We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing collection”

Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art
Ranked #6 of 139 things to do in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For over 65 years, Leanin' Tree has been spreading smiles across America with our unique greeting cards. We are also home to one of the best private collections of Western and wildlife art, including a stunning outdoor sculpture garden. Come join us for FREE production tours to see how greeting cards are made, or enjoy the artwork at your own pace. Our gift shop features discounted greeting cards, beautiful art reproductions, unique gifts (many made right here in Colorado!), as well as a year round Christmas room.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“amazing collection”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful free museum of bronzes and paintings a very close drive from Boulder. The sculpture garden even has two bronzes you can sit on for photo ops-- great for kids. Inside are two floors of artwork and a gift shop full of greeting cards, among other things. Labels for each piece of art give an abundance of information on the artist and time in which it was created. I spent much longer here than I thought I would, and I'm glad I did. Photos are allowed.

Staff were very friendly and helpful with other nearby attractions. There is not much in the immediate vicinity, aside from the Celestial Seasonings factory and tour, also worth a visit. Plenty of parking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    79
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Diverse collection”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited this museum for the first time with my daughter's class field trip. I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of different artists and styles presented. They have a very nice collection and we enjoyed it. I would like to return and spend more time. The sculpture garden outside is nice too. However, they have a nice grassy area but have signs everywhere saying to stay off the grass and "no running". I mean, really? Why have a nice grassy area if no one can enjoy it? That was strange and detracted from the experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alishamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Outstanding collection”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This private collection rivals that of any art museum around, with well known artists of both painting and sculpture represented. Easily accessible with plenty of parking. Well worth the time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danube2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Western Art”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A two-story museum approx. 12 minutes by car from downtown Boulder, this museum will fill you with nostalgia for the Old West. Many famous artists - and plenty of the should-have-been -- are represented here in paintings and sculptures. It's a pleasurable way to spend a few hours swooning over sweeping mountain scenes and gritty cowboy vignettes. And since it's next door to the Celestial Seasoning Teas tour facility, you can take in 2 interesting outings with little effort.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best Western art anywhere”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

No exaggeration, but Leanin' Tree has got the most effective and eclectic collection of art dedicated to the West I have seen. Not to be missed.

Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art also viewed

 

Been to Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing