We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foot of the Mountain Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Foot of the Mountain Motel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cozy and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The motel was very nice and at a great price. It's tucked away in a neighborhood, which made it quiet. The service could not have been better. The guy in the office (I want to say his name was Matt, but I can't remember) was as friendly and welcoming as we could've asked for. He was accommodating when we thought we weren't going to be in 'til long after the office hours (because the highways were closed due to snow). The simple breakfast (juice boxes and packaged danishes) in the morning was just enough to get us going and back on the road. The room was clean, the view of the snow covered mountain was beautiful and it's close enough to the downtown area that nothing is too far away. It was not a luxury resort by any means, but it did the trick for a quick stopover in Boulder.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cew08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    98
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
59
106
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were driving to New Mexico from Minnesota and wanted the drive to be great, too. We had driven from Omaha and were tired, but they were so welcoming here and the setting was so beautiful we wanted to stay longer! A nice walk over to Pearl Street for dinner was recommended by our host and he was spot on! We loved our cozy, cabin like room and it was just steps to coffee and rolls for breakfast the next morning. If you appreciate unique charm, you'll love The Foot of The Mountain!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KCSaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, ne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We loved everything about this place! prices are very reasonable, we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and it was very spacious. We loved the location. The staff was very friendly and were very good at giving directions and giving lots of great advice. We would love to come back this summer and stay with our girls.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

What a great little tucked away gem! Nice, cozy and gorgeous. Was there in winter but I'm sure it's even more awesome in warmer months when you can stroll down Boulder Creek to get to town and back. So convenient. Really nice and accommodating folks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The room was very nice, cozy. The views were gorgeous! The staff was very friendly. The only complaint I had was the nose coming from the room next door. They were polite enough to keep it down after ten pm, and they were never really loud or rambunctious, but the walls were just a little too thin for someone who really needed to sleep after twelve hours of driving, looking forward to another day of twelve hours of driving. It wasn't bad enough to complain about, and the fresh air and beauty made up for it, just something to be aware of.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgette L, Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for appreciating our very special property. Although rooms are well sealed for heating comfort there is a noise challenge if your neighbors forget there are people next door as well. It is always good to remember that if a guest wants a quiet place to stay, which most of our guests do, that it is pertinent for guests sharing a common wall to understand this too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I booked two nights here while visiting my grad student son. I picked it primarily for its older charm and location near the Boulder Canyon. The location was amazing, and the views outside my small room (back window) were incredible. There is a grassy area with picnic tables behind the motel, and views to the Flatirons. The fall leaves were changing, too, which added to the beauty. It is right behind the Eben C. Fine Park, which is currently closed due to flooding, but I was still able to walk around near the park.

The room itself was very simple and pine cabin-like. Bath was small but very clean. Overall, it was fine for me traveling alone (the room was only $80!), but I would get a larger room if I were with my husband.There is also a light breakfast with fruit, muffins, oatmeal, and coffee.

The manager, Bridgette, is very nice and friendly. The only thing I would suggest is a blow dryer in the room. Otherwise, I loved this place, and I would definitely return. It's a great bargain and so quaint! The location is unbeatable if you enjoy the outdoors and a simple place to stay in a hectic world...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanineTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgette L, Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
It's great to hear how our charming property works for each guest. We do have loaner items in the office such as: hairdryers, iron and boards, dishware, etc. Please just ask and we would be happy to see what we can do to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling through Colorado and chose this motel based on reviews. We weren't disappointed, but if you are expecting a fancy, well appointed room with all the bells and whistles, go elsewhere. However, if you looking for clean, charming, and comfortable, this is it. They are also pet friendly. The rooms are VERY rustic. The restrooms have been updated, but other than that, the furnishings, bedspreads and even the tv, are very retro and rustic. The room was very clean, though. The beds were comfortable, there was a small fridge and plenty of towels, etc. Please note, however, there was no shampoo, no blow dryer, no iron, and no coffee maker. This made no difference to me, as I usually travel with my own toiletries and blow dryer. Also, there are pastries and coffee served in the office for breakfast and hot tea available all day. There is free wifi and it had a good signal. The only really drawback is the bathroom lighting. The grounds are very charming and situated directly across the street from Boulder Creek and within waking distance to Pearl Street. There is also a very nice dog area behind the motel. The check in was a breeze and the desk person, I believe his name was Mark?, was very nice and helpful. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay and good value.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Justmegloryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foot of the Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foot of the Mountain Motel

Property: Foot of the Mountain Motel
Address: 200 Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302-5821
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Foot of the Mountain Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming property, carefully preserved since the 1930's, and tucked at the base of Flagstaff Mountain, the Foot of the Mountain Motel represents the best of Boulder - personality, friendly service and fabulous views. This unexpected gem allows you to live like a local and enjoy city amenities as well as access to nature just steps from your door. As a guest at the Foot of the Mountain, you're biggest decision will be whether to walk the few blocks to Pearl Street or to cross the bridge over Boulder Creek for world-class hiking. At the Foot of the Mountain Motel...Let time stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Foot of the Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foot Of The Mountain Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing