We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than splendid”

Splendido at the Chateau
Reserve with OpenTable
Splendido at the Chateau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 84 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$70
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Scott Hill Road
Transit: "Village Transportation" brings guests from anywhere in Beaver Creek free of charge.
Nederland, Colorado
Level Contributor
217 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“More than splendid”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This fancy, expensive restaurant sits far above Beaver Creek, with views from our patio table looking out to nearby mountains during the last hour of daylight. Our table setting was delightful and peaceful, though we could hear the live piano music in the distance and sounds from a cocktail party on another part of the deck. Our server was friendly, perceptive, and professionally efficient. Our meals were excellent. My wife had a delicious smoked tomato soup for an appetizer. A trout and sweetbread combination may sound unusual but it was a sublime combination main course. The chocolate fudge souffle was fabulous. We've been to Splendido before, and other Beaver Creek restaurants, but this meal rates as our top dining experience in the resort town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    46
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Have to Try the Rabbit”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Went to Splendido at the Chateau over the 4th of July. There were 14 of us and everyone tried something different. I sampled the lobster, Kobe steak and rabbit. All of it melted in my mouth. I expected less than superb service since there were so many of us but that is not what we received. We had 5 or 6 of the most attentive servers. They made everything sound so good.
There was a pianist playing all of my favorites. After dinner we adjourned to the patio to enjoy an after dinner drink and marvel at the view of the mountains and the landscape at The Chareau. A memorable evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Supper, but very pricey”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Six of us ate here last Thursday night for an informal business dinner. Superb food, beautifully presented, with outstanding service. Very expensive - $100 per person, with wine. One of the men felt it was a bit pretentious but that's to be expected; it's in Beaver Creek, for Heaven's sake. What's not pretentious?! I thought it was just great, with some unusual menu choices but not too weird. Portions were not too small; some of these places serve Elf Food, but this one was somewhat better than that, though the portions certainly weren't oversized, either. The place was quite busy but not too loud to carry on a conversation. And, somehow they must've gotten a government waiver: They did not have the required mediocre guitar player, playing too loud. (I thought that was an inviolable requirement any place within 30 miles of Vail?!) In fact, out in the bar area, they had a pianist who played beautifully. So, I highly recommend Splendido. I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwardsjbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Way Overrated”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The four of us were excited about having dinner at the Splendido several evenings ago, as it was highly recommended by a local friend. Extremely disappointing! The restaurant is known for its rack of lamb, which I ordered. It was tender, but completely tasteless. My husband had the Dover Sole and rated it a C-. Our friends had the Halibut and called it fair. They described the halibut as "stringy". Our foursome has traveled all over the world and dined in the finest restaurants. This one was at the bottom of the list. We cannot recommend it. Way overrated. Across the street at the Pines Lodge, we had one of the best and most delicious dinners in all of Beaver Creek.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daphne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and Amazing food!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We've eaten here each time we come to Beaver Creek and we are never disappointed! The food is beautifully presented and the food will never disappoint your taste buds either! The staff is usually very attentive and spot on. I will be honest in saying that last night the staff was a bit "off" but we all have off days. (We couldn't get our wine glasses refilled and the wine bottle was sat far away from us and upon pouring our first glass of wine another waiter bumped into our waiter and he spilled our wine). The staff is normally spot on in perfection however. If you have the option and it's not in the winter, I highly recommend sitting near the kitchen. During the winter, this location is far too hot however. ENJOY!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Splendido at the Chateau also viewed

 

Been to Splendido at the Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing