We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT THE GREASTEST IRISH FOOD”
Review of Conor O'Neill's

Conor O'Neill's
Ranked #164 of 577 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: An Irish pub is the stuff of legends, just as Irish thirst is legendary. Pubs in Ireland are much more than a place for drinking, they are a social experience, part theatre, part debating chamber and part livingroom. The pub often seems an extension of the living room and in many rural parts of Ireland also act as the local shop-one corner serving butter and eggs and the other serving foaming glasses of stout. Our aim at Conor O'Neill's is to bring to Boulder a truly authentic traditional Irish Pub.
ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT THE GREASTEST IRISH FOOD”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Irish food especially the corn beef and cabbage was awful, it was very dry and over cooked. It as the worse corn beef and cabbage I have had. The Irish breakfast was too spicey. One does not put hot spice in an Irish breakfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4LIMEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service, poor food quality”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We went here for a special family lunch. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. What came out of the kitchen was nothing less than disappointing. To start, our appetizer (fried pickles) took over 20 minutes to be served. Less than 5 minutes after our appetizer was served, our entrees were served. I had the special (Shepherd's pie) which, as far as I could tell, contained no meat. In addition, one of our guests ordered a burger medium well and it was over cooked to the point of almost being past well done. The fish in the fish and chips was mediocre at best. The only bright side was our server who was very pleasant, Attentive and apologetic for the delay of our appetizer. We will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsCarolineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Best for bands and beer”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a decent irish pub that is popular with CU students. Standard Irish pub fare and beer; everyone is very polite. Best part is the live bands that they have at late night - good sound system, good bands, very laid back and casual atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dvorac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As near a Irish pub as you can find in Colorado.”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very faux but you are not going to find a 15th century stone croft building in Boulder. So this is fine. Decent food, good drinking and at times live music and dancing. Good if you need a dark place for a drink. But what they need is a real open fire place with an actual fire in it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Homey, great food”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I wasn't sure if these Irish/English classics would just be bland and heavy, but they were actually delicious! The food seems a little bit updated from what you might expect, the ingredients are high-quality, and the seasoning was very flavorful on everything we got. I loved the curry and chips and the pub pie. Beer was great, service friendly and non-invasive, and the vibe was pleasantly grungy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Conor O'Neill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing