We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprise - well above expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Having lived in Denver since 1996 and never visited any of Colorado's gaming towns, decided last minute to surprise my girlfriend with a 'Thursday Night Date Night' at the Ameristar Resort in Black Hawk. Boy was it a blast.
We aren't huge gamblers and appreciated the extra amenities the resort offered. We took full advantage of the gym, pool and jacuzzi. The gym was very nice, really clean and had at least 15 brand new Matrix weight stations, dumbbell rack and a half dozen treadmills.
Towels were available in the gym and at the pool. We felt like we were staying in a very nice resort in Vegas! What a treat!

As for the bad reviews regarding poor service, we didn't experience anything negative. The staff was very nice. Above all though, was the high quality "feel" of the hotel/room. Almost forgot we were in Black Hawk.....

As for the gaming.... lost $100 in 30 minutes playing slots (no payouts=boring), walked across the street and won on their slots...only to give the winnings back once back at Ameristar.

Ameristar did have a fantastic poker room, could have stayed at those tables for hours, but then it would have been a very lonely "date night"....

We will go back! We highly recommend it for a quick get away!

Room Tip: The non-smoking room was truly that.. Nether the casino or rooms smelled like smoke, which really su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Ameristar Casino in Blackhawk for his birthday. We stayed at a different hotel last year, and that was a big mistake. Ameristar's hotel is clean, and has the amenities that other hotels in the area lack. The King non-smoking room we stayed in had a nice bed, large TV and some chairs, table, and the décor was pleasant. The bathroom was large and modern.
In addition to having nice sized, clean rooms, the Ameristar has an onsite spa and a top-floor swimming pool (we didn't use either during this visit since it was a short one.) Also, there are good restaurants within the resort to have breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Blackhawk is a walking town so you can pretty much walk to all the other casinos in the downtown area. There is ample parking at the hotel as well.
My only disappointment in the stay was that it was a Wednesday when we stayed, and there was no live entertainment at the bar.

Room Tip: At check-in you will generally be asked if you want a higher or a lower floor for our room -- we cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JandSmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We love to come up Thursday afternoon, have a lovely dinner at the Ameristar steakhouse, drive a few minutes to Central City to see the evening opera performance, stay the night and see the Friday matinee at CC Opera. We enjoy a most luxurious and spacious room, wonderful bed, a refrigerator, wifi, comfortable seating, and a great bathroom. Love it here!

Room Tip: We usually stay high, away from any possible casino noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is a clean and modern style hotel that served its purpose well. The rooftop hot tub is great but lacks the view one is hoping for with it being on the 34th floor. They could spare some more towels and robs in the rooms but otherwise we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckalHEad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a great trip. Before we went to a wedding in Denver, we went for a drive in the beautiful heights of Colorado. Yes, we stayed at Ameristar in Black Hawk, hotel was all and more.. Rates on casino hosts were $79. We didn't play a lot. My wife and I play mostly poker. Food was great and reasonable. Pool on 34th floor is beautiful, hot tubs included (2). Big pool, watch out for the kids at their play time. Parking structure a bit of a problem, but valet was great. Only a hour from Denver, it was a nice little get away, with great scenery. Very clean.

Room Tip: We stayed at a mid height room. Maybe a little higher would bring better views of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1tonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very clean hotel. Enjoyed the buffet! We spent the day there for my birthday! Yes, i did come home a winner that day. Although this is not always the case. I found the staff to be accomodating and friendly. Will definitely book another trip!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakegal2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went up to celebrate my sons 21st birthday on 1 Aug 14. Check in was quick, rep was great very nice. Can't say the same about the other staff we interacted with. Our Room was ok, found the trash cans were not emptied prior to our visit, phone did not work and room temp was hard to control. The roof top patio was nice however the bar was to be open at 4:00, but it the bartender started setting it up at 4 so it was almost an hour before he was ready to serve. The two fire pits were not working, the front desk said they were aware of issue, nothing more. The DJ at 8042 was great, but the service was poor. Took 15 minutes standing at the bar to get four drinks, then two were not made well, one was a "signature" drink the other was a Martini. Food at the Waypost deli was great for a late night snack. Overall it was just ok.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eriksbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
1.1 mi away
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
66 reviews
15.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
526 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Region: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range: £84 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing