We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's the real scoop on Elkhorn Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elkhorn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elkhorn Lodge
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Here's the real scoop on Elkhorn Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

I stayed at the Elkhorn for a week for spring skiing with my husband and 2 kids- ages 9 &12, and loved it. We had a 2 bedrm./2 bath condo. It was beautifully furnished, had a great view of the mountain and very spacious. The master bathroom was huge with a jetted tub, separate shower and enclosed toilet room. The kitchen was large with granite countertops and top of the line appliances. The in unit washer/dryer and daily housekeeping was terrific. We got an amazing online deal (and felt we won the lottery) for end of spring skiing and paid around $300/night. I checked again to go back this year and it seems the same condo in high season is around $1,500-$900/night! The staff was lovely and very helpful, although we never had any issues to resolve. They did make dinner reservations for us and great restaurant suggestions on the nights we wanted to eat out. The lodge is small, but really lovely. It has a small hot tub in the back, overlooking the Elkhorn ski lift, which we used a few times and was very relaxing.
Here's the real scoop about the ski-in/ski-out at the Elkhorn. As I mentioned, they do have their own lift right outside the back of the lodge, which is very convenient for some. But, If you are traveling with young kids who are not that secure on their skis or snowboards, and are attending ski school, this lift may not be best for them. Firstly, the run you need to take when getting off the lift to the ski school consist of a lot of catwalks. My older son did fine, but it took my younger son almost half an hour to get down the mountain to the ski school and it was a bit nerve racking. On days we were running late, this was not an option, so we hopped on the shuttle service instead. (The shuttle service is amazing, you never need to have a car to go anywhere). Coming back at the end of the day, you need to take a series of somewhat flat paths in and around condos, through a pretty park, and go under a bridge, to ski back to the lodge, if you are on the main part of the mountain, (where ski school is). If there is not a lot of snow, you simply can't do this. When there is snow, if you loose momentum, you end up pushing a lot with your poles, and if you are with kids, it can be a bit challenging. I found it to be an adventure and loved it, as did my older son, but my younger son had trouble. He fell on a bit of ice when we had to duck to go under the bridge and ended up in tears with a bruise on his butt.
This was our second trip to Beaver Creek. The first time we went, we stayed at The Charter, also in a 2bed/2 bath condo. The Charter was also great, it has a few more amenities like a game room, restaurant, and ski shop for rentals & sales. I think the Elkhorn is slightly nicer, the units are bigger and I like that it's a little more quiet after a busy day on the slopes. The ski school in Beaver Creek is fantastic. My kids both loved their instructors and keep asking to go back so they can have them again. We've also been to Steamboat and Snowmass (both also great), and now deciding where to go this year. Our kids voted for Beaver Creek hands down....hoping to find that online deal again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chicmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
69
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

Absolutely gorgeous and spacious condo unit. ski in ski out. generous ski lockers, friendly and efficient staff, great shuttle service. A-1 resort experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

Truly ski in / out as the Elk Horn Lift is 20 ft away from the building exit. Only regret is that it is not an express lift but no big deal. The room we had was wonderfully furnished [although they are owner furnished so can vary]. The staff was very helpful and daily maid service was a nice touch. Given the location, ambiance, service and price, we thought this was a great value place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

WE LOVE THIS PLACE! All of the units are individually owned and are non-smoking. All have a washer/dryer and nicely designed and appointed kitchens. The location is great - especially for skiers who want a chair lift in their backyard. Beaver Creek Village is a very short walk from this location. We plan on staying here exclusively when we visit Beaver Creek!! PLEASE BE AWARE - BOOK YOUR RESERVATIONS DIRECTLY THROUGH THE ELKHORN LODGE - DO NOT USE THE WEBSITE ELKHORN-LODGE.COM. DON'T BE FOOLED LIKE WE WERE - THEY ARE A TRAVEL RESERVATION BUSINESS AND NOT THE ELKHORN LODGE. ON THIS TRIP, WE FELL VICTIM TO THEIR DECEPTION.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aTimidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltillo, Coahuila
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

Everyone was very helpful, we were traveling with 6 children of all ages, the appartment was very big and confortable, we specially enjoyed the balcony with a great view of the mountain, after skiing we all met there to rest and talk about our day. We had been to Beaver Creek before but not to the Elkhorn next time we go we will return to this hotel, we loved it.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Beaver Creek is beyond words. The beauty surrounding this town is just magnificent. The one bedroom suite at the Lodge was roomy, comfortable and homey. Granite countertops, full kitchen, bathrooms were large. We felt at home.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrygrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

We traveled with 3 couples to this resort to enjoy a long weekend of skiing. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo. The resort was more than I expected. It was spacious and had everything we needed. The staff was also very helpful with any questions or suggestions that we had. Skiing out was convenient, but I would not say this was truly a ski in. All in all, I would go back. It was a great location and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BloomsdaleMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaver Creek hotels
0.4 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#7 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
1.9 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 7 in Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkhorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Lodge

Property: Elkhorn Lodge
Address: 51 Offerson Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkhorn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elkhorn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkhorn Hotel Beaver Creek
Elkhorn Lodge Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing