We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Hike”
Review of Mesa Trail

Mesa Trail
Ranked #16 of 144 things to do in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Extending six miles with a 440-foot gain in elevation, this trail from Boulder to Eldorado Springs is for ambitious hikers only.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Easy Hike”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a pretty easy place to hike. Parking can be limited. Always meet interesting people when I've hiked here. Nice trails, but not very strenuous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful, scenic trail!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I wanted to hike Walker Ranch loop but Baseline road was closed up to Flagstaff. So I stopped at Chatauqua park and hiked the Mesa trail - beautiful and you can hike up to 14 miles on this trail (7 out & back). I hiked 5 miles and every bit of it was scenic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice trail to run or hike”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I started at Chautauqua Park and ran and hiked for about 7 miles to the South Mesa Trailhead. It was a moderate hike with great views and reasonable trails. I did see a fox with prey in its mouth walk right by me on the trail... Great hike to choose if you have limited time in Boulder!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great views, enjoyed this hike with my son and his malamute. I took some great pictures. Would love to go back again soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuxtails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What other town is this close to such great hikes in the Rockies?”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Boulder is blessed with the best of the Flatirons and the Rockies on the Mesa Trail running along the Foothills of the Rockies right on the edge of town. The trails are well maintained and the scenery is both Flatirons, ponderosa, fir, open meadows spring flowers and great viewing expanses of Boulder and points North and East. There is a diversity of trails for every hiking level whether you are taking the kids on a short discovery stroll and seriously trying to scale the FlatIrons. Most folks just hike and enjoy the great outdoors and the beauty we are blessed with so close to the great community of Boulder

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BolderK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mesa Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mesa Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing