We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great views

I love to drive up to Lost Gulch on every trip to Boulder! The views driving up the Flatirons and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
860SusanB860
,
Rockwall, Texas
Fabulous scenery and much closer than Rocky Mountain National Park.

So glad we took this route! The view from the first pull off was so great, we didn’t realize it got... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
FarAway43607689068
via mobile
Read all 258 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Boulder
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$29.99
More Info
from US$99.00
More Info
from US$79.00
More Info
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
185
58
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
58
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hairpin turns winding road nature center artist point ute trail great picnic great drive baseline road lookout point scenic drive outstanding views continental divide hiking trails mule deer pine trees great views of boulder picnic area
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love to drive up to Lost Gulch on every trip to Boulder!
The views driving up the Flatirons and overlooking Lost Gulch and the Continental Divide here are always amazing. This last visit, the temps were in the low 50's but we got sleeted and snowed on for several minutes. It was breathtakingly beautiful!
Flagstaff Mountain is well worth a trip!

Thank 860SusanB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So glad we took this route!
The view from the first pull off was so great, we didn’t realize it got better and better. So close to town, and gives you a beautiful view of the town of Boulder and well beyond.

Thank FarAway43607689068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Boulder in late September 2018 on the first leg of a memorable road trip through the U.S. Southwest. We took the drive up Flagstaff Mountain after a hike and lunch in nearby Chautauqua Park. The winding drive was very scenic, with great views Of Boulder and environs at turnouts and look-outs all the way to the summit. We did not have time for an afternoon hike but noticed numerous trails along the way. FYI, on the way up you also pass Flagstaff House Restaurant which appears to enjoy spectacular views.

Thank Canadianstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Great hikes, best views of the town and nice windy road to the top. Lookout point at the top is worth a stop as well.

Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

A great locals hike. Moderate, amazing views and not too many people. Highly recommend checking it out.

Thank lmlmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Tourists and locals alike love this place. The different levels of hikes and the views are amazing. There is also a restaurant and large park area to relax. If you can rent a cabin there, do it!

2  Thank cjc519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

A must see in Colorado. So peaceful and beautiful and enjoyed my hike there for sure. Great place to see a sunset.

Thank findingthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

My son was checking out the University of Colorado in Boulder for college. A local guide suggested sunrise on Flagstaff Mountain.

It was a beautiful fun ride and different vantage points as you ascended up. At the top at Artist’s Point you can see the Continental Divide. Pretty Spectacular!!

Thank ALY2013 Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We drove to the top of this mountain. It was a fairly easy drive and the only scary part was meeting the bicyclists. It was difficult to pass them and give them enough room to be safe. The views from the top makes the trip worthwhile. There are many trails and some are fairly easy and some are rugged. One trail is designed for people in wheelchairs so it offers no problems regardless of your physical ability. If you want to park, it does require a $5.00 parking permit but driving the route is free. Scenic viewing areas have signs that describe the view and point out points of interest.

Thank AAKPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

This isn't a really tall one as mountains go. But for hiking there are several options - or just driving up and down slowly is wonderful. There are many pullouts for stopping to gaze or take photos. Picnic tables are available in two or three areas and there is a ranger station if you have questions or need help.

1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews