We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, healthy food and a great value”
Review of Next Door

Next Door
Ranked #54 of 573 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 11th Street
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, healthy food and a great value”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My husband and I took advantage of the kitchen [next door's] "Community Hour Menu" that is offered 7 days a week from 3 - 6. Basically, it's a happy hour special, but SO much better than most restos. We had the Veggie Antipasti Plate for $4, shared a beer, and then ordered the quinoa and roasted veggie salads from the menu. The roasted beets were AMAZING. Everything was simply prepared, but fresh and delicious. The servers were attentive but not overbearing, and the dining room has a hip, urban feel. I also appreciate that they source ingredients locally and give back to the community. But then, hey, this is Boulder. I can't wait to return next year. Will definitely come back to the kitchen [next door], since everything was so fresh and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmn518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    51
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The real deal.”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Kitchen (Next door) is the budget equivalent of the Kitchen to which it sits attached next door. The only differences-more toddler friendly, smaller portions and fewer selections. But the same outstanding food. Even the kids commented how great their lunches were and the three year old cleaned his plate cleaner than his mom's. Great service, great beer, great sandwiches with lots of veggie choices. And the bill was the best thing-small.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houstonburbs
Level Contributor
339 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Well worth looking for a parking space!”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

WOW! Incredible soups and freah bread! Homemade ham and corn fritters! Fantastic service! Like I said, well worth looking for a parking space! Great local flair

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladybugtx76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My daughter and I got so sick after lunch”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We love the Kitchen and had been looking forward to eating "next door". We shared the kale chips which were delicious and had different sandwiches About 2 hours after we ate,
my daughter called me to say how nauseous she felt. I did too and still do. Not sure if I should call the health department but we will definitely not be going back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bouldertrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Loved that they had Gluten free bread and loved the Kale Chips especially.
Great place and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Next Door also viewed

 

Been to Next Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing