We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but don't take credit cards - bummer!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery

Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
Ranked #3 of 565 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, but don't take credit cards - bummer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good hamburgers, sandwiches, etc. Would go there much more often if they took credit cards. I almost never have enough cash on hand to pay for the meal. Also, not accessible, as there is a major step to get into the premises. A shame, because the food is good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Comet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    192
    38
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Healthy food and heady beers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Sat out along the street and had several pints of the FYI IPA while watching the scenery. Food was great and reasonably inexpensive. Make sure to bring your cash. I'll be back next time in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reelfunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
442 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I like traveling to various breweries/pubs and we decided to try out this location. We are glad we did. The staff was friendly and food was great. I had the blackened chicken quesadilla which was more than I could eat. My husband had the buffalo chicken sandwich and he said it was terrific. Very fresh ingredients. He sampled 6 of their beers and found a few new favorites. Couple things to note the place gets vey busy on the weekends and don't be surprised to be on a wait list. Second thing to note is they don't take credit cards. They do have an ATM in the back of the building should you need funds. The decor is quite eclectic and fits in very well in Boulder.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenmarsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We chose to visit this brewery after reading the reviews on Yelp. This is a fantastic microbrewery with a large selection of brews. I had the American stone as a fantastic bit of finish to it. My wife had the Junk Burger which was awesome. I had the date night burger which had a very interesting taste and I really enjoyed it. The service is top notch - best I have ever had anywhere. A definite stop for singles, couples, families and groups.

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good burgers in a town lacking solid food options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Mountain Sun offers fantastic burger options at a reasonable price. The beer menu is extensive and reasonably priced.

The brewery seems to be a popular restaurant choice off of the Pearl Street mall and as such, the restaurant seems crowded (read: cramped).

Generally speaking I think Boulder has many wonderful high-end restaurants, but very few solid choices in the mid spectrum that typically caters to families with children. Mountain Sun is an excellent choice and certainly trumps in town competition such as Walnut Brewery, etc.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coltranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing