We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only luxe hotel in Boulder ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nicely appointed with spacious soaking tub and glass shower.

Pool inside hotel is a key place to visit as it is more spa like and less kid magnet. The pool is treated with bromine which is less harsh than chlorine. They also have a large, rectangular hot tub (inside) with a waterfall stream on one end that you may sit under.

And they also win for location, placing you in the heart of pedestrian friendly downtown Boulder just steps from the Pearl Street pedestrian mall.

Where they could be better is on price. But being the only hotel like it in Boulder they really only have airbnb as competition.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mmstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear mmtravrls,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa; we truly appreciate your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your accommodations and you were able to spend time enjoying our Pool and Fitness Center. Our spa amenities are a great way for guests to unwind after exploring the Boulder area. I do hope you return again in the near future.

St Julien Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We weren't staying in the hotel, but did stop by for some drinks on the patio. What a treat to watch the moon come out over the mountains, while sipping drinks and listening to some light piano jazz.

The drinks were well crafted, and Kellie was knowledgeable and attentive to details.

Thanks for a lovely evening.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Royal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Royal B,

Thank you for reviewing your recent T-Zero dining experience; we are pleased we were able to provide you with such a nice evening on our patio. Terrace service and live music occur all summer, and we do hope you return again soon.

St Julien Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

From the moment we pulled into the drive and were met by the super-friendly and efficient Zack at the bellmen's desk, the St. Julien demonstrated some of the best customer-attentiveness we experienced at any hotel, anywhere. The staff were uniformly gracious and helpful in fulfilling requests, even to the extent of printing out driving directions to those stores outside walking radius. (Their only misstep -- never informing hotel guests why we were rousted out of our beds at midnight when a potentially false fire alarm sounded.) The hotel benefits from a superior location, one block away from the pedestrian mecca of Pearl Street with its myriad shops and restaurants. The lobby bar area is expansive and comfortable, affording an excellent view of the Flatiron Mountains, and there is an excellent, if slightly overrated, in-house restaurant, Jill's, a few steps down the hall from reception. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, if surprisingly small for a hotel of this style and price range. Make sure to spend the extra few dollars for a terrace room -- you'll appreciate the extra square footage a balcony affords.

Room Tip: Book a terrace room with mountain view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Kirk E,

Thank you for reviewing St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re happy to have hosted you during your Boulder stay. I am pleased you found our staff to be so accommodating and to hear you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and views. I do apologize for the untimely and unplanned fire alarm that occurred during your stay; while these occurrences are certainly rare, they unfortunately cannot be planned for. I do hope to have you as our guest again soon.

St Julien Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the lovely St. Julien on a regular basis over the last 6 years as we have family in town. We just stayed there last week again. The property has been very well maintained over that whole time period. The entire staff from valet services, the front desk, house keeping, etc. work hard to make our stay feel like a home away from home. Everyone is friendly and tries to make our experience a great one. Their standard rooms are not huge but certainly acceptable for an urban location, and as noted the bathrooms are wonderful. We have enjoyed the music in the lobby, the pool and breakfast at Jill's. Our local grandchildren often accompany us in these activities and everyone makes them feel special. They enjoy it so much that they would like us to live at the St. Julien. We love being able to walk to so many great restaurants near the hotel and the lively activities on Pearl Street Mall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PMag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear PMag01,

Thank you for taking the time to share thoughts from your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa; we certainly appreciate your continued patronage. I am so pleased you and your family have had such enjoyable experiences while in our care, and that our staff is able to make you feel special and at home. While you may not be able to live at St Julien, I am pleased you are able to consider our hotel a ‘home away from home.’ We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

St Julien Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I am so upset by the nasty nature of the customer service manager named Jennifer. She is smug and rude and we will never book here again. I made reservations with her and she mentioned taking a full "deposit" since it was a busy Ironman weekend at the hotel. I said ok but we had an emergency situation arise and i needed to cancel with one weeks notice. She refused to return any of our two night $840 "deposit" and was smug and condescending. I know they can fill the room with a wait list and they are still Stealing our money and making double. I even would have taken a credit to use towards a future stay. Nothing. No apologies, no concessions, and we will never stay there again. Now I am dealing with (nice) Mastercard to try to dispute this charge. It is bad enough that we lost all this money but Jennifer should Not be dealing with customers. She is a terrible representation of the hotel and their policies are off putting and unreasonable. Ps... we stayed last year and the hotel is just ok. There are other really nice options in the area.

Room Tip: do not bother. rooms are average at best. customer service is offensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Cindy S,

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered as a result of a member of our staff; your concerns have been addressed directly with that individual. In regard to our cancellation policy, I’m sorry to hear you were displeased. Immediately upon booking a stay, our guests receive an email confirmation which details the cancellation policy. As is typical with most hotels, cancellation policies during time periods in which large events – such as Ironman Boulder – are taking place, are extended. In our case, the policy was two weeks and was stated on the reservation confirmation. We certainly understand emergencies arise, and will always do what we can to lessen any burden placed on our guests, if possible. We were able to resell one of the room nights you booked, and as such we were able to make an exception to our policy, and have fully refunded fees for one of the two nights you booked. Our apologies again for the inconveniences you encountered.

St Julien Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Disclaimer: stayed here for a wedding that took place elsewhere, so did not spend a lot of time on the property. That being said, the facilities were excellent, staff very helpful and friendly. Did not partake in any of the restaurants/room service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hdotk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Howard K,

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I am pleased you were able to stay with us while celebrating a wedding at a venue nearby. I do hope you save some time to enjoy some of our on-site amenities during your next stay.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We took two rooms in July and were very disappointed with the stay. We arrived at 8 pm to find that the water would be turned off in the entire hotel from 9 pm to 3 am that night. As it was too late to find another hotel for the evening, we stayed. That meant no bathroom facilities — no showers and no toilet, although the hotel provided a few bottles of water to brush our teeth. In addition, the air conditioning was not working in both rooms. While we received a discount on the rooms, we were very disappointed in the stay and their customer service. The visit was not worthy of a luxury resort.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank itsago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Itsago,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. I would like to extend my sincere apologies for any and all dissatisfaction felt during your visit. Though our plumbing maintenance was urgent and not planned in advance, I am very sorry to hear how it impacted your stay. I will send you a direct message to gather your contact information as I would like to connect with you personally on this matter.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
1,126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#16 of 23 in Boulder
473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#13 of 23 in Boulder
238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range: £248 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing