We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very informative and interesting”

NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory
Ranked #28 of 134 things to do in Boulder
Attraction details
NJ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very informative and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is one of those places you visit where you marvel at all the unique careers and specialized knowledge that people have. Much of what you see are people looking at computer screen but then the guides tell you what they are doing, how and why. While waiting, we heard a short presentation by a young man who explained about all that NOAA does. It is remarkable all the things they study and data that is collected and analyzed, all of which is somehow disseminated to the public and business sector in coherent and understandable bite sized pieces of knowledge. Some parts of the tour are more interesting than others but overall, it's a very interesting way to spend a Tuesday afternoon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MLENJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“NOAA in Boulder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

There were parts of the tour that were interesting. The room with the large view of Earth was ok. They also go into great detail regarding the tests they've done to show that the climate is getting warmer & warmer. I'm not sure this would be a good tour for young children, but I think middle school & up would enjoy it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BaileyL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Everyone was very helpful. The security guard at the visitors' entrance was very friendly. As we had to wait for some in our party, we were a couple of minutes late to the tour, but we were not made to feel uncomfortable. However, you should arrive about 10-15 minutes before your tour time to give you a chance to check in and move your car to the tour parking area. You need to go through a metal detector and a driver's license was needed rather than my passport, since I was the driver. The woman checking IDs was not so pleasant, but the others in the office were.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chessie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little science on vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Wow, this place was pretty cool and makes your vacation feel intellectual. Learning how these scientists work is fascinating and the guides explain well so everyone, even children, can understand. The security to get in was understandably a bit intense.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hygiene, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice lunch on a sunny day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The view was amazing, the staff very knowledgeable, and just an all around spectacular place to walk around.

Helpful?
Thank David.Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory also viewed

 

Been to NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing