We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Beaver Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beaver Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our first stay at Beaver Creek Lodge, a weekend stay. We have stayed at other properties nearby in Beaver Creek before, but chose Beaver Creek Lodge this time because of cheaper pricing, which was better than anyone else's properties located that close to the chairlifts. The advertised price was $229 per night for a queen suite. About a week before our arrival we were contacted by the hotel asking if we would like to upgrade to a King suite with Valley View for $25 more each night. We thought that sounded reasonable so we said yes, provided that the room was in a quiet location in the hotel. We were assured that we would be given a quiet location far from the elevators, which we were, thankfully. Upon arrival at the hotel we noticed the $36 a night valet parking sign out front. We were aware of the charges for valet parking from our reservation confirmation. It was worded exactly like this on our reservation confirmation of items and their costs not included in the nightly rate..."Hotel valet parking is offered as a service". We interpret that wording to mean that one can decide whether they want to accept or decline that service. Since we are not the types to use or need valet service we asked during check in if we could park our own car and not use the valet service. We were told no. Apparently the hotel interprets "hotel valet parking is offered as a service" as "hotel valet parking is mandatory". The hotel needs to consider rewording this on future reservation confirmations so that there is no ambiguity.

There is a large atrium in the middle of the hotel, with each floor having a maze of hallways with suites. We found the interior of the hotel to be very dark, and has modern decor bordering on edgy. Definitely not a mountain ski lodge look but that's OK. Lots of red everywhere. However, we found our suite to be very nice with everything we needed and lots of space. There is even a mini kitchen with granite countertops, a sink, refrigerator, dishes, and utensils. The bedroom is separated from the living area. The bathroom is great also as was the extra vanity and sink in the bedroom. Our bedroom window looked out on to the main road into Beaver Creek which we were concerned about at first because of possible noise. The bed was so comfortable, not too soft and not too hard. However, we didn't care for the shuttered windows in each suite that look out towards the dark hallways. One can easily see around the edges of those closed shutters into the rooms. As we passed by some rooms that chose to leave their shutters open, it felt strangely like window shopping, only we weren't interested in the contents. The hotel is located conveniently by the covered bridge into the Beaver Creek shopping area and 3 escalator rides away from the Centennial chairlift. It is also across the main road and up a long flight of stairs from the Strawberry Park chairlift that goes to Arrowhead/Bachelor Gulch. Christy Sports is located in the hotel on the 2nd floor where your skis get stored and can be picked up as you walk out the door to the slopes. There is also a restaurant on the same floor, Rocks Modern Grill, which we realized not long after we arrived was directly below our room, which proved to be the biggest problem with our stay. The main stairs from the lobby go only to the second floor and no farther. We sure felt funny having to take the elevator down only one floor. There are numerous emergency exit stairs that we tried at first to go down a level, but most times the doors back in to other floors were locked so we were forced to go all the way outside several times and come back in through the main entries. Not great if you're not dressed warm enough for the weather outside.

The following are incidents related to the Rocks Modern Grill restaurant, in addition to the mandatory valet parking that made the stay less enjoyable...
After eating dinner elsewhere the first evening we came back to hotel and went to Rocks to get desserts to-go to eat in our room. The cost for 2 desserts was approx. $15 including tax, so we gave the bartender a $20 bill and sat at the bar to wait for our desserts. The restaurant had probably 10 customers at the most. We thought it was odd that that the bartender didn't give us change right away. Soon our boxed desserts arrived, but still no change, so we asked the bartender, "where's our change?". Oh. Then he gave us our change. Guess he thought we were big spenders and were giving him a big tip. That night we were in bed by 10 pm, wanting to get rested for getting first chair early tomorrow for an epic powder day. We're here to ski, right? Promptly at 10 we hear loud thumping party music start. Where is that coming from?! We opened the window thinking it was a car outside, but nope, nothing. We couldn't figure out where it was coming from. The restaurant below us had closed at 9. Finally we called the front desk and they said they would look into it. Eventually the music stopped and we slept peacefully that night. The next evening around 5:30 after returning to our room we heard what sounded like a live band starting to play. We could hear every word and note distinctly, but when we opened the window to see if it was coming from outside, we heard nothing until we closed the window again. We certainly like music, but we prefer to listen to it when and where we want to and not through the walls. We decided to walk around the hotel to investigate. We finally discovered the source...the restaurant. We asked one of the employees there how long would the band be playing and they said until 7:30. Thank goodness. We told them the story of last night's music at 10. They said that was them. They usually crank up the tunes after closing while they clean up, but they said someone called the front desk last night and told them to stop. We said that was us, we are right above you and can hear everything. We asked if they could please not play the music loud tonight after closing. They
acted surprised that some people are actually in bed by 10 but agreed. They kept their word and we slept without interruptions that night.

On a good note, we appreciate that the hotel allows guests who are checking out to leave their car parked in their garage while they ski the rest of the day. Not all hotels will do that. We hope that the hotel can work on the negative issues mentioned here for future guests.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 2windsurfandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinShields, General Manager at Beaver Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

This is probably the most comprehensive reviews I have seen and they type that are beneficial to both guests and management. We will certainly work on the opportunities and appreciate the positive comments to strengthen our services and amenities.
Greatly appreciated.
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Highly enjoyed our trip to Beaver Creek and would highly recommend the Beaver Creek Lodge. We stayed there Feb. 27-March 4. It has a boutique feel and is very well decorated and very nice. My better half is a ski freak and they put us in their 1 Brdm Valley Suite on the 2nd floor. We never had to take the hotel elevator or stairs the entire trip because we were literally steps from the door that leads out to the village and less than a 2 minute walk to the lifts. It was the true definition of ski in/ski out. We were in the heart of the village and never felt the need to leave the village. There's a ton of nice restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Our room was also across the hall from Rocks Modern Grill which is the restaurant at the Lodge. We never actually ate there so I can't rate it.

The only downside to where our room was located was it was close to a ski rental shop so during the day it was a little loud. But we were RARELY in our room during the day so I barely noticed.

The hotel staff was wonderful and tended to our every need. Anytime we needed anything they were there and very friendly.

I'd definitely go back and choose the Lodge if we went back to Beaver Creek!

Room Tip: For a couple def request the 1 Brdm Valley Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

beaver creek lodge was a great place to stay it is in the perfect location. staff were very helpful and polite. Dinner was delicious at the restaurant. .rooms are expensive during ski season but comparable to other hotels in the area.i loved staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: great place to stay and wonderful location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyzimkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I loved this place the moment we walked in. It had gorgeous art on the walls of each floor. It was a swank place that was in a good location to the ski hill with a ski concierge. The room was spacious with a kitchen and we were happy to dine in our beautiful room. The pool, hot tub, and steam room were fabulous! We will definitely come here again!

Room Tip: We had room 111 which overlooked the parking lot. Try to get something with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7wonderstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have now stayed here for the past two Spring Break trips and we weren't ready to go home either time. From the fireplace in your room to the prompt and friendly service by all, ease of access to the ice rink, restaurants and slopes we were able to find plenty of time to unlax, stay warm, sip on hot chocolate, order room service, popped in a movie and spread out in our very clean, spacious and uplifting room. We will certainly go back!!

Room Tip: Through the Creekside suite window you have an excellent view of the fireworks on Thursday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinShields, General Manager at Beaver Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review! Please come back in the near future and experience another wonderful Beaver Creek vacation.
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent our President's Day long weekend here and had an excellent experience. The hotel is right at the main entrance of Beaver Creek Village, with spacious suites, courteous services and an excellent concierge! The concierge helped arrange airport transportation, side trips to Vail and surrounding hotels and recommended restaurants. We had a very satisfying stay with our two small children and definitely will return!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manning W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinShields, General Manager at Beaver Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We appreciate your review and the opportunity to host you and your family during your recent holiday ski vacation. Our property is the perfect fit for families with large suite rooms, great service and location.
Thank you for staying with us.
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed over New Years and paid New Years prices. Rooms are large (it's an embassy suites). No lobby to talk of. Breakfast in adjoining restaurant was ok. Service average. Paid $35 / day for parking which was a little ridiculous. Usually stay at the Hyatt or osprey and will not return to the BCL.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank spinesrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinShields, General Manager at Beaver Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We sincerely apologize that we did not impress you with the service levels we provide. Our goal is to have each guest leave exuberant and wanting to come back and experience one of the Kessler Collection resorts during a future stay. I appreciate your feedback and hope you decide to give us an opportunity to prove ourselves to you.
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
0.1 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
546 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
351 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Creek Lodge

Address: 26 Avondale Lane, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range: £140 - £677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaver Creek Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beaver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaver Creek Hotel Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing