We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay and play in Black Hawk, CO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Best place to stay and play in Black Hawk, CO”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Just stayed at Ameristar Casino for two nights and we were extremely pleased with the hotel and casino. The staff was polite, friendly, and extremely helpful. The hotel lobby was elegant, and the rooms were gorgeous with stunning views. They were decent size rooms with a large flat screen TV, free WIFI, extremely comfortable bed, fantastic bathroom with shower, and a tub with large fluffy towels (the room was better than the room and a suite we had at Caesar’s in LV). The buffet selection was large (even for vegetarians like us). The casino looked like a casino. Other casinos in Black Hawk area were basically long narrow warehouses with slot machines stuck in them. The days we visited them, they all were ghost town, compared to that Ameristar had people. The music selection was good, and the volume was appropriate. Wait staff was nicely dressed, and they walked the floor at appropriate frequency. The best part – completely nonsmoking facility.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Hey, thanks so much for visiting from Texas and for taking the time to share your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the buffet accommodating as vegetarians!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    319
    83
    65
    63
See reviews for
230
720
67
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Large, Clean and best value in Blackhawk. Only wish the service was better:-(

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Beautiful rooms and pool. The outdoor hot tub is great. The desk staff was efficient if not welcoming or friendly. The spa staff was insulted when we requested spa services during our stay and were informed they were booked two weeks out. I would go back for the rooms and the pool but I am not impressed with the service.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
I'm sorry if the treatment you received from our hotel staff was not up to par. It is typical for our guests to book spa treatments one to two weeks ahead. Sorry if we weren't able to get you in to the spa during this visit. We hope you're able to return to Black Hawk so we can show you the guest services that you deserve and so you can also try out our spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Beautiful hotel. Too bad I didn't win in the casino!!! My only complaint was that we couldn't do a late check out. I guess the place was just that crowded. If you are going to use the hot tub upstairs in the winter, be sure to bring lots of towels and a robe. Brrrr!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight for a little getaway for our anniversary and had a fabulous time! The room was clean and very spacious. I slept like a log as the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is quite large and the shower was wonderful.

We ate at the Timberline Grill, which was extremely expensive, but excellent food! Our server was very attentive and friendly.

We were offered drinks quite frequently and they came pretty quick, which was surprising as that on a Friday night, it was pretty busy. Everyone in the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. To top it off, we won a whopping $800 on the slots! We will definitely stay here every time we go up to Blackhawk!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daelliotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thanks so much for posting your review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. Happy anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We decided to take a last minute get away up to Black Hawk and had not stayed at the Ameristar before to decided to try it, and it was much to my surprise, quite enjoyable! The hotel rooms (deluxe King) are quite large with very nice furniture, bedding, and include the all important mini fridge:) the bathrooms inside the rooms are also quite nice with a separate shower and bathtub and double sinks. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful as well. The pool at the top of the hotel tower is fantastic and the rooftop view from up there is spectacular!

The casino is pretty nice and has quite a bit of gaming, although much of it is slot machines, but the dealers are friendly and helpful if you need it! We ate at the Timberline Grill, knowing it was a fine dining experience, and it was expensive, but the food was also very very good! We also ate at the deli, which was good, but takes a while to get your food.

All in all it was a great experience and I will definitely stay there again when we go back!

Room Tip: Deluxe King is great and has plenty of space to spread out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Stephanie, thanks for taking the time to review our property. We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Nice hotel and good sized casino. The bathrooms in hotel rooms are very large. The pool is huge and views of mountains from pool is awesome. Our dinner at Timberline Grill was very good food and excellent service. The Fireside restaurant is ok. The Waypost deli was very poor quality.

It is VERY difficult to get a drink on casino floor. I was playing a $5 machine and it took over an hour to get a drink - that length of wait represents a major shortage on cocktail servers. Service at the bars was excellent but you have to pay. Prices at bar are very reasonable. This is the nicest casino hotel in Colorado.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogrkkco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thanks for the review! Sorry about the beverage service wait time on the casino floor. Sometimes our servers get very busy and I'm sorry if the wait time for a drink was not up to expectation. We hope to see you again so that we can show you the quality guest services that try our best to achieve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
1.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Hotel and Casino
Century Hotel and Casino
#2 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
18.5 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
10.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Property: Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Region: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing