We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thanks dave!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“thanks dave!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

I highly recommend this motel. Of course one should not expect a 5 star accommodation, but if you need to stay in Boulder (especially for an extended stay - I was there for 1 month) this is the place for it. The room was spacious and clean and included a full kitchen. And super close to the wonderful nature Boulder is known for! I was biking in to town for work each day, and the location of this motel was perfectly adequate for that. Thanks Dave, I am sure I will be visiting you again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burton3eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    13
    8
    13
See reviews for
17
16
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

The Silver Saddle's setting is quite lovely. Our experience, however, was not. At 4:30 in the morning, we were awoken to one of the owner's dogs barking. Loudly. Despite the dog's continued efforts over the next three hours, no one came out to move the dog or quiet it down. When my daughter took a shower in the morning, the exhaust fan in the bathroom made a horrible sound, and then the grate fell off the ceiling. Fortunate that she wasn't standing under it. I would have been okay with the somewhat run-down condition of our unit, had these other things not happened.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveRBoulder_Colo, Manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
First of all we would like to apologize for the things that did not work out for you during your visit. We do have a nice setting and we work very hard to make everyone’s stay pleasant. I have a full time maintenance man, but we don’t always get problems fixed when they go unreported. We always appreciate it when customers point out things that did not go well, but in this case I don’t remember anything being reported. In cases such as this we often are willing to give customer discounts for problems if they are reported. And the problem gets fixed sooner so it doesn’t annoy the next customer.
As for the barking dogs, we have 4 rescue dogs that my children have brought home. We normally bring them in at night, but on this particular night it appears that did not happen. A simple call to the motel phone number would have remedied the situation immediately. There is always someone available to address problems 24 hours per day. We wish that the motel phone number had been called when you were awakened. Members of our staff are always on site, but not necessarily where they might hear the dogs. It would be preferable to us to remedy the problem immediately with the customer instead of exchanging trip advisor write ups several weeks after the event. We try hard to remedy problems when they occur. This saves customer frustration and allows us to address the problem much sooner. We never like to see customers leave the motel frustrated. Normally we can avoid this when there is adequate communication.

Thanks,
Management…..Silver Saddle Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boulder hotels

NH
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

At the foot of the mountain lies the Silver Saddle Motel. We personally loved the whole experience. We had been looking for a comfortable motel in Boulder, and found out that the Boulder Mountain Lodge was FULL of drunks, so late in the afternoon we stopped at another motel down the street from the Silver Saddle, in which we found the onwer very rude and unpleasant. Disapointed by the 2 previous motels, we pulled into the Silver Saddle. After reading all the other reviews, I was amazed that the guests could be so cruel. All the horrid that they were describing made the rooms we had stayed in look like total heaven. The bathrooms were clean, the beds and linens were comfy, and the floors were spotless. And to tell you the truth, there are barely any crimes whatsoever in Boulder, but that extra chain that you had to wrap around the door nob, gave a great amount of extra security to our room.There were no bugs, no pealing walls, hell, we didnt even see a single mildew spot or drainage problem. Obviously, the previous guests were overexaggerating! I mean jeez, the Motel's in the midst of the mountains, what do you expect!?! Yes there were a few quirks, but thats just what gives the place its character, and if these quirks were to bother anyone, Dave was quick to fix them. Hes really a great guy and he has put so much effort making our stay comforable, and this is the only place we will ever stay when we visit Boulder.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank soccergurlx73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

The hotel sits in a gorgeous setting- at the foot of the Flagstaff mountains. This was also the reason the hotel staff gave for bugs in the bed. The room had broken down furniture, no smoke detectors, and a chain that you had to loop around the door knob for security. They charged $6.00 extra per person over 2 people- which really adds up on top of the $98.00 a night charge. I have never seen a hotel room more run-down.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveRBoulder_Colo, manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, 10 July 2008
The reviews from Kansas need to be responded to in order to gain a little sense of balance. Both these reviews came from a team that stayed with us for only one night. The team was having a hard time finding accommodations since they had waited too long to make their reservations. Without responding individually to each allegation, I can say that they have not portrayed our motel in a truthful manner. There is another team review on our web site guestbook which is very pleasant and should be given equal weight with this unpleasant review. We have thousands of visitors each year and no one else has made the accusations they have. Our cleaning staff works hard and does not leave our rooms with pet odors or dirty socks smells or used coffee in the coffee pots. We would be unable to run a business if our rooms were as they said. The chain locks represent good security in our area of Boulder where there is no crime to speak of. The rooms are all equipped with smoke detectors and we now have a full time carpet cleaning member on our staff who regularly steam cleans the carpets. We do not have bugs in the beds even though we are located near National Forest. No one could run a business this way. Just like any home in the woods, there is the occasional spider or bug. We don’t want to spread bug poison all over the motel grounds to prevent this. We have purchased all new sheets, blankets and bedspreads. Our beds are firm and most people say they are very comfortable. Our price is very competitive for Boulder. People from out of town are not accustomed to the higher prices in Boulder. If our prices don’t meet their needs I would suggest that they shop around a little to find a price within their range. We try very hard to please, but it appears that something more than service prompted this review. We are sorry that things did not turn out better for our friends from Kansas, but we gladly refunded their money when they wanted to leave and wished them well. Apparently they did not feel the same. This is unfortunate, but they represent an extremely small percentage of the normally very satisfied customers that we have. Being full nearly every night in the summer speaks more about our business than a couple of unpleasant year old reviews. We routinely receive very positive reviews on our website Guestbook which would be a good place to look to find out more about our motel. We were the motel of choice for Boulder when the Hollywood Movie “Catch and Release” starring Jennifer Garner was filmed in Boulder and have also had several Warren Miller Ski Videos produced at our motel.

Thanks,
Management,,,,,,,Silver Saddle Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2007

The Silver Saddle Motel's website shows beautiful serene surroundings. This is the only part of the description that is acurate. The canyon is breathtaking and the creek is a short walk away. The motel, however leaves MUCH to be desired! The place is a complete dump. Our room was dirty upon check in- the carpets were not vaccuumed, and the bathroom had hair in the drain and bugs on the floor. The coffee maker was also full of the previous tenants coffee! The worst part was that the room smelled strongly of pet urine and dirty socks. it was so bad that I went to the store to buy Febreeze and it still didn't get rid of the smell. All of the room's furnishings look like they came from the thrift store. They are stained, worn and outdated. The beds in our room were stiff and uncomfortable and the linens were threadbare and had holes in them. The comforter on the bed smelled foul and had stains on it. The bathroom was disgusting. Paint was peeling off the walls and the shower was stained and full of mildew and mold. My daugther wore her flip flops in the shower because she refused to let her feet touch the floor.
We checked out after one night because we could not stand to stay in this place one more day. it was ruining our trip. I would not stay in this hotel again if it was the last place on earth. I'd sleep in my car first! And all this for $106 a night!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Bad odor in room, dirty stained furniture and carpets
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jbranstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2006

I stayed at this motel for an extended weekend. I was in Boulder for a business meeting and I wanted to be as close as possible to Eldora to go skiing on the weekend. Silver Saddle seemed the best choice, being the last motel in Boulder on the road that goes to Eldora. It was cheap, well below the rates my company would pay for hotels, so I got them to pay for my entire stay, which, needless to say, worked out to my advantage. I was satisfied with the room, it had TV, a fridge, a microwave and a clean bathroom. I would go there again.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Florinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2006

We stayed in this hotel during our trip to Colorado because we were on a budget and could find no other rooms available in our price range. The decor in the room looked liked it had been there since my birth in the early 70's. Overall, the room was fairly clean with some scattered trash under the bed. Security in the room was a chain that looped around the door handle. When we attempted to check out the next morning, no one would answer the door and when we called later to relay to the owner where we left the key, we woke him up (it was 9:30!!!). Overall, an okay place to stay, but when we had the opportunity to re-visit Boulder, we stayed far away from the Silver Saddle!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.1 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
2.1 mi away
Millennium Harvest House
Millennium Harvest House
#19 of 19 in Boulder
3.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 90 Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302-5817
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of Boulder Creek at the base of Flagstaff Mountain. Surrounded on three sides by mountains, yet only 12 blocks from downtown Boulder. Walk to downtown along a hiking trail that parallels Boulder Creek. Plenty of good hiking and fishing nearby. Within 14 blocks of the University of Colorado. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing