We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colorado Chautauqua Lodging
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We loved everything about Chautauqua!! The location, the cottage, hiking trails, restaurant, playground, grounds were wonderful. Once you park your car you really never have to leave. Everything is right there. There's laundry and grocery delivery service too. Of course you will want to leave to check out Boulder because it is such a cool town. The Chautauqua was a beautiful and serene place to stay. We will definitely be back next year. My only complaint is the super early check out time (10am!!). Does t give you enough time to do anything that last day and we were definitely not ready to leave. A more reasonable noon check out would've made a big difference.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such valuable feedback about your stay at Colorado Chautauqua. We are very proud of our unique accommodations and we are so pleased to have been a part of your experience. I appreciate your comments regarding our check out time and I understand that it is early. However, this added time does give our housekeeping team enough of a window to clean and prepare each cottage for the next guest. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return to Colorado Chautauqua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    31
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
43
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The cottages at Chautauqua are affordable, scenic, clean and comfortable. If you are alone or with a family, this si the way to go. So close to town (not walking distance) and some of the best hiking in Boulder. Each cottage has a kitchen so you can cook if looking to save on meals.

Room Tip: not all cottages have great wifi reception if you need to get online or get work done. The food at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. I am glad to hear that you found your cottage so clean & comfortable and I will share your comments with our Housekeeping Team. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Husband & wife. Stayed in # 19. Pros: enjoyed the 2 porches and easy access to hiking trails. Cons: VERY small cabin that is squished in between 2 nice homes. Lack of privacy- the bed is in the "living room " ( yes I know this is advertised as a studio) and if you want to enjoy the breeze thru the cabin you must open the front & back doors - and the bed is in the middle of the two doors.
Very squeaky bed. Nuff said.
People hiking on the trail can easily see into the backyard & back patio. When the folks in either house to the side of this cabin are outdoors, you can hear every word said and see all that is going on.
No awning or blinds over the screened-in back porch- privacy issue but also the mountain sun beats into the porch & connecting kitchen from around 2pm until the sun goes down, mAking the porch & kitchen too hot to be pleasant during afternoons /evenings.
Way too much noise from lawn mowers, leaf blowers, etc. even during posted "quiet time".

This compound was established to cater to groups. I should have realized this while doing my research.

Disappointed in the lodging as we were hoping for a quiet close-to-nature getaway for two.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rn4trips124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. I am truly sorry that you were disappointed in your stay in Cottage 19. This is one of our more popular units and your feedback will help us look at ourselves more critically. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in one of the one-bedroom suites in Columbine Lodge. The room was immaculately clean, with a well-stocked kitchen--we had the pots and pans, etc, to cook whatever we wanted. Columbine Lodge itself is such a pleasure, with its big open front porch and the screened in balcony on the second floor, both available for use by all guests. We love staying at Chautauqua! We lived in Boulder for a number of years, and now whenever we come back, we stay up there. On our most recent visit, we had a picnic outside the Mavis Staples concert; last year we got to listen in on the Indigo Girls! We invite our old Boulder friends to dinner on the porch at the restaurant, we hike and run the trails, we take our kid down to the playground. It's the perfect place to stay for an outdoor-oriented, adventurous family looking to save a little money by cooking for ourselves. We like to go every year. My only wish is that the bed were a queen rather than a double, though there isn't really room for anything bigger, since the rooms were built in an earlier, smaller-bed era!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela20650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. I am glad to read that you found both Room 7 and Columbine Lodge to be so clean and comfortable. I will happily share your comments with our entire Housekeeping Team. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just concluded a family reunion at Chautauqua. We rented the Mission House and 4 rooms at Columbine Lodge. It was a beautiful setting and the park space was well suited for the youngest kids. The gathering space was excellent. Excellent overall value. I would have given five stars except the Wi Fi didn't work at the Mission House and the kitchen was very small, which limited cooking for our large group.

Room Tip: When renting out the Mission House for a large group consider catering due to small kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. I sincerely apologize for the WiFi not working in The Missions House Lodge during your stay. Although it was an isolated problem and the rest of Chautauqua did not experience any issues, I am disappointed that we were not able to resolve it during your stay. We have since located the trouble and it has been repaired. Providing complimentary WiFi throughout such a large area - with most buildings being nearly 100 years old - is a big challenge and we continue to work very hard to improve the experience for every guest & visitor. Thank you again for your honest feedback and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Loved the classic simplicity and comforts from cabin 26, with direct views of Flatirons and hiking paths out the back door. Cabins are small but well put together; note that most cabins have double beds which can be problematic for couples used to larger beds.I do agree that cars can be problematic, suggest limiting one car per cabin and putting excess vehicles to nearby lot. It's a big improvement from regular hotels, puts you in touch with the past and the beauty of Colorado high country. The grounds provide a great opportunity to gather friends for informal parties, hikes, or perhaps dinner at the lodge. We will be back!

Room Tip: facing flat irons a plus, some back into garbage dumpsters and other busy public areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 891Burneyman891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such valuable feedback about your stay at Colorado Chautauqua. We are very proud of our unique accommodations and we are so pleased to have been a part of your experience. Cottage 26 is one of our more popular units and I'm glad that you found it exceeded your expectations. I also want to thank you for your feedback regarding cars & traffic. It is a challenge that Chautauqua has faced for more than 100 years and we are doing everything to improve the situation. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return to Colorado Chautauqua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed at the cottages for a number of years on my own. I love everything about it - the history, the individual charm of each cottage, the music and community venues and programming and most of all...the glorious view of the Flat Irons. I am now returning with family. We did not want to leave. This is a perfect place for connecting..to your own soul, the glories of nature and being with people you love. We will return. Again and again...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NeophyteHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATT H, Director of Hospitality at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Your feedback helps us continually improve our performance - so thank you so much for sharing. It is our goal at Colorado Chautauqua to provide every guest with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
852 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
889 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
283 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
1.8 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 20 in Boulder
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Chautauqua Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Chautauqua Lodging

Property: Colorado Chautauqua Lodging
Address: 900 Baseline Rd, Boulder, CO 80302-7547 (Formerly Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colorado Chautauqua Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark sets itself apart from other Boulder, Colorado destinations as an oasis of respite, rejuvenation and enlightenment – offering inspired views of the Flatirons, front door access to Boulder’s famous hiking trails, onsite cultural programming, tranquil accommodations and soul-nourishing cuisine at the Dining Hall. Choose from Missions House Lodge, Columbine Lodge and 58 cottages to meet your accommodation needs. Cottages are available in studio, 1, 2 or 3 bedroom configurations, each with fully equipped kitchens and screened-in front porches. All accommodations are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Colorado Chautauqua Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chautauqua Cottages Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing