We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We came to Boulder for an orientation day at the University. We loved our cabin and the easy access to truly superb hiking. Chautauqua has great ambiance - very calming and welcoming. We will absolutely stay here whenever we come to visit our son.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suntrackers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    31
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
43
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here one night with extended family. Wish we had more time! We really enjoyed our time at Chatauqua. The 3 bedroom cottage No. 501 was spacious for our group of 7. We ate 2 meals in the Dining Hall and although service was slow at breakfast due to dining hall computer being down, the food was excellent and the servers upbeat in spite of the computer issues. We loved the extensive trail network outside our door and took full advantage, some of us hiking, some of us running and some just taking short strolls. We will return.

Room Tip: If I came back I would try to get cottage that backed up to trail system but 501 worked well for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. Cottage 501 is very popular and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been staying in Boulder for the last four years visiting our daughter while she went to CU. We left a stay at Chautauqua until our last visit. I am sorry that I did not discover it earlier. The cottages are charming. The location is ideally suited between Pearl Street, the University and great hiking and outdoor activities. The price is reasonable and they even have a nice restaurant on the ground. Much better than a hotel!

A few other comments:
* The studio cottages are tiny. If the weather is bad and you can't sit outside there is no where comfortable in the cottage to sit.
* They often have a minimum night stay requirement, which makes them unsuited for shorter visits.

Having said that, I will stay here again provided I don't have to stay in a studio and I can stay the number of nights I need.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LisaMCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I'm glad that you got to experience one of our cottages, even if it was an Efficiency. We also have one, two and three bedroom cottages - something to think about on your next trip. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Chautauqua was an excellent place to stay for a long weekend. We had a one-bedroom cottage with a screened in porch (#503). It was exceptionally clean and organized. The kitchen was small but functional, with all the necessary tools to cook. The bathroom was good-sized with nice fixtures. The bedroom was larger than expected and had a comfortable bed. The best space for us was the screened in porch. There was sufficient seating for seven people (we were only two though) including a table with two chairs for dining. The resort itself had easy access to nice activities. There are many hiking trails of varying length and difficulty. We took two different two-hour hikes while there. The trailhead is an easy walk from the cottages. It was a 10 minute drive to get to downtown Boulder as well. The Chautauqua would be a good location for a group trying to satisfy many different wants. The staff was very helpful but not intrusive. Overall, the Chautauqua satisfied everything we were looking for in a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed Cottage 503 - it is one of our more popular ones - and that you found everything you needed to have a great experience. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Co.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have to visit Boulder several times a year on family business. I am so happy to have discovered Chatauqua, as it is a haven away from the exciting life of Boulder, but also close enough that you can choose the activity you want.
You can have meals in your "house" or enjoy the Chatauqua restaurant. Also, if you are lucky, you can catch a consert in the summer.
I like the neighborhood atmosphere but would be happy if the quiet time started at 10pm, rather than 11-and in the am 9am rather than 8:00.
A great place to visit.

Room Tip: This depends on how many people are visiting and what type of view you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 1MSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I appreciate your comments regarding our quiet time. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I've stayed at Chautauqua for a family vacation every year for over a decade and I'm never disappointed. The cottages are charming and well equipped. The setting is peaceful. The staff is courteous and respectful. It's a wonderful place to stay for any reason and it's affordable. I consider it the best kept secret in Boulder.

Room Tip: Spend some time looking at the photos and descriptions of the cottages online and ask the staff for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I will be sure to share your comments regarding our service with all of our staff. Thank you for your loyalty to Colorado Chautauqua and for taking the time to comment about your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

It was a busy week in Boulder, but staying at Chautaugua was a way around that. It was wonderful to have the kitchenette for morning coffee and not eat all meals out. Staff was very helpful and prompt to respond. We will be going back in August for a longer stay and look forward to comparing at that time of the year.

Room Tip: Look on the map to see location in accord with parking, dining hall etc. All fairly close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maryvahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I'm very happy to hear that our staff was helpful and prompt in responding to your needs. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your August visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.2 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boulder
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark

Property: Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark
Address: 900 Baseline Rd, Boulder, CO 80302-7547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1898 this National Historic Landmark is nestled beneath Boulder’s Flatiron Mountains. We are 40 miles from DIA and 1.5 miles from the Pearl Street Mall in downtown Boulder. With year-round lodging in our 58 charming cottages and two lodges, we offer an exceptional setting for reunions, weddings, retreats or a romantic getaway. Enjoy dining at the historic Chautauqua Dining Hall, concerts, educational programs, silent films and the critically acclaimed Colorado Music Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chautauqua Cottages Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing