We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaver Creek Lodge(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beaver Creek Village(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bachelor Gulch Condos(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
394
123
26
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
123
26
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grouse mountain grillboot warmerscoffee servicestarbucks coffeerock resortshuttle servicesuperior roomfiltered waterstrawberry liftchocolate chip cookiespool and hot tubshort walkevery morningturn down serviceon site restaurantvalet staffmini fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We booked this hotel thru
www.visitvailvalley.com/vailonsale.asp?id=97
The booking was nonrefundable, but the price was reasonable
so we booked it. We were emailed a confirmation showing
the 'total charge.'When we checked out, however, the hotel
had charged our credit card a higher rate. The front desk
said they couldn't help us as 'the credit card had already been
charged,' but that we could call reservations monday morning.
We did that, and they said that we had been charged an
additional 'resort fee' of $30, plus tax on that fee, per night.
Of course, that fee didn't show up on the web site, or the
confirmation they emailed...only on my credit card bill!

So...there appears to be little assurance that a reserved and
prepaid booking will match the actual price you are charged
when you check out. Be warned.

The hotel itself was a mix. The room was nicely furnished and clean, the staff friendly. The room however was very hot, and
since our room was over the entrance, opening the windows meant we heard lots of noise - cars and people coming and going. So it was either hot or noisy in the room. The pool and exercise room were not very clean - lots of dirty towels lying around, and the bathroom smelled.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayakvail, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2008

The Pines Lodge management team appreciates all feedback we receive from our guests. We thank you for taking the time to inform us of the issues you experienced during your stay.

The resort fee is a company-wide policy that includes valet parking, wireless internet, business center access, coffee, bottled water and many more amenities you receive during your stay. This policy pertains to all guests and we strive to always communicate this fee at time of booking. We apologize if this was not the case prior to your arrival.

We are committed to continually improving our hotel, our most recent project being air conditioning installation. We will address the other issues you had in regards to the pool, fitness center, and bathroom with our Director of Housekeeping.

Thank you again for your time and we would love to have you return in the future. Please contact myself directly at Ronn@vailresorts.com if you have any other comments or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

The location of this hotel is spectacular, but all around the service was poor. Upon check-in no one helped us with our bags, we were given the lowest class room overlooking the drop-off and valet driveway (probably because we booked through priceline), despite the fact the hotel was empty for the duration of our stay. We requested a better room and they accomodated us. Room service took about an hour, when they said it would only be 15 minutes. We left a note on the bed with a tip and the sheets were not changed. Everytime we called ahead for the car from valet it was never communicated to the valet and we had to wait for it. We called the front desk and made a request for a toiletry item and they said it was available and to come down to the front desk, but when we arrived there they did not have the item.

The room and view were beautiful. The gym, pool and hot tub areas were clean and very nice. Overall, we were very disappointed with the service but we liked the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobandbritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayakvail, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2008

On behalf of the management and staff, I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was less than legendary.

In order to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible we staff two bellmen during the day to help with luggage assistance as well as valet services. It seems that during your stay our bellmen were active in assisting other guests which accounts for the delays you experienced. We pride ourselves on the quick and efficient service the bellmen provide and we apologize for any inconveniences.

The room that was booked was a King Regular room which we feel is an outstanding room. As you noted in you letter, if a guest is dissatisfied with their room we will do everything in our power to make your stay with us as pleasurable as possible, and I am happy we could provide you with a room that better suited your expectations.

At the Pines Lodge we are focused on providing guests with legendary service during their stay and I am very sorry that you feel your stay with us was less than excellent. In the future please contact me, Ron Neville, with any questions or concerns that you may have. You may contact me directly at ronn@vailresorts.com

Warmest Regards,

Ron Neville
General Manager
The Pines Lodge – A Rock Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We stayed in a double room (2 queens) for 2 night on July 3 & 4, 2008. We bid on the room on Priceline and got a $112 a night rate including taxes. We were thrilled to find out we had gotten the Pines. Though we ski Beaver Creek frequently, we had not visited in the Summer. This resort is situated within walking distance to the shops and restaurants in the village and is ski in/out in Winter. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the mountain. The room was very nicely appointed with a comfortable decor. A clock radio with relaxation sounds, 2 wonderfully soft robes and slippers, very nice shampoos, soaps, etc in bath. Coffee pot and hairdryer in room as well as a safe and mini fridge (and boot warmers for winter). We had a french door that opened to the mountain with a step out (wouldnt call it a deck). The room had an overhead ceiling fan (you will need it in summer as there is NO air conditioning). Also equipped with a fan on a stand that can be situated anywhere in the room and a humidifier. The bedding was very fluffy and soft. Very comfortable. We also used the pool. The pool area is small, but big enough to enjoy on a warm summer day. Also on the pool deck was a nice hot tub with waterfall. Very relaxing. The valet's were very efficient and the front desk very pleasant. I had requested a rollaway for my son hours before we arrived and we were so pleased the rollaway was already in the room when we arrived! We had a very nice stay. The high point of the weekend was the fireworks display that we watched from our room balcony. We couldnt have asked for a better location.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5boys2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

A brief stay at Pines Lodge over holiday weekend was simply spectacular. What an extraordinary hotel-the service was incredible; the staff went out of its way to anticipate every need and make my family's vacation wonderful. The rooms were charming, the location perfect, the cuisine amazing and the service fabulous. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelcrestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

The hotel is beautiful and best in class. The Pines is perfectly located in Beaver Creek providing breathtaking views. You will feel like a world class traveler. You are in walking distance to all the shops and activities (or shuttle bus is readily available if preferred). The summer months are truly magnificant with the sun filled days and cool nights, with so much to do or if you prefer the perfect the setting to simply relax. (While we weren't skiing in June, I checked and the Pines also provides easy access to the mountain during those winter months.) You simply cannot beat the experience that the Pines Lodge in its perfect location with the best staff will provide.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank monbtrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews