We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, average food, disappointed guests”

Splendido at the Chateau
Reserve with OpenTable
Splendido at the Chateau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 82 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$70
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Scott Hill Road
Transit: "Village Transportation" brings guests from anywhere in Beaver Creek free of charge.
San Antonio TEXAS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food, disappointed guests”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

While in Beaver Creek we often dine at Splendido. So, when hosting friends for a long weekend, this was one of the restaurants we chose to take them to. Sadly, as the food was good, the service was terrible. We had a table of 8 ordering very nice wines and many courses. Granted it was busy but we couldn't get our orders in, our wine poured, the dishes correct. We had to flag down our waiter many times. It was embarrassing as we had told everyone what a nice restaurant this was. There was a lobster special one couple chose to split. It came to the husband and his wife sat with no plate. As we tried to get someone's attention, we finally asked to have it split and they waited another 5 minutes to get their meal as we all tried to wait, food getting cold. No apologies from anyone. We had a question/comment for the manager. He came by the table and when he heard it, he walked away, no comment. Not a word to us as we walked out after spending over $900 on dinner. The food was average in my opinion but because of the service, we will not go back. As several of our guests commented, the service was rude, snobby. Step it up Splendido, you aren't the best around anymore.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    45
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best place to dine in the Vail Valley”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have resided in the Vail Valley for over 30 years. We have dined at nearly all restaurants in the Valley, but repeatedly have returned to Splendido. The menu is diverse with the highest quality ingredients from local sources that are combined by the talented chef into remarkably enjoyable dishes. The cuisine ranges from simple to gourmet with something for everyone. The service is outstanding, unique for a seasonal resort, as most of the staff have been there for years. The bar staff (Johnny and Bill) will attend to you with the greatest personal attention. Dinner at the bar with a scaled down but superb menu is an experience in and of itself. The piano entertainment is first class, with Peter Vavra who is a nationally appreciated artist, making your pre and post dinner experience a delight and unforgettable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
309 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very pricy but worth it!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I had not been here for years. I remembered the lamb, and it is memorable, still. Consider sharing a main dish. The portions are huge. The quality is amazing and the location beyond what you can imagine. Stay for after dinner drinks in the bar. Live music is so invigorating and elegant?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skier003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Way It Should Be!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our dining experience at Splendido was the way it should be at any restaurant. The service was first rate, the food was perfect and the atmosphere was delightful. Our group of four really enjoyed the piano player - she exuded a lot of energy. We've eaten at Splendido before and can attest to the fact that it always is one of our top restaurant choices in the Vail Valley.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RLHKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An experience for sure”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Food was very good- service impeccable - atmosphere was absolute class.
Wine list was ridiculously expensive- another BC restaurant that would have us as repeat customers if they narrowed down the 50 page ( literally) wine list to a select couple dozen- and if that list included a few bottles under $100. I like reds, but honestly I'd sooner drink water with those prices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Papa4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Splendido at the Chateau also viewed

 
Beaver Creek, CO
 

Been to Splendido at the Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing