We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Birthday Dinner”
Review of L'Atelier

L'Atelier
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Atelier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 574 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 18th & Pearl
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
543 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Had not been to L'Atelier in several years & thought it an opportune time to experience dinner again. There were three of us: husband(the birthday boy),adult son and myself. It was a Saturday evening and I requested a booth.

Husband and I shared the mussels........son had the lobster ravioli. Excellent choices.

Husband had rack of lamb: he raved. Son and i had pork saltimboca: delish. The accompaniments to these dishes were quite wonderful.

Dessert: son had creme brulee angelina: liked it a lot. I ordered the chocolate bag: excellent. It had chocolate,berries,creme and ice cream. Doesn't get better than that.

Son had mixed drinks. We had pelligrino. Service was excellent. Chris, our waiter, has only been "on the job" 3 weeks, but was attentive. Bread basket was refilled as per our request. Lemon and lime plate also refilled.

What turned me off?????? The busboy NEVER smiled. The maitre d......a female...kept walking back & forth without a smile.....very somber(did you lose a pet? was she having a bad day?)...not doing much. When i made the reservation, I mentioned it was husband's b-day....NO mention of it came up. YOU are a service industry...you've got to go that "extra mile" to receive a 5 star rating. Train the staff to be upbeat and S M I L E.

The bill for the three of us......including tip came to $191.00.

Yes......we would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morewierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    28
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent food, but...”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Went here for my birthday with my husband - Picked it because it Was top 25 in 5280 magazine. First, yes the food was rich, devine, and very French. However, my visit left a bit to be desired. First,we ordered a very expensive bottle of wine,when our server opened it he got part of the cork in the tasting glass. He quickly took away the glass (with part of our wine in it)' No apology. no new bottle,just took the Very expensive wine & the taster away, poured fresh glasses from the SAME bottle; Seems minor but we really splurged on the wine & wanted every drop. Second, we told the waiter itwas my birthday but not one "Happy Birthday "from him a no candle on the dessert - actually he seemed a bit annoyed to be serving us. Finally, he took away our bread without asking an ue we were not done with it. we left Without athonb or anything -I had to go find my coat in the back the 3 stars is for the Chef - the service, not so much. For this much $ we won't be back. We will try another Boulder place as there are too many to pick from and this did not impress us.

Helpful?
2 Thank nattykeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good dinner, great appetizers”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had an overall nice experience at this restaurant.
i had read about the Lobster Ravioli which they did not have as an entree that evening, but did as an appetizer and they were as good as the reviews had said.
The tuna Carpaccio was excellent as well. The entree's ( rack of lamb, and filet mignon) were good but not just great,
Service was good, and i thought the pricing of items wasn't too bad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rico62x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner, fine food”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Fine dining in Boulder. We had a wonderful meal, great salad, with delightful main course. Although the menu was narrow in selection, it was more than made up by the perfection of the of the ingedients. The pear dessert was great as well

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
205 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Liked but not overwhelmed !”
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

I guess my expectations were too high.....left a little disappointed. The apps were good, salad was good, but the entrees were average. Our server was unattentive and busy with an 8 top so it took 25 minutes to get any drinks. This is not in the top 10 in Boulder .....you can find better.

Helpful?
Thank kpeterson001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Atelier also viewed

 

Been to L'Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing