We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and good BBQ”
Review of Spruce Saddle

Spruce Saddle
Ranked #35 of 85 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A fun spot to lunch in the summer at Beaver Creek. We enjoyed our beautiful ride up/down in the chairlift and we all arrived hungry after a long hike. We were thrilled to find yummy BBQ, turkey burgers, sweet potato tater tots and big brownies waiting for us on top of the mountain. What a treat with nice staff in the buffet line, to boot. Only drawback the day we visited was the wind- it blew our napkins around but did not affect our lovely and casual dining experience up there. The price is a little rich as you have to buy lift tickets to go there but you can get a combo ticket to buy lunch as well. Worth a visit in the summertime to enjoy the amazing mountain scenery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Merebarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for your Very Positive Review!

The Views are great from 10,200 Feet above Sea Level & and we Strive to serve Tasty and High Quality Food.

Inside Tip: If you make the Hike all the Way to Spruce Saddle, you get a Free Lift Ride to the Bottom.

Please Come and Visit us again in the winter or summer.

Thanks,

Chad Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Great location while skiing on top of the mountain. Like most places, try to eat early or after lunch rush - layout is a bit weird and hard to get around. Great selection of food items to satisfy everyone. Avoid salad bar!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wvuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you for your Review.

We have a Great Variety of High Quality of Food Items, Ranging from Lobster Tacos to Fresh Hand Rolled Sushi. The Salad Bar has received wonderful feedback this year for both Variety and Quality. We are sorry that you were Disappointed with the Salad Bar. We would like to hear your Feedback, Please Stop in and Find Myself or another Manager and we would be happy to discuss how we can improve that Station.

Thank you for taking the time to Post a Review and we look forward to you dining with us again.

Thanks,

Chad Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Go to Johnny @ the watering hole for amazing drinks (try the "big kids hot cocoa") and entertaining stories!! Best bartender in Beaver Creek!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Charlotte,

Thanks for your Great Review of the Watering Hole Staff! Our Bar-tending Crew Strives to give Great Guest Service and Make Everyone feel Welcome. Please Come back and visit us again soon.

Nice Job John!

Sincerely,

Chad Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Overall, the Spruce Saddle was mediocre at best. Although the decor was fine, and the service was great, it was hard to find anything special with the food. 5 pieces of dry chicken bathed in cheap rice and coupled with a bag of chips will set you back 20 dollars (drink not included). The food was cold, and I had to wait quite a long time to access a microwave (there was only one in sight). I find this very unsettling, especially since restaurants nearby offered much better food for half the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kibblerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for your Review of Spruce Saddle Lodge.

We are sorry that you did not find the Food up to our High Standards. We would be like to give you a Refund or the Opportunity to try it again. Please make sure to ask one of the Cashiers for a Manager, we are always willing to make everyone happy.

We are pleased that you found that the Service Was Great Please come back and Try us again.

Thanks,

Chad Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Ate here twice in one week. First time, was just bad timing, not in the lines but upstairs trying to find a place to sit, all the ski school kids and their instructors were there, but surprisingly all those kids were excellent. The food, the turkey and white bean green chili with awesome served with two rolls, my son got the burger, didnt' disappoint, my daughter the 1/2 pizza and my husband the normal pizza, all were happy with their meals. The 2nd time i had the Chicken and dumpling soup, so hardy and fresh, my son the broccoli potato soup in a bread bowl, my daughter the chicken fingers and fries and my husband the turkey chilli. At the exit of the registers, they hand out hershey kisses, so it's nice to have a hearty meal after skiing all morning then finish it off with a small piece of candy. Great food. Huge salad bar, they had panini's and they had pasta and chinese noodles too. Tons to choose from, it was a good choice.

Thank 46oceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank You!

We appreciate the feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your Meals on both visits. Please come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,

Chad Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spruce Saddle also viewed

 

Been to Spruce Saddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing