We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a family on a ski vacation - not posh, but not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good for a family on a ski vacation - not posh, but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I read everything online prior to going to the Mountain Vista. We had a mountain view, which I requested prior to arriving. It cut down on the noise. The room was comfortably decorated and nice, and it was very clean. No sign of excessive wear and tear.

The amenities suich as pots, towels, etc. were minimal and I had to ask for a couple of extra things, but they were brought up right away.

Not much in the way of resort amenities or lobby amenities, not many places to "hang out" in the resort. The concierge was OK, but they didnt have trail maps of Beaver Creek (I will give them the benefit of the doubt, it was the end of the season). Internet in the room was sketchy at best and really slow and annoying. It was really hard to do anything in the room on the internet because it was so slow and would time out. Loading the trail map from the Beaver Creek website took forever in the room.

The grill was a nice feature and we did use it. Parking is underground, a nice feature since it snowed so much while we were there. The grocery store was close and really big, but its pretty far if you have lots of groceries and are thinking of walking to it. There are some really good restaurants within walking distance, but the resort is located in an area with a lot of parking lots, think office complex, not sidewalks and lawns.

The biggest complaint I have is the temperature. It was really hot inside our room and we had to keep our windows open while we were in the room. It was 19 degrees outside, so it made for a delicate balancing act of how much to crack open the window.

Regarding skiing, the resort was 9 miles from Vail and very close to Beaver Creek. It did take two buses to get to the slopes of Beaver Creek. However, we drove to and parked in the free lot and took one bus up to the top. It was pretty simple. The other option is to take the bus to near the Westin, walk over the tracks, and take the gondola up. I wish the resort had a shuttle to the slopes. It would be a nice feature.

We absolutely LOVED Beaver Creek and Vail and the whole area and are going back next year (staying at a different place). I would highly recommend a family vacation in the area. It is awesome, and my kids had an awesome time. There is something to do for everyone. Regarding the Sheraton, if you dont mind the heat turned up, the rooms and the resort were fine for a ski area. No complaints as to cleanliness (and I am particular) or decoration, size or layout.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrlawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, 1 October 2010
Your review has provided us with some really detailed feedback and we thank you for taking the time. We were pleased to have you describe the resort as comfortably decorated, nice and very clean. It is especially thrilling having a self described "particular" person say they had no complaints about cleanliness. In July of this year we spent $78,000 upgrading our high speed internet. If you were to return you would be pleased with the speed of the connection. From your comments we couldn’t tell if you had a chance or even knew to visit Avon's beautiful Nottingham Park and Lake located just behind the Sheraton next to the Avon Recreation Center. In the winter with the lake frozen the city clears the snow off the lake and allows free ice skating. The park also offers some of the best sledding hills around. The problem you described with the heat appears to have been identified as a zone valve problem requiring repair in several of our villas. We are currently in the process of inspecting every villa and making necessary repairs. We are sorry to hear you will stay at a different place this next year, and hope at some point will allow us the opportunity to provide your accommodations again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    181
    72
    34
    13
See reviews for
195
142
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

We just got back from spring skiiing at Beaver Creek and Vail. We own with Marriott and exchanged to get this property. I was concerned after reading some of the reviews about Mountain Vista. I must say most of the negative comments were unfounded during our stay.

We had a full size one bedroom with a full kitchen. The rooms are smaller than your average time share but there were only three of us so it wasn't to bad. The toliet did stop up once and maintenence responded right away and resolved the issue. Are the rooms hot.....ABSOLUTELY....this is true..we opened the windows when we left for skiing so the room would be nice and cool when we returned. The only truely negative thing I can say about the rooms is that the walls are paper thin. We could hear the loud people next to us almost every night.

The location of the property is great. We did not take the shuttle. We drove to Beaver Creek and Vail and utilized the Valet parking service. I did hear people in the lobby complain about the shuttle.

Wireless internet.....forget it unless your in the hotel lobby. The connection is free but only works from the lobby. At about 7a.m. every morning the lobby was full of laptop users...

Overall we had a great stay and would stay there again if we had the chance. We found a great bakery (Avon Bakery) in town that had fresh bagels and breads that was only a few blocks away by Burger King. We also ate at Beaver Creek Chophouse Spago's and the Dusty Boot. All of these were pretty good and worth visiting.

On a side note we went snowmobiling with White Mountain Tours and it was truly an awesome experience. We climbed to approximately 12500ft above sea level and the views were fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smnlefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

My were a group of 6 old friends that had 2 units & after traveling from NJ & MD we were hoping to spend time together catching up on life and take in some beautiful Colorado landscapes. After arriving, we were disappointed to learn that our units would not be connected but down the hall from each other and that due to a busy week .. there were no connecting units available for a few days. After then requesting if our units could at least have a view of BeaverCreek mountain we were again denied. But determined to not let this fact disappoint the group we moved in. Although the thermostats were as low as they could go ... the units were extremely hot and stuffy. We spent the week with the bedroom window and the slider in the living room open. There is a free standing humidifier in each unit that did help to add some humidity to the units and also helped deter the street noise which was non stop all day & night. The heating units in the bedrooms would all of a sudden start knocking and making very loud noises in the middle of the night. Although the maintenance man tried to bleed the lines .. the noise continued. We all skiied on very very little rest. The roof hot tub was a good idea but i9t was very small and the jets were not always working properly so it turned into a small rooftop pool ... Although Erin the Manager & Diana were very & as helpful as possible friendly ... the rest of the staff was not overly helpful and at times sorta rude. The units in general were ok ... but could use a freshen up .. We definitely missed having a stove but was resourseful with the grill that was n the terrace. The location was close to the mountain and the town of Avon had many ammenities but we will probably choose another location for our group skiing rendezvous.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellsbellsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

It was a nightmare week at this Sheraton Mountain Vista. There was no room at the neighboring Westin, so they put us up here. No restaurant, so no food, unless you count the market that sold cold sandwiches until 6:00 p.m. Also, we weren't told there would be NO CLEANING the entire week. They come in once a week and change the towels - that's it. The heating unit in our bedroom wouldn't go below 90 degrees so we had horrible nights. And for two nights in a row, the smoke alarm went off, the batteries were low, and someone came to change them but apparently didn't do it correctly so we were woken up AGAIN the next night by the beeping. Also, you could smell everyone's cooking in the other suites. Our place smelled of curry the entire week. No lighting for my daughter to do her homework project. There is supposed to be free WiFi but we couldn't get a connection for more than 20 seconds at a time, and that took at least 15 minutes to connect. We had to go to the lobby to get on the internet.

The hotel staff was very friendly and kept apologizing but we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisatraveler0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We liked the location and the style of the 2 bedroom suite. it has a western theme, close to downtown Avon, great shuttle system, and a wonderful steam sauna and jacuzzi.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foleysfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

We were traveling with todlers. We exchanged this fois location for our lake house timeshare. We arrived at the airport about 2:30 pm and did not rent a car but came by Taxi from the airport. We were told the room was not ready and proceeded to listen about viewing another timeshare location. We offered our contact cell number but they only offered to keep our luggage and call when the room was ready. Upon our arrival, part of our check in was them insisting making us an appointment to visit their newest timeshare location. They selected an appointment time on Wedsnesday (we arrive on Saturday). Everyday there was a message light on our phone and made us nervous since we were from out of town and had sick family. It was always a voice mail with some sort of message about an event at he location like parents nite, Texas Holdem Game, etc. Finally, after we told them we decided not to go listen to their 90 minutes sales pitch for another TimeShare, all of a sudden these ended. It seemed strange that the events were still occurring on a daily basis like an icrecream Sunday Special. The other events were all cancelled because there was never enough participation. The rooms are was very small. The jacuzi in the bathroom did not work and it took 2 and a half hours for someone to come and look at it which was 9:30 pm . The man kept blaming us and said we did not have enough water in it but he filled it up with less water than us but kept opening the breaker box behind the wall picture frame and eventually got it working after about 45 minutes. The clothes dryer required two cycles at an hour each to dry any kind of clothes. The rooms were so hot that we were miserable and got heahaches. Yes, you could open the window or balcony door but at 15 degress with children, we did not want to get sick. We stepped out into the hallway and it was a very cold draft. The space was extremely small. Of course, the bus will take you places but you have to change buses or walk sevveral blocks to the transit center. Also, the ski shop in the hotel lobby did not want to rent skis for our young chidren unless they were in a lessen class and insisted on insurance. The location was clean. The maid service and front desk stafff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacheylucille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

stayed here christmas week 2009.
Iam a starwood member, so my discount was used.
The room was huge and I felt at home.
Skied and used the new westin lift for super easy access up the mountain

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rella118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaver Creek hotels
0.2 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 7 in Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.3 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#7 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley

Property: Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
Address: 160 W Beaver Creek Blvd, Beaver Creek, CO 81620 (Formerly Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort)
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate as many as eight adults in up to 1,250 square feet. Each villa features a fully equipped kitchen or well-equipped kitchenette, washers and dryers, separate living and dining spaces, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mountain Vista Hotel Beaver Creek
Sheraton Beaver Creek
Sheraton Avon
Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort
Avon Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing