We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's No Place Like Chautauqua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colorado Chautauqua Lodging
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There's No Place Like Chautauqua”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I've stayed at Chautauqua for a family vacation every year for over a decade and I'm never disappointed. The cottages are charming and well equipped. The setting is peaceful. The staff is courteous and respectful. It's a wonderful place to stay for any reason and it's affordable. I consider it the best kept secret in Boulder.

Room Tip: Spend some time looking at the photos and descriptions of the cottages online and ask the staff for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I will be sure to share your comments regarding our service with all of our staff. Thank you for your loyalty to Colorado Chautauqua and for taking the time to comment about your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    31
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
80
44
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It was a busy week in Boulder, but staying at Chautaugua was a way around that. It was wonderful to have the kitchenette for morning coffee and not eat all meals out. Staff was very helpful and prompt to respond. We will be going back in August for a longer stay and look forward to comparing at that time of the year.

Room Tip: Look on the map to see location in accord with parking, dining hall etc. All fairly close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maryvahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I'm very happy to hear that our staff was helpful and prompt in responding to your needs. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your August visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Chautauqua is a great place for getting away "to" and getting away "from" Boulder at the same time. The trails of Boulder Mt Park are right out your doorstep, and you are away from the bustle of central Boulder. Yet the Boulder scene is just a short hop in the car.

Our cabin was a quaint 1920s unit with modern heating/cooling. A nice kitchen gave us the option to eat in as well as walk to the Chautauqua Dining Hall for fine dining or head down to Boulder for its many options. Biking is an option for transportation downtown but it would be best to have gears to get you back up the hill. Not sure about the bus...

Overall I'd say the best part of staying at Chautauqua was the atmosphere; quiet, friendly, and soothing. We loved it!

Room Tip: We chose their smallest cabin offering and had plenty of room. Most cabins have nice screened porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank postcard1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I'm so happy to hear that your cottage was up to your expectations and that you used both the kitchen and the Chautauqua Dining Hall. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Chautauqua for a wedding we were attending. The setting is lovely, with terrific trails all around. Yet it's only a little over a mile from downtown Boulder (we walked there, took a very reasonably priced cab back). Our one-room cabin was relatively spacious and comfortable, with a well-appointed kitchen. Chautauqua provided a beautiful setting for the outdoor wedding and a good indoor space for the reception and all of the staff was very helpful. Two inconveniences: It can be very hard to find parking on weekend days, and check-in isn't until four, yet the lodging office closes at 5 (they give instructions for getting your key out of a lock-box after hours). But overall, it's a beautiful, comfortable place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WithAnchovies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I'm very pleased to hear that our staff was so helpful - I will share your comments with all of them. When Chautauqua was opened in 1898, parking wasn't a consideration - so today we find it an ongoing challenge. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience that our non-peak season hours may have caused you. The lodging office does close at 5pm during this period and our normal check-in is 4pm. The reason for this later check-in is so that our housekeeping staff can ensure that each cottage is 100% ready for every guest. Occasionally, we do have cottages available before this time. Beginning May 15 and continuing through August 31, the lodging office will be open until 7pm, Monday thru Friday. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We just stayed in Cabin 603 and had the BEST time. Hiking is literally out the front door. Everyone around was pleasant and there to enjoy the beauty of the space. The cabin must have just been updated- fresh paint,
spotless kitchen and bathroom. We used the stove, micro, coffee pot, fridge- all functioned perfectly. The newly opened general store makes amazing specialty coffees and teas plus sells picnic and snack food and sundries. No need to go to King Soopers, Alfalfa's delivers. We also enjoyed the ample wine list in the Dining Hall. Definitely going back......

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed Cottage 603, that it was well-stocked with everything working and that everyone you encountered during your stay was friendly & welcoming. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Boulder can become VERY crowded on special weekends ~ graduations, games, parent weekends, etc. One way to balance it is to stay at Chautauqua which is just a mile from campus and town. This 19th c. setting at the foot of the Flatirons has nice cottages with all of the comforts except TV. Fireplaces, Wi-Fi, clean full kitchens, etc. It's very quiet at night. And you are just a walk away from famous hiking trails, a lovely dining hall, performances, etc.

The only trick is to get a reservation which for the busiest of weekends can require a year of advance planning. It's worth it!

Room Tip: It's worth exploring the website to find a cottage that suits your group well. Some are small. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JSO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you for sharing advice about our website and for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The house was so clean and charming. Perfect space to relax. We would highly recommend this to all. Our family came over for dinner, and we enjoyed watching a red fox and her two babies play in the yard. I would stay here anytime over the best hotels. Beautiful surroundings and hiking is fantastic. The restaurant was great. I would highly recomend to everyone. Very peaceful and relaxing. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank albright9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I'm very happy to read that your cottage was so clean and that you got an up close view of nature - right in your yard. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
911 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
908 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.2 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Chautauqua Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Chautauqua Lodging

Property: Colorado Chautauqua Lodging
Address: 900 Baseline Rd, Boulder, CO 80302-7547 (Formerly Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colorado Chautauqua Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark sets itself apart from other Boulder, Colorado destinations as an oasis of respite, rejuvenation and enlightenment – offering inspired views of the Flatirons, front door access to Boulder’s famous hiking trails, onsite cultural programming, tranquil accommodations and soul-nourishing cuisine at the Dining Hall. Choose from Missions House Lodge, Columbine Lodge and 58 cottages to meet your accommodation needs. Cottages are available in studio, 1, 2 or 3 bedroom configurations, each with fully equipped kitchens and screened-in front porches. All accommodations are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Colorado Chautauqua Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chautauqua Cottages Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing