We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
177
40
16
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
40
16
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lockers outdoor hot tub bedroom condo beautiful lobby hot chocolate ice skating three bedroom fantastic location full kitchen centennial lift front desk staff fitness room washer and dryer restaurants and shops great room units slopes
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2015

we have stayed in a variety of different places...this year was the first time we stayed at the st james. we paid about 1,300 per night for a giant three bedroom that easily slept 3 adults and 5 kids....the room was large and clean... the furniture was a little tired but that didnt really bother us...the location is spectacular....right next to the park hyatt in beaver creek village....not ski in ski out but close enough.....it was a three minute walk to the slopes....the folks at the st james are nice and accomodating enough...it is not the cheapest option in bc but the location is fantastic and the rooms are very large as are the bathrooms...i would recommend this for anyone

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at St. James Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with your fellow travelers. We appreciate your kind words and do hope we get the chance to host you again in the near future. Happy New Year to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We've stayed at the St. James for the past 4 years over Christmas. Prior to the St. James, we stayed at the Park Hyatt and Osprey...both excellent hotels. The recent renovation of the St. James has made a great facility even better. Being able to walk to stores, restaurants, and the slopes make the location perfect for a great ski vacation. Being on vacation our family wants a first rate hotel but also wants to be able to relax and not feel we're in a stuffy environment which the St. James provides.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at St. James Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Anytime we are compared favorably to the likes of the Osprey and the Hyatt we are more than pleased. We look forward to hosting you and your family again in ht near future. Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

First time skiing at Beaver Creek and chose St. James Place based on Trip Advisor reviews but find that they do not generally apply to the hotel room accommodations. Agree that location in village is terrific and lobby is lovely (we enjoyed the hot chocolate and granola bars for a quick warm-up), but would not recommend the hotel room accommodations for skiers. We are really happy we chose Beaver Creek and plan to return with larger family group, but plan to stay elsewhere next time.

Our room appears to be the spare bedroom for a larger condo so we hear noise and smell cooking from next door. The beds are comfortable but I agree with another reviewer about the drawers falling out and you really need to use them to be organized in such tight quarters. Heating is clangy and room is very dry. There is no chair or bench aside from the high beds so not easy for little ones to put on boots, etc. Also, no cups in bathroom for brushing teeth (had to bring up some from the lobby) and although there is a laundry basket in the closet, no access to laundry machines or any idea from front desk staff on how to get regular laundry done or dry kids' wet clothes so I had to do a "load" in the tub and hang it all over the room to dry (could use a drying rack in here). We look out over the road so view is snowy, but not inspiring. Kids like seeing the snow plow drive by, but there is a bit of traffic noise early morning. All of this would seem minor if we weren't paying more per night for this room than our last stay at Disney Polynesian Concierge Level. We do have Unsecured WiFi,TV, DVD, microwave and mini-fridge but need to remember to bring back utensils with any leftovers since none available in room or from lobby staff.

Lobby is highlight of building amenities and very pleasant, bright open place to hang out reading or watching TV plus on Sundays from 5-6 there is a reception with drinks and light snacks which is nice. The pool room is well-appointed but other guests leave wet towels and trash all over and no staff to clean up. We've been to swim twice in early evening and both times used towels and empty drink containers everywhere and steam room benches dirty. Unfortunately, outdoor hot tub was too crowded our first night and out of service the second, but looks nice.

Concierge is very approachable and answered all of our questions about dining and airport transfers. Desk staff is cheerful but other guests not so much. When we smile and say hello in elevators or passing in hallways, we don't always get a response. We ate dinner and used spa at The Charter next door and met several fun families (also, sauna and steam room was bigger and pool has a snack bar).

I give St. James Place the benefit of the doubt that it may be great if you stay in a condo here, but for a skiing vacation, staying in their hotel room with limited amenities was not good value for money (especially during Christmas Break). I suppose it's always a risk to feel like a second class citizen in this type of accommodation at a condo building - didn't ruin the trip, but doesn't leave us wanting to return.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank familyd312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at St. James Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014

Thank you so much for your very detailed review. I apologize that we did not meet or even better, exceed your vacation expectations on this trip. Perhaps you will give us another chance to host you in the future and if you do contact me directly and I will attend to every detail personally. I have to say many folks feel the hotel room which is indeed a "lock-off" from a larger condominium unit is the one of the best values to be had in the heart of Beaver Creek Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

I've skied and stayed at Beaver Creek every year barring two since 1989, so am reasonably well-informed about the options. St. James is, without a doubt, one of the finest condo options in Beaver Creek. It's certainly not cheap, but it's well-worth it.

We stayed in unit 500, which is on its own floor by itself at the top of the building. Getting out of the elevator and realizing it stops there only for your condo is kind of fun.

St. James is ski-in/ski-out....kind of. It's easy to ski in to it, but skiing out involves taking a minor lift to nowhere on the mountain and then skiing down to a real lift. I normally ski-in but walk to the bottom of Centennial lift, which is maybe a couple hundred yards from the condo.

The fitness facilities (including both wet and dry steam, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, and pool) are great and were upgraded last year, and the lobby is gorgeous as it was also completely redone last year.

I love St. James, have stayed there at least a dozen times, and have no plans to stay anywhere else when I'm in BC.

Room Tip: Unit 500 is the way to go if you need a three bedroom unit.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarinMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at St. James Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014

Hi Matt and thank you for your glowing review. We are all very appreciative that you took the time to write such a detailed report for our friends at tripadvisor. I would argue that our property is really not ski in/out as I don't want to mislead anyone but for some it can be ! Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2014

We have been traveling to Beaver Creek, CO on ski trips for the last 24 years. Four years ago we began staying in St. James Place. There are many hotels down in Avon, but St. James Place is one of the few built up the mountain inside the Beaver Creek Village. St. James underwent a remodel and room upgrade over the last couple of years. It is truly a beautiful place to stay. Our two bedroom unit had views of seven ski runs AND the village. We could see the ice rink and all of the fire pits and ice sculptures from our balcony. St. James has an indoor pool, spa, Sana and an outdoor Jacuzzi. St. James also has an underground heated private parking garage. The staff is ready to help 24 hours a day. You won't be disappointed if you chose St. James Place on your next visit to Beaver Creek!

Room Tip: Ask for a village view room.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Haenaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at St. James Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I have shared it with the entire staff at our weekly meeting. The fact that you are a repeat guest and have chosen the St. James Place over all of the other properties in Beaver Creek is very rewarding and we look forward to welcoming you back "home" to the St. James Place for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews