers not working properly.
Location: Again, perfect for us but there are places closer to the Village (more expensive though) which may better suit other travelers (older or with children possibly).

Overall, none of the downfalls surpassed the upsides for us and we will surely take a long hard look at booking at the Borders again next season at our new favorite mountain in Colorado.

Happy Travels from Austin, TX!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Loved Borders Lodge - great location, ski out on Elk Lift or a couple of minutes walk to the Village. We were pleasantly surprised at what a fabulous location this complex has within the Village of Beaver Creek. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Borders. Brian on the front desk provided outstanding service - shame the snow wasn't better!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingVirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We loved the Border's Lodge. It was very convenient, the ski-in, ski-out feature was great and the kids loved playing in the snow behind the building after the lift has closed. Great staff too.

Room Tip: In Ski season, ask for an odd numbered room which are on the lift/mountain side of the building. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrozenMargNoSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

After make a reservation, our group shows up at 4pm. Told we would be in our unit by 6pm. Not in the unit until 8:30 pm. Not happy with how the management communicated with our group. Location is not great to the village.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Our extended family of 7 (3 adults, 4 kids ages 9-14) had a wonderful skiing and lodging experience at Borders lodge. We had a "budget" 3 bedroom/2.5 bath condo in Upper Borders with a great view of the Elkhorn lift. The decor & furniture were fine by my Houston, Taos & Durango standards, with a large flatscreen TV and DVD player in the dining room, functional kitchen with plenty of cooking, flat, drinking, and dinnerware, and spacious closets & bathrooms. We ate all of our breakfasts and lunches in the room, plus cooked two out of our four dinners. You get a private ski locker on the ground floor, and it was a short quick ski run to the lift. If you have novice skiiers it will be difficult for them to ski down to the lift from upper borders as well as ski in from the green run leading the the lodge (it gets icy and a little steep by the lodge). Also, since it was early in the season, several green runs in the Bachelor Gulch & Strawberry lift areas were closed, so we had to take some blue runs to get to the Centennial area. My beginner teenage snowboarding son used the excellent free shuttle system to go to ski school and hang out in the Centennial/Cinch/Drink of water areas. We appreciated the daily snow & grooming reports, tea, hot chocolate, granola bars, and coffee, in the lobby. Daily housekeeping is included.We will visiting two other BCV properties this ski season, but would definitely stay here again since the value is so great!

Room Tip: lower borders is closer to the lift and easier to ski itno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I chose this Condo from the Vacation Rental By Owners. I had read some reviews on this site prior to booking the reservation. I chose this property because of the location and price. The condo was perfect had everything we needed. The location is awesome and so is the view. There was a lift right outside our door. The lobby is so warm and inviting with freshed baked cookies , coffee , and other hot drinks .The Front Desk Staff are great especially the GM Ryan , he helped my son get his gaming system set up in our room! We would definitely stay at the Borders again....we loved it. A fantastic place to spend Christmas 2011.

Room Tip: We liked the first floor with a view of the slope and lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaver Creek hotels
0.3 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Beaver Creek
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#10 of 18 in Beaver Creek
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
537 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borders Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borders Lodge

Property: Borders Lodge
Address: 1120 Village Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Borders Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borders Lodge in Beaver Creek Colorado is a limited service 79 room condotel. Conveniently ski in/out via chair 14/Elkhorn lift, relaxing heated outdoor pool, (2) hot tubs, (2) fitness rooms and front desk open daily. Enjoy complimentary morning coffee bar and apres ski hot chocolate & snacks--in winter. Summer guests enjoy complimentary iced tea poolside. On resort shuttle route and serviced in by Dial A Ride (free), 10 minute walk to Beaver Creek Village restaurants, ice rink and ski school. Families love us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Borders Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borders Hotel Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing